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Use this chart to compute the amount of prepaid sales tax required to be remitted on motor fuel.

NEW
YORK
STATE

Do not use this publication to compute tax on a retail sale.

A historical list of the sales tax prepayment per gallon on motor fuel rates in effect from June 1,
2006, through May 31, 2014, is shown on the back.

Motor fuel

Sales tax

Region prepayment

per gallon

1 $0.1750
2 $0.210

3 $0.160

Region 1 includes ................... New York City (counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New
York (Manhattan), Richmond (Staten Island), and Queens);
and counties of Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland,
and Westchester. (This is the Metropolitan Commuter
Transportation District, excluding Nassau and Suffolk counties.)

Region 2 includes ................... Nassau and Suffolk counties.

Region 3 includes ................... All other counties in New York State.

Computation of prepayment of sales tax

To compute the amount of sales tax required to Example: A distributor imports 100,000

be prepaid on motor fuel: gallons of motor fuel into Region 1
where the sales tax prepayment per
gallon is $0.1750. The prepayment
of sales tax due on that fuel is
computed as follows:

1. Determine whether the fuel is taxable in
Region 1, Region 2, or Region 3.

2. Use the chart shown above to determine
the tax on one gallon of fuel and multiply 100,000 gallons x $0.1750 =
this figure by the number of gallons on $17,500

which prepayment Pf sales tax iS. due. The sales tax prepayment per gallon remains
Fuel subject to tax includes fuel imported, the same regardless of the actual selling price
purchased without tax, produced, refined, of the fuel or the rate of tax that applies. This
manufactured, or compounded. change does not affect the retail sales price.



Publication 790 (4/14) (back)

Sales tax prepayment per gallon on motor fuel

Historical rates

Period Region 1 Region 2

June 1, 2006 through May 31, 2014 $0.1475 $0.140

Before June 1, 2014:

* Region 1 included New York City (counties of Bronx, Kings (Brooklyn), New York (Manhattan), Richmond
(Staten Island), and Queens); and Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester
counties (commonly called the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District).

* Region 2 included all other counties in New York State.

Need help?
Visit our Web site at www.tax.ny.gov E Telephone assistance

+ get information and manage your taxes online Sales Tax Information Center: (518) 485-2889
* check for new online services and features To order forms and publications: (518) 457-5431
Ay, Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with [ Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
.-...-. hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
...-.'.-. have access to a TTY, contact us at (518) 485-5082. < J lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities
o If you do not own a TTY, check with independent are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have

living centers or community action programs to find questions about special accommodations for persons
out where machines are available for public use. with disabilities, call the information center.




