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New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Forms CG-11 and CG-11-MN
Cigarette Tax Floor Tax Return

Important information
Effective July 1, 2010, the New York State excise tax on cigarettes 
increased by $1.60 per pack of 20 cigarettes (i.e., from $2.75 to 
$4.35 for state-only stamped cigarettes and from $4.25 to $5.85 
for New York State and New York City joint-stamped cigarettes).

If a package contains more than 20 cigarettes, the rate of tax on 
the cigarettes in excess of 20 increased from 68¾¢ to $1.0875 for 
each five cigarettes or fraction thereof.

A floor tax is imposed on all cigarettes stamped at the 
pre-July 1, 2010, rate and unaffixed tax stamps on hand at the 
close of business June 30, 2010.

Taxpayer information
If your return is not preprinted or is incorrect, clearly print or type 
the business name as it appears on your cigarette license and your 
complete street address, including city or village or post office, 
state, and ZIP code.

Enter your sales tax identification number. Enter your agent’s 
license number and wholesale dealer license number, if applicable.

Mark Yes or No to indicate all of your business activities. 

Change of business information — If your name, employer 
identification number, address, or owner/officer information 
has changed, you must file Form DTF-95, Business Tax 
Account Update. If only your address has changed, you may 
file Form DTF-96, Report of Address Change for Business Tax 
Accounts. You can get these forms by fax, phone, or from our Web 
site. See the Need help? section.

Who is subject to the cigarette floor tax
Every cigarette stamping agent, wholesale dealer (including 
vending machine operators), and retail dealer with an inventory of 
cigarettes (and, in the case of an agent, unaffixed tax stamps) is 
subject to the cigarette floor tax and must take a physical inventory 
of cigarettes (and unaffixed tax stamps) on hand at the close of 
business June 30, 2010. If there are cigarette vending machines on 
your premises that are owned and operated by a licensed cigarette 
wholesaler, the wholesaler will be responsible for filing a cigarette 
floor tax return and paying the tax due on cigarettes in the vending 
machines.

Filing requirements
Any agent required to file a cigarette floor tax return must 1) take 
an inventory of unaffixed state and joint state/city tax stamps 
purchased at the pre‑July 1, 2010, rate on hand; and 2) pay a 
cigarette floor tax of $1.60 for each state-only or joint stamp that 
relates to 20 packs, and $2.00 for each unaffixed state-only or joint 
stamp that relates to 25 packs. A resident agent must also take an 
inventory of unstamped cigarette packs.

Every agent, wholesale dealer (including vending machine 
operators), and retail dealer must pay a cigarette floor tax of 
$1.60 for each state-stamped pack and for each pack of joint 
stamped cigarettes stamped at the old rate figured on a pack of 
20 cigarettes (one pack of 25 cigarettes is counted as 1.25 packs 
of 20 cigarettes).

The cigarette floor tax return must be filed no later than 
September 20, 2010.

Failure to file a return or pay the total amount required to be paid 
by September 20, 2010, will result in civil penalties and interest 
under New York State Tax Law Article 20 and may result in criminal 
penalties under Tax Law Article 37.

Penalties and interest
Penalty is imposed on a cigarette stamping agent at the rate of 
10% of the tax due for the first month or any fraction of a month, 
plus 1% of the tax due for each subsequent month or fraction of a 
month in which a return remains unfiled or the tax remains unpaid, 
up to a maximum of 30%. If a return is not filed within 60 days of 
the due date, the minimum penalty may not be less than the lesser 
of the tax due or $100.

Penalty is imposed on any retail or wholesale dealer for failure 
to pay timely at the rate of 50% of the tax due for the first month 
or any fraction of a month, plus 1% of the tax due for each 
subsequent month or fraction of a month in which the tax remains 
unpaid. 

Interest is computed at the rate set by the Commissioner of 
Taxation and Finance and is compounded daily. It is computed 
from the day the tax was due until the day the tax is paid. If 
you need help computing interest, access our Web site at 
www.nystax.gov and click on Online Services (or see Need help? ).

Vendors with multiple locations
Any person selling cigarettes from more than one location must 
file one consolidated cigarette floor tax return. Take an inventory of 
stock on hand at each location. Keep the original inventory report 
at each location. Enter the business name, address, sales tax and 
cigarette tax identification number(s) (if different from that on the 
front of the return), and inventory of each location on Schedule A 
of the consolidated return.

Vending machine operators
Because of various dates for service calls to vending machine 
locations (e.g., weekly, biweekly, or monthly), it may be impossible 
to take a physical inventory of stamped packages of cigarettes in 
each vending machine on location. We request that each vending 
machine operator take as many physical inventories as possible 
with the personnel available. As in the past, we will allow vending 
machine operators to report a cigarette floor tax on one-half of 
the “normal fill capacity” for all of those machines that were not 
physically inventoried on June 30, 2010. Normal fill capacity is the 
inventory as indicated on the individual inventory card maintained 
for each vending machine on location. For example, if the normal 
fill capacity of a machine is 600 packages, we will permit the 
vending machine operator to report a tax based on one-half of 
600, or 300 packages at $1.60 for a floor tax of $480.00 for each 
of these machines. A smaller machine with normal fill capacity of 
300 packages will report only one-half of 300, or 150 packages, 
at $1.60 for a floor tax of $240.00 for each of these machines on 
Schedule B. 

The alternative method outlined above only applies to vending 
machines on location.

Mailing instructions
Attach check or money order payable, in U.S. funds, to 
NYS Cigarette Tax. Include on your check or money order 
Form CG-11 (or Form CG-11-MN ), your identification number, 
and the period covered by this return.

If your payment is returned by a bank, the Tax Department is 
allowed by law to charge a $50 fee for nonpayment. However, 
if the payment is returned as a result of an error by the bank or 
department, the department will not charge the fee. If your payment 
is returned, we will send a separate bill for $50 for each return or 
other tax document associated with the returned payment.

Mail your return and remittance to:
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
CIGARETTE FLOOR TAX
PO BOX 1833
ALBANY NY 12201-1833

Private delivery services

If you choose, you may use a private delivery service, instead of 
the U.S. Postal Service, to mail in your form and tax payment. 
However, if, at a later date, you need to establish the date you 
filed or paid your tax, you cannot use the date recorded by a 
private delivery service unless you used a delivery service that 
has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the 
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated 
delivery services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private 
Delivery Services. See Need help? for information on obtaining 
forms and publications.) If you have used a designated private 
delivery service and need to establish the date you filed your form, 
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Need help?

Internet access: www.nystax.gov
	 (for information, forms, and publications)

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
  available 24 hours a day,
	 7 days a week. 	 1 800 748-3676

Telephone assistance is available from 8:00 A.M. to
	 5:00 P.M. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

Miscellaneous Tax Information Center:	 (518) 457-5735
In-state callers without free long distance:	 1 800 470-4353

To order forms and publications: 	 (518) 457-5431
In-state callers without free long distance:	 1 800 462-8100

Text Telephone (TTY) Hotline (for persons with hearing 
and speech disabilities using a TTY): If you have 
access to a TTY, contact us at 1 800 634-2110. 
If you do not own a TTY, check with independent 
living centers or community action programs to find 
out where machines are available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our 
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities 
are accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have 
questions about special accommodations for persons 
with disabilities, call the information center.

Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and 
maintain personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax 
Law, including but not limited to, sections 5-a, 171, 171-a, 287, 
308, 429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and 
may require disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to 
42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax 
liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and 
exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other 
lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees 
is provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud 
prevention, support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness 
of certain employment and training programs and other purposes 
authorized by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil 
or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Manager of Document 
Management, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, 
Albany NY 12227; telephone (518) 457-5181.

contact that private delivery service for instructions on how to 
obtain written proof of the date your form was given to the delivery 
service for delivery. If you use any private delivery service, whether 
it is a designated service or not, send the forms covered by these 
instructions to: NYS Tax Department, Miscellaneous Tax Insourcing 
Unit, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.
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