STATE OF NEW YORK
DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION AND FINANCE
COMMISSIONER OF TAXATION AND FINANCE
ALBANY, NEW YORK

Pursuant to the authority contained in subdivision First of section 171, and section 475 (not subdivided) of
the Tax Law, and Chapter 85 of the Laws of 2002, the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance, at an open meeting
held on even date with the signing of this rule, hereby makes and adopts as a permanent rule the following
amendments to the Tobacco Products Tax Regulations, as published in Article 3 of Subchapter I of Chapter I of Title
20 of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York.

Section 1. Section 89.1 of such regulations is amended to read as follows:

Section 89.1 General. (Tax Law, sections 471-b and 471-c)

Except as otherwise provided in this Subchapter or the Tax Law, all tobacco products:

(a) possessed in New York State by any person for sale; or

(b) used in New York State by any person;
are subject to the tobacco products tax imposed pursuant to article 20 of such law. The tobacco products tax is
imposed at the rate of [20] 37 percent of the wholesale price of the tobacco product.

Section 2. A new section 89.3 is added to read as follows:

Section 89.3 Additional tobacco products tax on inventory. (Tax Law, sections 471-b, 472,473-a and 475)

(a) Effective July 2, 2002, by enactment of Chapter 85 of the Laws of 2002, section 471-b of article 20 of
the Tax Law increased the tax on tobacco products possessed in New York State by any person for sale from 20
percent to 37 percent of the wholesale price of such products. It is presumed that all tobacco products within this
State are subject to tax until the contrary is established, and the burden of proving that any tobacco products are not

taxable shall be upon the person in possession thereof.



-

(b) Every dealer of tobacco products (whether a wholesale dealer or a retail dealer), including distributors,
shall take a physical inventory of all tobacco products possessed in this State as of the close of business on July 1,
2002. Because it may be impossible to take a physical inventory of tobacco products in all vending machines that
are on location throughout the State, a dealer may take as many physical inventories of the contents of such
machines as is possible with available personnel. For those machines that cannot be physically inventoried on July
1, 2002, tobacco products may be accounted for at one-half of the normal fill capacities of such machines, as
reflected in the individual inventory records maintained for such machines.

(c) "Returns and payments." (1)(i) On or before September 20, 2002, every such dealer shall file a return with
the Department of Taxation and Finance, on a form prescribed by the department for such purpose, showing the
quantity and wholesale price of all such tobacco products possessed as of the July 1, 2002, inventory. Such return
must reflect the entire wholesale and/or retail inventories of the dealer within the State, as required by the
department, regardless of the number of business locations of the dealer. Except as provided in subparagraph (ii)
of this paragraph, every dealer shall pay with the filing of such return an additional tobacco products tax at the rate
of 17 percent of the wholesale price of each tobacco product in such inventory upon which the tobacco products tax
has been paid at the rate of 20 percent. (See paragraph (2) of this subdivision for information regarding the retail
dealer election pertaining to wholesale price.)

(i1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Title to the contrary, a dealer who has an additional tobacco
products tax liability on inventory may elect to pay such tax in two installments. The first installment is due with
the filing of the return on or before September 20, 2002 and shall not be less than 25 percent of the entire additional
tobacco products tax due. Provided, however, in no event shall such installment be less than $200 or the entire
additional tobacco products tax due, if less than $200. Thus, a dealer having an additional tobacco products tax

liability on inventory of $100 would be liable for the full payment on September 20, 2002; a dealer having such a
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liability of $440 would be liable for a first installment of at least $200; and a dealer having such a liability of $1,000
would be liable for a first installment of at least $250 ($1,000 x 25 percent). The second and final installment must
be paid to the department on or before January 20, 2003, and must be accompanied by a final payment document
prescribed by the department for this purpose. Where the department has cause to believe that the final installment
of the additional tobacco products tax on inventory may be jeopardized by delay, the department may require such
payment at any time prior to January 20, 2003. (See subdivision (e) of this section for sanctions concerning
untimely installments.)

(2) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Title and exclusively for purposes of the additional tobacco
products tax on inventory on hand at the close of business on July 1, 2002, a retail dealer may, if the dealer so elects,
compute such tax using 50 percent of the price at which the dealer sells the tobacco products at retail in New York
State (determined without regard to any State or local sales taxes imposed by article 28 of the Tax Law or pursuant
to the authority of article 29 of such law) as the wholesale price.

(3) The additional tobacco products tax on inventory and any applicable installment should be paid by check
or money order, payable to the NYS Tobacco Products Tax.

(4) Returns for payment of the additional tobacco products tax on inventory and final payment documents
may be obtained from the Department of Taxation and Finance, Taxpayer Contact Center, W.A. Harriman Campus,
Albany, New York 12227.

(d) On and after July 2, 2002, every distributor appointed or required to be appointed by the Commissioner
of Taxation and Finance (see section 471-b.2 of the Tax Law) shall be liable for the payment of the tax at the rate
of 37 percent of the wholesale price on tobacco products imported or caused to be imported into the State,
manufactured in the State or, if authorized by the commissioner, sold, shipped, or delivered to any person in the

State by such distributor. However, every dealer shall be liable for such tax on all tobacco products in the dealer's
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possession upon which the tax has not been paid or assumed by a distributor appointed or required to be appointed
by the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance as evidenced by such a distributor's invoice or other proof of payment
or assumption of tax.

(e)(1) Failure to file a return on tobacco product inventory or to pay the additional tax due thereon, or failure
to comply with any provision of this section or article 20 of the Tax Law may result in civil or criminal sanctions,
or both.

(2) In the case of any dealer who elects to pay the additional tobacco products tax liability in installments,
as described in subdivision (c) of this section, if the required first installment is not properly paid on or before
September 20, 2002, the entire amount of additional tax shall be due and owing, and any civil penalty and interest
imposed pursuant to section 481 of the Tax Law will accrue from such date on the entire tax liability that remains
unpaid. Where the required first installment is timely paid but any portion of the second and final installment is paid

after January 20, 2003 , any civil penalty and interest so imposed will accrue from such date on the unpaid balance.

Arthur J. Roth
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance

DATED: Albany, New York
August 26, 2002
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