NYS

STAR

NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION AND FINANCE

NYS Tax Department Encourages Homeowners
to Register for Basic Star Tax Exemption
Already receiving STAR? Act now to continue getting it in 2014, and beyond

The New York State Tax Department is requiring 2.6 million homeowners across the state to
register online for their exemption. The registration facilitates Governor Cuomo’s 2013-14
Budget initiative to protect New Yorkers from fraud and waste in the STAR Program.

The registration deadline is December 31, 2013 in order to continue receiving the
exemption in 2014 and thereafter. The registration is quick and easy, and will take most
homeowners less than five minutes. You can register on the Tax Department’s Web site
or by calling 518-457-2036.

The average homeowner saves $700 as a result of the Basic STAR exemption, which is
available on the primary residence of homeowners with incomes under $500,000. Married
couples with multiple residences are only eligible to receive one Basic STAR exemption.

Senior Citizens Receiving Enhanced STAR
Not Impacted

The registration applies only to Basic STAR recipients; senior citizens receiving the
Enhanced STAR exemption are not impacted. In order to continue receiving Enhanced STAR,
seniors must continue to apply annually or participate in the Income Verification Program.

Questions?
® Visit the Tax Department’'s Web page at
www.tax.ny.gov

® Watch a YouTube video that explains the
registration process

® Follow the Department on Twitter for
real-time STAR Registration updates




