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New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Alcoholic Beverages Tax Clearance Return
For Tax on Importation of Alcoholic Beverages into
New York State for Personal Consumption

	Name	 Social security number	 Identification type code (see instructions)

	Street address	 City, town, or hamlet	 State	 ZIP code

	County		  Daytime telephone	 E-mail address

			  (      )

	Location (city and country, or airport) where alcoholic beverages were purchased

	Place of arrival in the U.S.		  Date of arrival

If customs broker, complete the following:

	Name

	Street address	 City, town, or hamlet	 State	 ZIP code

	Contact person	 Telephone	 E-mail address

		 (      )

Schedule A — Computation of the state and local sales tax 
Complete Schedule B on page 2; then continue with Schedule A. 
Note: Attach a copy of the airline or ship bill ( in English; translated if in another language).

A
Base for sales tax

B
New York taxes due

	1	 Total cost of alcoholic beverages, in U.S. dollars.	 1.		

	2	 Federal excise tax ( from Schedule B, column D, line 24)	 2.		

	3	 State excise tax ( from Schedule B, column F, line 24)	 3.		

	4	 City excise tax ( from Schedule B, column H, line 24)	 4.		

	5	 Base for sales tax (add column A, lines 1 through 4)	 5.		

	6	 Combined sales tax rate at your residence (write.

		    as a decimal, so 8¼% is .0825) .......................... 	 6.	 .0	

	7	 Sales tax due ( line 5 × line 6 ) ............................. 	 7.		

	8	 Total tax due New York (add column B, lines 3, 4, and 7 )	 8.		

Under penalty of perjury, I declare that this return is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, correct and complete and that all 
beverages listed herein are for my personal use and consumption.
	Signature of authorized person	 Date

	Signature of preparer	 Date

		 Date of submission
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Schedule C — Application for temporary license to import liquors for personal use and consumption

	 25	 Dates for which license is requested (license is valid for 14 days).....	From:	  To:

	 26	 Quantity of liquor expected to be imported with this license...................................................................... 	 26.

	 27	 Including the amount shown on line 12 during the year ending on the last day of the period shown on

		    line 25 how many liters of liquor will you have imported into New York State?....................................... 	 27.

	 28	 Number of licenses requested in the previous 12-month period................................................................ 	 28.

Transporter name			   State Liquor Authority transporter number (if applicable)

Street address	 City			   State	 ZIP code

County		  Method of transportation

Transporter information ( if other than applicant)

Destination of liquor ( if applicant’s address, enter same)

Name		  Telephone number

		  (	 )

Street address	 City		  State	 ZIP code

Name	 Telephone number

	 (	 )

Street address 	 City		  State 	ZIP code	

Supplier information ( if known at time of application)

Mark an X in one box:	 New York State only	 New York City only	 New York State and New York City

I hereby declare that I am 21 years of age or older and that this application has been made with the knowledge that a willingly false 
representation is a crime under New York State Tax Law Article 37, section 1813, punishable by fines and penalties stipulated therein, 
and affirm that the information provided on this application is true, correct, and complete.

Signature of applicant	 Date

For office use only

License number	 Issuing agent’s signature

Valid from	 to 

This certifies that	 is licensed to import up to	 liters of liquors into this 
state during the above 14-day period pursuant to Article 18 of the Tax Law. The liquors must be for the above-named individual’s 
personal use and consumption.

The license is not transferable and shall remain in force during the above period and is null and void after this period.

Form MT-39 must be filed before the above-named individual may import any liquor or within 20 days after the end of the above 
14-day period if tax is not due. Any person required to file a return or report or to pay tax who willfully fails to pay such tax or file 
such return or report at the time or times required is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Persons importing liquors for sale or importing more than 360 liters during any one-year period for personal use and consumption 
must undergo full registration as a distributor of liquors and may not sell or import pursuant to this temporary license.

Any person, other than a registered distributor, who imports or causes to be imported any liquor into New York State for sale or 
use in New York State without a license is guilty of a class A misdemeanor. If the total quantity of liquors imported is more than 
360 liters, the person is guilty of a class E felony.
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