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 IT-214-I

Real property tax credit
If your household gross income was $18,000 
or less, you may be entitled to a credit on your 
New York State income tax return for part of 
the real property taxes or rent you paid during 
2005. If you do not have to file a return, you 
can file for a refund of the credit by using 
Form IT-214 only.

Who qualifies
Homeowners — To qualify for the real 
property tax credit, you must meet all of these 
conditions for tax year 2005:
— your household gross income was $18,000 

or less;
— you occupied the same New York residence 

for six months or more;
— you or your spouse paid real property taxes 

on your residence;
— you were a New York State resident for all 

of 2005;
— you could not be claimed as a dependent 

on another taxpayer’s federal income tax 
return;

— your residence was not completely 
exempted from real property taxes;

— the current market value of all real property 
(house(s), garage(s), land, etc.) you owned 
was $85,000 or less; and

— any rent you received for nonresidential use 
of your residence was 20% or less of the 
total rent you received.

Renters — To qualify for the real property tax 
credit, you must meet all of these conditions for 
tax year 2005:
— your household gross income was $18,000 

or less;
— you occupied the same New York residence 

for six months or more;
— you or your spouse paid rent for your 

residence;
— you were a New York State resident for all 

of 2005;
— you could not be claimed as a dependent 

on another taxpayer’s federal income tax 
return;

— your residence was not completely 
exempted from real property taxes;

— the current market value of all real property 
(house(s), garage(s), land, etc.) you owned 
was $85,000 or less; and

— the average monthly rent you and other 
members of your household paid was $450 
or less, not counting charges for heat, gas, 
electricity, furnishings, or board.

If you meet all of these conditions as a 
homeowner or renter, you are a qualified 
taxpayer and may be entitled to the real 
property tax credit.

You cannot file a 2005 real property tax 
credit claim form for a taxpayer who died in 
2005.

Definitions
Members of your household include all 
who share your residence and its furnishings, 
facilities, and accommodations whether they 
are related to you or not.

However, tenants, subtenants, roomers, or 
boarders are not members of your household 
unless they are related to you in one of the 
following ways:
— a son, daughter, or a descendent of either;
— a stepson or stepdaughter;
— a brother, sister, stepbrother, or stepsister;
— a father, mother, or an ancestor of either;
— a stepfather or stepmother;
— a niece or nephew;
— an aunt or uncle;
— a son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father-in-law, 

mother-in-law, brother-in-law, or sister-in-law.

No one can be a member of more than one 
household at one time.

Household gross income is the annual total 
of the following income items that you and all 
members of your household received during 
2005:
— Federal adjusted gross income (even if you 

don’t have to file a federal return).
— New York State additions to federal  

adjusted gross income. For a list of these 
additions, see Publication 22, General 
Information on New York State’s Real 
Property Tax Credit for Homeowners and 
Renters, or the instructions for Form IT-201. 
For Form IT-150 filers, the New York State 
additions to federal adjusted gross income 
are shown on Form IT-150, lines 12 through 
14. For Form IT-201 filers, the New York 
State additions to federal adjusted gross 
income are shown on Form IT-201, lines 20 
through 23.

— Support money, including foster care 
support payments.

— Income earned abroad exempted by 
section 911 of the Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC).

— Supplemental security income (SSI) 
payments.

— Nontaxable interest received from New York 
State, its agencies, instrumentalities, public 
corporations, or political subdivisions.

— Workers’ compensation.
— The gross amount of loss-of-time insurance. 

(For example, an accident or health 
insurance policy and disability benefits 
received under a no-fault automobile policy, 
etc.).

— Cash public assistance and relief, other 
than medical assistance for the needy (for 
example, cash grants to clients, emergency 
aid to adults, value of food vouchers 
received by clients, etc.). Do not include 
amounts received from the Home Energy

 Assistance Program (HEAP).
— Nontaxable strike benefits.
— The gross amount of pensions and 

annuities, including railroad retirement 
benefits.

— All payments received under the Social 
Security Act and veterans disability 

pensions reduced by any Medicare 
premiums deducted from your benefit 
reported on Federal Form SSA-1099, Social 
Security Benefit Statement.

Household gross income does not include food 
stamps, medicare, medicaid, scholarships, 
grants, surplus food, or other relief in kind. 
It also does not include payments made to 
veterans under the Federal Veterans’ Dioxin 
and Radiation Exposure Compensation 
Standards Act because of exposure to 
herbicides containing dioxin (agent orange), 
or pursuant to certain agent orange product 
liability litigation.

Also, household gross income does not include 
payments made to individuals because of 
their status as victims of Nazi persecution as 
defined in federal Public Law 103-286.

A residence is a dwelling that you own or rent, 
and up to one acre of land around it. It must be 
located in New York State. If your residence is 
on more than one acre of land, only the amount 
of real property taxes or rent paid that applies 
to the residence and only one acre around 
it may be used to figure the credit. (If you do 
not know how much rent or real property tax 
you paid for the one acre surrounding your 
residence, contact your local assessor.) Each 
residence within a multiple dwelling unit may 
qualify. A condominium, a cooperative, or a 
rental unit within a single dwelling is also a 
residence.

A trailer or mobile home that is used only for 
residential purposes is also a residence if the 
trailer or mobile home is assessed for real 
property tax purposes.

Real property taxes paid are all current, prior, 
and prepaid real property taxes, special ad 
valorem levies and assessments levied and 
paid upon a residence owned or previously 
owned by a qualified taxpayer (or spouse, if the 
spouse occupied the residence for at least six 
months) during the tax year. You may elect to 
include real property taxes that are exempted 
from tax under section 467 (for persons 65 and 
older) of the Real Property Tax Law (veterans’ 
tax exemption does not qualify). If you do not 
know this amount, contact your local assessor.

Real property taxes paid also include any 
real estate taxes allowed (or which would 
be allowable if the taxpayer had filed a 
return on a cash basis) as a deduction for 
tenant-stockholders in a cooperative housing 
corporation under section 216 of the IRC.

If any part of your residence was owned by 
someone who was not a member of your 
household, include only the real property 
taxes paid that apply to the part you and other 
qualified members of your household own.

If your residence was part of a larger unit, 
include only the amount of real property taxes 
paid that can be reasonably applied to your 
residence.

If you owned and occupied more than one 
residence during the tax year, add together the 
prorated part of real property taxes paid for the 
period you occupied each residence.

Rent constituting real property taxes paid 
is 25% of the adjusted rent paid on a New York 
residence during the tax year.

 This form may be e-filed as an
 attachment to an e-filed return;
 you cannot e-file this form by  
 itself.
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Adjusted rent is the rent paid after subtracting 
any charges for heat, gas, electricity, 
furnishings, or board. If these charges are not 
separately stated, complete lines 22 through 25 
of Form IT-214 to figure 25% of adjusted rent. 
Do not include any subsidized part of your 
rental charge in adjusted rent.

If any part of your residence was rented by 
someone who was not a member of your 
household, include in line 22 of Form IT-214 
only the amount of rent you and members of 
your household paid.

If you moved from one rented residence 
to another rented residence during the tax 
year, add 25% of adjusted rent paid for each 
residence.

Which form to file
To claim the real property tax credit, complete 
Form IT-214, and attach it to Form IT-150 or 
Form IT-201. If neither you nor your spouse 
has to file a New York State income tax return, 
but you qualify to claim the credit, just file 
Form IT-214 to claim your refundable credit.

If you are filing or have filed an original 
Form IT-214 without attaching it to a return, 
such as Form IT-150, please enter your 
daytime telephone number including the 
area code. This voluntary entry will enable 
the Tax Department to correct minor errors or 
omissions by calling you rather than writing or 
sending back your Form IT-214. You are not 
required to give your telephone number.

To file an amended Form IT-214, get a blank 
Form IT-214 for the tax year involved, and write 
Amended at the top of the form. Complete the 
form by entering the corrected information.

If more than one member of your household 
qualifies for the credit, each must file a 
separate Form IT-214. See the line 17 
instructions for division of the credit. However, if 
you are married and filing a joint tax return, you 
must file a joint claim on Form IT-214.

When to file
If you are filing a New York State income 
tax return, attach Form IT-214 to it. File your 
New York State income tax return as soon as 
you can after January 1, 2006, but not later 
than April 17, 2006 (April 18, 2006, if you file 
your federal return at the IRS Service Center in 
Andover MA).

If you don’t have to file a New York State 
income tax return, file Form IT-214 as soon as 
you can after January 1, 2006.

If you filed a New York State resident income 
tax return without claiming the real property 
tax credit, you may still be able to claim the 
credit. To claim the credit for tax year 2005, file 
Form IT-214 as soon as you can, but no later 
than April 17, 2009.

Filing Form IT-214 for past years
If you did not file Form IT-214 for previous 
years, you may still be able to receive a real 
property tax credit for those years. To see if 
there is still time for you to file Form IT-214, see 
the table below:
Year Last date to file
2002 April 17, 2006
2003 April 16, 2007
2004 April 15, 2008

Line instructions
If you have a peel-off label — you must enter 
your social security number(s) in the boxes 
to the right of the label. Be sure your social 
security numbers are in the same order as your 
names. Do not enter information in the spaces 
of the address, the county of residence, the 
school district name, or school district code 
number boxes if all the information on your 
peel-off label is correct.

If you do not have a peel-off label — print 
or type the information requested in the name 
and address box at the top of the front. Enter 
your name, current mailing address, and social 
security number in the boxes provided. Enter 
your county of residence as of December 31, 
2005. Married taxpayers enter both social 
security numbers.

On the bottom line of the name and address 
box, enter the street address of the New York 
residence that qualifies you for this credit if it is 
different from your current mailing address or if 
your mailing address is a PO Box. If not, enter 
the word same on this line.

Filling in your claim form
Form IT-214 has been designed to let us use 
the latest scanning and image-processing 
equipment. Rectangular boxes and white entry 
areas have been printed on the form to guide 
you in making your handwritten entries. This 
will enable our scanning equipment to more 
accurately read your return and let us process 
it more efficiently. Please spend a moment 
reviewing the method below for making your 
entries:
— Please keep your name and address entries 

within the spaces provided. For example, 
your first name and middle initial should 
not go past the vertical line separating 
them from your last name, and your last 
name should start to the right of the vertical 
line. Similarly, your mailing address, ZIP 
code, etc., should be kept within the boxes 
provided.

— Print (use black ink only; no red or other 
color ink or pencils please) or type all X 
marks and money amounts in the boxes 
and spaces provided.

— Do not use dollar signs, commas, decimal 
points, dashes, or any other punctuation 
marks or symbols. All necessary 
punctuation has been printed on the form.

— Write your numbers and X marks like this:

— Make your money amount entries in the 
white areas, allowing one number for each 
box.

— Carefully enter your money amounts so that 
the whole dollar amount ends immediately 
to the left of the cents decimal, and the 
cents amount starts immediately to the 
right of the cents decimal.

Example: If your entry for line 10 is $3,525.50, 
your money field entry should look like this:

— Leave blank any entry areas that do not 
apply to you and treat these blanks as 
zeros. Do not enter 0 in these areas unless 
instructed to do so.

Line 5 — If you were a resident of a nursing 
home or if your residence was completely 
exempted from property taxes in 2005, mark 
an X in the Yes box. If not, mark an X in the No 
box.

Generally, residents of nursing homes do 
not qualify for this credit since they are all 
considered to be members of one household 
which usually exceeds the household gross 
income level of $18,000 and the average 
monthly rent level of $450. If you are a resident 
of a nursing home and you mark the Yes box, 
do not file Form IT-214 unless you attach a 
statement explaining how your household does 
not exceed these two limitations.

Residents of housing facilities that are 
completely exempt from paying real property 
taxes do not qualify for this credit. Some 
examples include, but are not limited to, 
residents of public housing projects and senior 
citizen homes. Find out if your residence is 
completely exempt from paying real property 
taxes by asking the management of your 
housing facility. If you mark the Yes box on line 
5, do not file Form IT-214. 

Line 6 — Enter the number of members 
of your household, including yourself, who 
are filing a Form IT-214 for 2005. Count a 
joint claim filed by husband and wife as one 
Form IT-214. See the instructions for line 17 if 
more than one member of your household is 
filing Form IT-214.

Line 7 — Among other conditions (see Who 
qualifies), a household member 65 or older 
must have paid real property taxes or rent to 
qualify for this credit. If you marked the Yes box 
on line 7, indicating that you or a member of 
your household was 65 or older on January 1, 
2006, enter the social security number of 
that person in the boxes for Qualifying social 
security number. Enter same if it is your social 
security number.

Line 8 — Mark an X in the appropriate box. 
If you owned your residence for part of the year 
and rented your residence for part of the year, 
mark the Own box.

Complete Schedule A or B and 
Schedule C on the back of Form IT-214 
before continuing with line 9.

Schedule A (homeowners)
Enter on lines 18 and 19 any county, city, 
town, village, or school district taxes and 
assessments that you and all qualified 
members of your household paid during 2005. 
(Do not include penalty and interest charges.) 
Persons age 65 or older may enter on line 20 
the amount exempted from taxation under 
section 467 of the Real Property Tax Law (do 
not include the veterans’ tax exemption or the 
STAR exemption). However, if you choose to 
make an entry on line 20, your credit, before 
limitation, will be only 25% (instead of 50%) 
of your eligible real property taxes. You may 
want to figure your credit both ways to see 
which results in the greater credit. Add lines 
18 through 20, and enter the total on line 21. 
Transfer this amount to line 10 on the front of 
Form IT-214.
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Schedule B (renters)
Enter on line 22 the total rent you and all 
members of your household paid during 
2005; do not include any subsidized part of 
your rental charge. Figure the amounts to be 
entered on lines 23, 24, and 25. Transfer the 
amount from line 25 to line 10, on the front of 
Form IT-214.

If the monthly average of your adjusted rent 
(line 24) was more than $450, stop; you do 
not qualify for this credit.

Example: Sally rented an apartment for nine 
months during 2005. Her total adjusted rent 
paid during 2005 was $3,825. Therefore, the 
monthly average of adjusted rent paid by Sally 
during 2005 is $425 ($3,825 ÷ 9 months).

Schedule C (homeowners and renters)
List the name, social security number, and 
year of birth of everyone, including yourself, 
who lived in your household in 2005. If you 
need more space, list additional names on a 
separate sheet and attach it to Form IT-214. 
Enter in the boxes on line 26 the total number 
of household members.

Figure your household gross income by 
completing lines 27 through 34.

Enter on line 27 the total federal adjusted 
gross income of you and all members of your 
household. If you or any members of your 
household do not have to file a federal return, 
include the amount that would be included 
in federal adjusted gross income if a federal 
return had been required.

Enter on line 28 the total additions to 
federal adjusted gross income required by 
section 612(b) of the Tax Law. For a list of 
these additions, see Publication 22, General 
Information on New York State’s Real Property 
Tax Credit for Homeowners and Renters, or 
the combined instructions for Forms IT-150 
and IT-201. For Form IT-150 filers, the New 
York State additions to federal adjusted gross 
income are shown on Form IT-150, lines 12 
through 14. For Form IT-201 filers, the New 
York State additions to federal adjusted gross 
income are shown on Form IT-201, lines 20 
through 23. Include the total of these additions 
that apply to you and all members of your 
household, even if a New York State income tax 
return is not required.

Enter on lines 29 through 33 the total of each 
type of income you and all members of your 
household received during 2005 that was not 
included on lines 27 and 28.

If someone was a member of your household 
for only part of the tax year, include on lines 27 
through 33 the income he or she received while 
a member of your household.

Add lines 27 through 33, and enter the total 
on line 34. Round this amount to the nearest 
whole dollar, and transfer it to line 11 on the 
front of Form IT-214. If this amount is more than 
$18,000, stop; you do not qualify for this credit.

Line 9 — If you qualify for an exemption 
from taxation under section 467 of the Real 
Property Tax Law and elect to enter this 
exemption on line 20, mark an X in the Yes box. 
If not, mark an X in the No box.

Line 10 — Real property taxes paid or 
25% of adjusted rent paid

If you owned your residence for all of 2005, 
enter your real property taxes paid (line 21) on 
line 10.

If you rented your residence for all of 2005, 
enter 25% of your adjusted rent paid (line 25) 
on line 10.

If you owned your residence for part of the 
tax year and rented your residence for part 
of the tax year, add 25% of your adjusted rent 
paid (from Schedule B) to the prorated part of 
any charges you list on Schedule A. Enter the 
total on line 10.

Line 15 — If you entered on line 20 any 
amount of taxes not paid due to the exemption 
for persons 65 or older (section 467 of the Real 
Property Tax Law), figure 25% of line 14, and 
enter the result on line 15. If you did not make 
an entry on line 20, figure 50% of line 14, and 
enter the result on line 15.

Line 16 Credit limitation — Using 
the following table, find your credit limitation 
according to the amount of your household 
gross income (line 11) and the age of qualified 
household members (line 7). Be careful to 
select your limitation from the proper column.

If the And you checked
amount on Yes on line 7, No on line 7,
line 11 is: enter on line 16:   enter on line 16:
$ * 0 to 1,000 $375 $75
  1,001 to 2,000  358  73
 2,001 to 3,000  341  71
 3,001 to 4,000  324  69
 4,001 to 5,000  307  67
 5,001 to 6,000  290  65
 6,001 to 7,000  273  63
 7,001 to 8,000  256  61
 8,001 to 9,000  239  59
 9,001 to 10,000  222  57
10,001 to 11,000  205  55
11,001 to 12,000  188  53
12,001 to 13,000  171  51
13,001 to 14,000  154  49
14,001 to 15,000  137  47
15,001 to 16,000  120  45
16,001 to 17,000  103  43
17,001 to 18,000   86  41

 * This may include a negative amount.

Line 17 Real property tax credit
The real property tax credit for your household 
is the amount on line 15 or line 16 - whichever 
is less. Enter the lesser amount on line 17.

If more than one member of your household 
is filing Form IT-214, divide the line 17 amount 
equally among all filers. You can divide the 
line 17 amount any way you want if you each 
agree to the amount of your share and attach 
a copy of the agreement to your Form IT-214. 
Enter only your share of the line 17 amount 
on your Form IT-214 (and on your return if you 
have to file one).

If you are married and filing a joint Form IT-214, 
you do not have to divide the credit. However, 
if you do not want to apply your share of a 
credit to a debt owed by your spouse, you must 
also file Form IT-280, Nonobligated Spouse 
Allocation (see Collection of debts from your 
overpayment and Disclaiming of spouse’s debt 
on the next page).

If you are filing a 2005 New York State 
income tax return, transfer your line 17 
amount to Form IT-150, line 40 or 
Form IT-201, line 65.

Your credit will be subtracted from the amount 
of tax you owe. Any amount over the tax you 
owe will be refunded to you.

Sign Form IT-214 and attach it to the return 
you are filing.

If you pay someone to prepare Form IT-214, 
the paid preparer must also sign it and fill in 
the other blanks in the paid preparer’s area. 
If someone prepares Form IT-214 for you and 
does not charge you, that person should not 
sign it.

Note to paid preparers – When signing a 
taxpayer’s New York State income tax return, 
you must use the same number (social security 
number or federal preparers tax identification 
number) that you use when preparing federal 
income tax returns. For more information 
relating to the signing of returns by a paid 
preparer and other requirements relating to 
paid preparers, see Publication 58, Information 
for Income Tax Return Preparers. 

Where to file
If you are not filing a 2005 New York State 
income tax return, sign and date Form IT-214 
and mail it to:

 STATE PROCESSING CENTER
 PO BOX 61000
 ALBANY NY 12261-0001

Private delivery services — If you choose, 
you may use a private delivery service, instead 
of the U.S. Postal Service, to file your return 
and pay tax. However, if, at a later date, you 
need to establish the date you filed your 
return or paid your tax, you cannot use the 
date recorded by a private delivery service 
unless you used a delivery service that 
has been designated by the U.S. Secretary 
of the Treasury or the Commissioner of 
Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated 
delivery services are listed in Publication 55, 
Designated Private Delivery Services. See 
Need help? on page 4 of these instructions 
for information on ordering forms and 
publications.) If you have used a designated 
private delivery service and need to establish 
the date you filed your return, contact that 
private delivery service for instructions on how 
to obtain written proof of the date your return 
was given to the delivery service for delivery. If 
you use any private delivery service, whether 
it is a designated service or not, address 
your return to: State Processing Center, 
101 Enterprise Drive, Kingston NY 12401. 

Complete lines 35a through 35c if you want us 
to deposit your real property tax credit directly 
into your bank account instead of sending you 
a check. Do not complete these lines if you 
are filing Form IT-214 with your New York State 
income tax return. Instead, complete the lines 
for direct deposit on the return that you are 
filing.

You can contact your financial institution to 
make sure your deposit will be accepted and to 
get your correct routing and account numbers.

Note: The routing and account numbers may appear 
in different places on your check.

Line
35a

Line
35c

SAMPLE



 Internet access: www.nystax.gov
  Access our Answer Center for answers
to frequently asked questions; check your 
refund status; check your estimated tax 
account; download forms, publications; get tax 
updates and other information.

 Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
  available 24 hours a day,
  7 days a week. 1 800 748-3676

 Telephone assistance is available from
  8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. (eastern time),
  Monday through Friday.
Refund status: 1 800 443-3200
 (Automated service for refund status is available
 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.)

To order forms and publications: 1 800 462-8100
Personal Income Tax
 Information Center: 1 800 225-5829
From areas outside the U.S. and
 outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

Hearing and speech impaired: 
 (telecommunications device for
 the deaf (TDD) callers only): 1 800 634-2110

 Persons with disabilities: In compliance
  with the Americans with Disabilities Act, 
  we will ensure that our lobbies, offices, 
meeting rooms, and other facilities are accessible 
to persons with disabilities. If you have questions 
about special accommodations for persons with 
disabilities, please call 1 800 225-5829.

Need help?
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Line 35a — Enter your nine-digit routing 
number. If the first two digits are not 01 
through 12, or 21 through 32, the direct deposit 
will be rejected and a check sent instead. On 
the sample check on the previous page, the 
routing number is 090090099.

Your check may state that it is payable through 
a bank different from the one where you have 
your checking account. If so, do not use the 
routing number on that check. Instead, contact 
your bank for the correct routing number to 
enter on this line.

Line 35b — Mark an X in the box for the 
type of account, checking or savings.

Line 35c — Enter the account number 
where you want your real property tax credit 
deposited. If you selected Checking on 
line 35b, enter the account number shown 
on your checks. (On the sample check on 
the previous page, the account number is 
1357902468. Be sure not to include the check 
number.) If you chose Savings on line 35b, you 
can get your savings account number from a 
preprinted savings account deposit slip, your 
passbook or other bank records, or from your 
financial institution. The account number can 
be up to 17 characters (both numbers and 
letters). Include hyphens but omit spaces and 
special symbols. Enter the number from left to 
right and leave any unused boxes blank.

The department will not notify you that your 
refund of your real property tax credit has been 
deposited. However, if the amount we deposit 
is different from the amount of real property 
tax credit you claimed on your Form IT-214, 
we will send you a written explanation of the 
adjustment within two weeks from the date 
your refund of your real property tax credit is 
deposited.

We will make every effort to comply with 
your request for direct deposit. However, we 
cannot be responsible when a bank refuses a 
direct deposit. Some financial institutions, for 
example, do not allow a joint credit claim to be 
deposited into an individual account. If your 
bank refuses the direct deposit or the deposit 
cannot be made for any other reason, we will 
send a check to the mailing address shown on 
your return. If you encounter any problem 
with the direct deposit of your claim of your 
real property tax credit to your account, call 
toll free 1 800 321-3213. The processing time 
is approximately six to eight weeks.

Collection of debts from your 
overpayment — We will keep all or part of 
your overpayment (refund) if you owe a New 
York State tax liability or a New York City or 
Yonkers personal income tax liability, if you 
owe past-due support or a past-due legally 
enforceable debt to the IRS, to a New York 
State agency, or to another state, if you 
defaulted on a guaranteed student, state 
university, or city university loan, or if you owe 
a New York City tax warrant judgment debt. We 
will refund any amount that exceeds your debt.

A New York State agency includes any 
state department, board, bureau, division, 
commission, committee, public authority, public 

benefit corporation, council, office, or other 
entity performing a governmental or proprietary 
function for the state or a social services 
district. 

If you have questions about whether you owe a 
past-due legally enforceable debt to the IRS or 
to a state agency, contact the IRS or the state 
agency.

For New York State tax liabilities or New York 
City or Yonkers personal income tax liabilities, 
call 1 800 835-3554 (from areas outside the 
U.S. and outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800) 
or write to: NYS Tax Department, Tax 
Compliance Division, W A Harriman Campus, 
Albany NY 12227.

For information relating to a New York City tax 
warrant judgment debt, call (212) 232-3550.

Disclaiming of spouse’s debt

If you marked filing status  and you do not 
want to apply your part of the overpayment 
to your spouse’s non-IRS debt because you 
are not liable for it, complete Form IT-280, 
Nonobligated Spouse Allocation, and attach it 
to your original return. We need the information 
on Form IT-280 to process your refund as 
quickly as possible. You cannot file an amended 
return to disclaim your spouse’s non-IRS debt 
after you have filed your original return.

We will notify you if we keep your overpayment 
because of a past-due legally enforceable debt 
to the IRS. If your spouse owes the debt and 
you do not want your part of the overpayment 
to be used to pay the debt, you cannot use 
Form IT-280 to disclaim your spouse’s debt. 
Instead, you will need to file federal Form 8379, 
Injured Spouse Claim and Allocation, with the 
IRS.

Make sure you receive your refund
Every year a large number of refund checks 
are returned to the Tax Department, mainly 
because of mailing address problems. Many 
of these checks eventually reach their owners 
after this delay, but many others never do, 
despite our best efforts.

You can receive your refund check without 
delay. Please remember these important points:

• Make sure you enter your social security 
number(s) at the top of your return.

• We mail the refund to the current mailing 
address shown on the return.

• Don’t assume that we already have your 
correct address. Check it.

• Make sure the address is complete - include 
c/o if necessary, and PO Box and apartment 
numbers, if any.

• If you’re moving, notify the U.S. Postal 
Service of the new address.

• If you use a computer, make sure your 
software is printing your address properly.

• Make sure everything is legible.

• If someone else is preparing your return, 
make sure they have your correct address.

Important reminder to file a 
complete return
You must complete all required schedules and 
forms that make up your return, and include 
all pages of those forms and schedules when 
you file. Attach only those forms and schedules 
that apply to your return, and be sure that you 
have made all required entries. Returns that 
are missing required pages or that have pages 
with missing entries are considered incomplete 
and cannot be processed, and may subject 
taxpayers to penalty and interest.

Privacy notification — The Commissioner of 
Taxation and Finance may collect and maintain 
personal information pursuant to the New York 
State Tax Law, including but not limited to, 
sections 171, 171-a, 287, 308, 429, 475, 
505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; 
and may require disclosure of social security 
numbers pursuant to 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and 
administer tax liabilities and, when authorized 
by law, for certain tax offset and exchange of 
tax information programs as well as for any 
other lawful purpose.

Failure to provide the required information may 
subject you to civil or criminal penalties, or 
both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director 
of Records Management and Data Entry, NYS 
Tax Department, W A Harriman Campus, 
Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225-5829. 
From areas outside the United States and 
outside Canada, call (518) 485-6800.


