
Who is subject to the tobacco products use tax
The state excise tax on tobacco products has two components that 
together ensure that the proper New York State tobacco products tax 
is paid:

•	 the tobacco products tax imposed on possession for sale in the 
state pursuant to Tax Law section 471‑b; and

•	 the tobacco products use tax imposed pursuant to Tax Law 
section 471‑c.

The tobacco products use tax must be paid by any person who uses 
(that is, possesses, imports, etc.) tobacco products in the state, not 
including possession for sale, on which the New York State tobacco 
products tax has not been paid and where the use of the tobacco 
products is not exempt from the Article 20 tax (see Exemptions from 
the tobacco products use tax below).

Note: Form CG-15, Cigarette Use Tax Return, must be completed 
if you use cigarettes on which the New York State cigarette tax has 
not been paid and where the use of the cigarettes in this state is not 
exempt from the Article 20 tax. If the cigarette packs are unstamped 
or are stamped with another taxing jurisdiction’s stamps, then the 
cigarettes are considered unstamped for New York State tax purposes 
and the state cigarette use tax is due. Additionally, there is a city 
excise tax on cigarettes used in New York City. To obtain a copy of 
Form CG-15, see Need help? on the back.

When to file Form MT-201
Form MT‑201 must be filed and the use tax paid within 24 hours after 
the liability for the tobacco products use tax occurs (that is, within 24 
hours after the bringing, receiving, or other use of tobacco products in 
New York State, other than possession for sale).

Note: A person that possesses tobacco products for purposes of sale 
may be required to be licensed with New York State as a wholesale 
dealer of tobacco products and/or as a distributor of tobacco products, 
as well as registered as a retail dealer. For applications, information, 
and the appropriate tax returns, see Need help? on the back.

Rates
The New York State use tax rate on tobacco products (other than snuff 
and little cigars) is 75% (.75) of the wholesale price. See Definitions 
below for Wholesale price.

The New York State excise tax rate on snuff is $2.00 per ounce, and 
a proportionate rate on any fractional parts of an ounce. Cans or 
packages of snuff with a net weight of less than one ounce are taxed 
at $2.00 per container.

The New York State excise tax rate for little cigars is $4.35 for packs 
containing 20 or less little cigars. For packs containing more than 
20, the additional little cigars are taxed at a rate of $1.0875 for each 
five little cigars or fraction thereof. For packs containing 21-25 little 
cigars, the tax rate is $5.4375 per pack. For packages containing more 
than 25 little cigars, divide the quantity by 25 and multiply by the rate 
per 25 pack.

Example: A box of little cigars contains 60 little cigars. The excise 
tax rate on this package is $13.05. (60 / 25 = 2.4 equivalent 25 packs. 
2.4 X $5.4375 tax rate = $13.05.)

Note: The rate of the tobacco product use tax is equal to the rate 
of the tobacco products tax. Either the tobacco products tax or the 
tobacco products use tax must be paid.

Exemptions from the tobacco products use tax
The tobacco products use tax must be paid on all tobacco products 
used in the state, unless:
•	 The New York State tobacco products tax (imposed pursuant to 

Tax Law section 471‑b) has been paid, as evidenced by an invoice 
from the distributor or dealer stating that the tobacco products tax 
has already been assumed and paid directly to New York State.

•	 The tobacco products being used are specifically exempted from 
the New York State tobacco products tax by Tax Law section 471‑b 
(thus, governmental use by the United States, the state of New York, 
and the United Nations, and use by authorized persons purchasing 
from a voluntary unincorporated organization of the armed forces of 
the U.S., are exempt uses).

•	 The tobacco products being used are brought into the state on 
or in the possession of the user, and the amount of such tobacco 
products does not exceed (a) 250 cigars (including little cigars), 
(b) five pounds of tobacco (including snuff), or (c) 36 ounces of 
roll-your-own (RYO) cigarette tobacco.

	 Note: 	Tobacco products shipped into New York State by mail are 
not brought into the state on or in the possession of the user, and 
therefore do not qualify for the exemption.

	 If more than 250 cigars (including little cigars) are brought into the 
state, then the entire quantity of cigars is subject to tax. If more than 
five pounds of tobacco (including snuff) are brought into the state, 
then the entire quantity of tobacco is subject to tax. If more than 
36 ounces of RYO cigarette tobacco is brought into the state, then 
the entire quantity of tobacco is subject to tax.

	 Tobacco products acquired by an individual to be given as a gift to 
another individual are not exempt because the law does not exempt 
gifts of tobacco products.

Definitions
Use — The exercise in New York State of any right or power, actual 
or constructive, with respect to tobacco products; includes, but is 
not limited to, the receipt, storage, or any keeping or retention for any 
length of time, but does not include possession for sale.

Snuff — Any finely cut, ground, or powdered tobacco that is not 
intended to be smoked. 

Cigar — Any roll of tobacco wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any 
substance containing tobacco (other than any roll of tobacco that is a 
cigarette as defined in Tax Law section 470(1)). Except when expressly 
excluded, a little cigar is considered a cigar. 

Little cigar — Any roll for smoking made wholly or in part of tobacco 
if the product is wrapped in any substance containing tobacco, 
other than natural leaf tobacco wrapper, and weighing not more 
than four pounds per thousand or with a cellulose acetate or other 
integrated filter.

Tobacco products — Any cigar, including a little cigar, or tobacco, 
other than cigarettes, intended for consumption by smoking, chewing, 
or as snuff

Roll-your-own tobacco — Any tobacco product that, because of its 
appearance, type, packaging, or labeling, is suitable for use and likely 
to be offered to, or purchased by, consumers as tobacco for making 
cigarettes.

Person — An individual, copartnership, society, association, 
corporation, joint stock company, and any combination of individuals, 
and also an executor, administrator, receiver, trustee, or other fiduciary.

Wholesale price — The established price for which a manufacturer 
sells tobacco products to a distributor, before the allowance of any 
discount, trade allowance, rebate or other reduction.

In the absence of such an established price, a manufacturer’s invoice 
price of any tobacco product shall be presumptive evidence of the 
wholesale price of such tobacco product, and in its absence the price 
at which such tobacco products were purchased shall be presumed 
to be the wholesale price, unless evidence of a lower wholesale price 
shall be established with a provision of Tax Law Article 20.

If tobacco products are transferred at no charge, gratis, or are 
otherwise listed as free goods, it is considered a discount. The use tax 
must be paid on such tobacco products based on the ordinary or usual 
wholesale price of such tobacco products.
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Need help?
Internet access: www.nystax.gov
  (for information, forms, and publications)

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our 
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 A.M. to
	 4:30 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

Miscellaneous Tax Information Center:	 (518) 457-5735
  In-state callers without free long distance:	 1 800 470-4353

To order forms and publications:	 (518) 457-5431
  In-state callers without free long distance:	 1 800 462-8100

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with 
  hearing and speech disabilities using a TTY):	 1 800 634-2110

accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have questions 
about special accommodations for persons with disabilities, 
call the information center.

 

Taxpayer identification
Enter your legal name, complete address, and your social security 
number in the spaces provided on the front of the return. If other than 
an individual, enter your employer identification number (EIN).

Part 1 — Snuff
List all snuff that you received, possessed, or otherwise brought into 
New York State for purposes other than for sale on which New York 
State tobacco products tax has not been paid, and where the use of 
the snuff is not exempt from Article 20 tax.

Complete this part by filling in all of the requested information.

See Example above.

Part 2 — Little cigars
List all little cigars that you received, possessed, or otherwise brought 
into New York State for purposes other than for sale on which 
New York State tobacco products tax has not been paid, and where 
the use of the tobacco products is not exempt from Article 20 tax.

Complete this part by filling in all of the requested information.

Example: For a pack of 25 little cigars, the tax rate will be $5.4375 
($4.35 + $1.0875).

Part 3 — Tobacco products other than snuff and little 
cigars
List all tobacco products (other than snuff and little cigars) that you 
received, possessed, or otherwise brought into New York State 
for purposes other than for sale on which New York State tobacco 
products tax has not been paid, and where the use of the tobacco 
products is not exempt from Article 20 tax.

Complete this part by filling in all of the requested information.

Part 4 — Computation of tobacco products use tax
Line 12 — Enter the New York State use tax on snuff from line 4. Do 
not round this number.

Line 15 — For failure to pay any tax due, the penalty is 50% (.50) of 
the tax due for the first month or part of the month, plus 1% (.01) of the 
tax due for each month thereafter.

In addition, failure to file the required returns or pay any tax due under 
Tax Law Article 20 may result in the imposition of criminal penalties 
under Tax Law Article 37.

Line 16 — Interest is computed at the rate set by the Commissioner of 
Taxation and Finance and is compounded daily. Interest is computed 
from the date the tax was due until the date the tax is paid. Interest is a 
charge for the use of state funds and may not be waived. If you require 
assistance in the computation of interest, call the Miscellaneous Tax 
Information Center (see Need help? below).

Line 18 — Make your check or money order payable to: 
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.

If your payment is returned by a bank, the Tax Department is allowed 
by law to charge a $50 fee for nonpayment. However, if the payment 
is returned as a result of an error by the bank or department, the 
department will not charge the fee. If your payment is returned, we 
will send a separate bill for $50 for each return or other tax document 
associated with the returned payment.

A
Number of

containers less
than 1 ounce

B
Total ounces in

containers of 1 ounce
or more (do not round)

	 1	 Total snuff ......................................................................................................................	 1	 5		  8.75
	 2	 New York State rate of use tax on snuff (per ounce).....................................................	 2	 2.00	 2.00
	 3	 New York State use tax on snuff (multiply line 1 by line 2)................................................	 3	 10	 00	 17	 50
	 4	 Total (add line 3, columns A and B; enter here and on line 8)....................................................................................... 	 4	 27	 50

Example: On June 5 you acquired five cans of snuff that are each under one ounce. On the same day 
you acquired seven cans of snuff that were each 1.25 ounces for a total of 8.75 ounces of snuff in 
containers of more than one ounce. The use tax on snuff is calculated as follows:
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Mailing address
Attach your remittance and photocopies of the purchase invoices to 
your return and mail to:

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TDAB FACCTS — TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

Private delivery services
If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead of the 
U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your form and tax payment. However, 
if, at a later date, you need to establish the date you filed or paid your 
tax, you cannot use the date recorded by a private delivery service 
unless you used a delivery service that has been designated by 
the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the Commissioner of Taxation 
and Finance. (Currently designated delivery services are listed in 
Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery Services. See Need help? 
below for information on obtaining forms and publications.) If you 
have used a designated private delivery service and need to establish 
the date you filed your form, contact that private delivery service for 
instructions on how to obtain written proof of the date your form was 
given to the delivery service for delivery.

Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain 
personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax Law, including 
but not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 
1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may require disclosure of social 
security numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax liabilities 
and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of tax 
information programs as well as for any other lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is provided 
to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention, support 
enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain employment and 
training programs and other purposes authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil or 
criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document Management, 
NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 
(518) 457-5181.


