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Technical Services Division

Increasein the Mortgage Recording Tax
in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District

In counties located in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD), mortgages
are currently subject to the basic, special additional and additional mortgage recording taxes. In
certain localities, mortgages may al so be subject to local mortgage recording taxes.

Governor George E. Pataki signed into law legislation that amended section 253.2(a) of Article 11
of the Tax Law, Tax on Mortgages, in relation to increasing the additional mortgage recording tax in
the MCTD. Effective for mortgages presented for recording on or after June 1, 2005, the additional
mortgage recording tax rate for counties located in the MCTD will increase from $.25 to $.30 for each
$100.00 secured by the mortgage. This change impacts mortgages on red property located in New
Y ork City, and in Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester counties.
The new mortgage recording tax rates for counties and citiesin the MCTD are summarized below.

New York City counties of Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens and Richmond

Specia
New York Basic additiona Additional Total
City tax tax tax tax
-All mortgages securing less than $500,000 $1.00 $.50 $.25 $.30 $2.05
-Mortgages of one-, two-, or three-family houses
and individual residential condominium units,
securing $500,000 or more $1.125 $.50 $.25 $.30 $2.175
-All other mortgages securing $500,000 or more $1.75 $.50 $.25 $.30 $2.80
Other MCTD countiesand cities
Specia
Basic additional Additional

Taxing jurisdiction Local tax tax tax tax Total
Dutchess County $.50 $.25 $.30 $1.05
Nassau County $.50 $.25 $.30 $1.05
Orange County $.50 $.25 $.30 $1.05
Putnam County $.50 $.25 $.30 $1.05
Rockland County $.25 $.50 $.25 $.30 $1.30
Suffolk County $.50 $.25 $.30 $1.05
Westchester County (outside Y onkers) $.25 $.50 $.25 $.30 $1.30
Y onkers* $.75* $.50 $.25 $.30 $1.80

* The local tax shown for Yonkers is comprised of the $.25 Westchester County tax plus $.50 Y onkers tax.
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Distribution of proceeds from additional tax

The proceeds from the additional mortgage recording tax, after deducting the necessary
expenses of the recording officer, will be paid over to the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation
Authority.

Mortgages on residential property

If the mortgage creates alien on real property principally improved or to be improved by aone-
or two-family residence or dwelling, the first $10,000 of the principal anount secured by the mortgage
is not subject to the additional mortgage recording tax.

M ortgages covering propertieslocated in more than onelocality

In certain cases, mortgaged property may be located entirely in New Y ork State but in
more than one locality. For example, the mortgaged property may be located in two or more
countiesin and outside the MCTD. In such cases, the combined rates of tax will vary. In cases
where the tax rates vary, ataxpayer may elect to compute and pay the tax as if the property were
located entirely in the locality that is authorized to collect the greatest amount of tax.
Alternatively, the taxpayer may file Form MT-15, Mortgage Recording Tax Return, and compute
the mortgage recording tax at the applicable rate in each locality.

Effect of New York City aggregation clause

For purposes of determining the tax rate under paragraph D of section 253-a.1 of the Tax
Law, for mortgages on real property located in New Y ork City, there is a rebuttable presumption
that all mortgages offered for recording within a period of twelve consecutive months having the
same or related mortgagors must be aggregated. 1n cases where this aggregation clause is applied
to amortgage recorded prior to June 1, 2005, and a mortgage recorded on or after June 1, 2005,
the additional tax imposed under section 253.2(a) at the higher MCTD rate will not apply to the
mortgage recorded prior to June 1, 2005.

Refunds

To the extent mortgage recording taxes have been paid at the higher MCTD rate for
mortgages recorded prior to June 1, 2005, taxpayers may claim arefund by filing Form MT-15.1,
Mortgage Recording Tax Claim for Refund. Form MT-15.1 must be filed with the Tax
Department within two years of the date the erroneous payment of taxes was received by the
recording officer. To obtain Form MT-15.1, download a copy from our Web site at
www.nystax.gov. Theform isalso available by fax at 1 800 748-FORM (3676), or you can call
1 800 462-8100 to receive acopy by mail.

For questions regarding the mortgage recording tax, call 1 888 698-2914.
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