
Visit the Corporation Tax Up-To-Date Information page on our Web
site at www.tax.state.ny.us for tax law changes or forms corrections
that occurred after the forms and instructions were printed.

Changes for 2002
Long-term care insurance credit — This credit is effective for tax
years beginning on or after January 1, 2002. The credit is equal to
10% of the premiums paid during the tax year for the purchase of
qualifying long-term care insurance. For more information, see
Form CT-249, Claim for Long-Term Care Insurance Credit.

Temporary increase in the mandatory first installment of
estimated tax —  The Tax Law has been amended to provide a
temporary increase in the mandatory first installment for taxpayers
whose preceding year’s tax, exclusive of the MTA tax surcharge,
exceeds $100,000. For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2003, but before January 1, 2006, those taxpayers are required to
pay a first installment equal to 30% of the preceding year’s tax.
Additionally, taxpayers who are required to pay their mandatory first
installment at the 30% rate and are subject to the MTA tax
surcharge are also required to calculate their estimated tax for the
MTA tax surcharge at 30% of the preceding year’s MTA tax
surcharge. The remaining three estimated tax payments are
adjusted so that the total payments do not exceed 100% of the
estimated tax due, For tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2006, the mandatory first installment reverts to 25% of the
preceding year’s tax.

The mandatory first installment of estimated tax and estimated
MTA tax surcharge remains at 25% of the preceding year’s tax and
tax surcharge, respectively, for those taxpayers whose preceding
year’s tax exceeded $1,000, but was less than or equal to
$100,000.  For more information, see TSB-M-02(5)C.

Change in interest rate on underpayments — The interest rate
applicable to underpayments has been increased by two
percentage points effective April 1, 2003. The new rate applies to
underpayments that remain or become due on or after that date.
See our Web site at www.tax.state.ny.us for the interest rates
applicable to the current and past calendar quarters. For more
information, see TSB-M-02(5)C.

Gross income — Taxpayers who sell gas or electricity that is
delivered through mains, pipes, wires, lines, or the like for ultimate
consumption or use in New York State must report gross income in
the following categories:

• Receipts from the sale of gas and electric service of
whatever nature.

• Receipts from the sale of steam, water, and refrigeration
utility services.

• Receipts from interest and dividends allocated to New York
State.

• Profits.

Tax rates — For the tax year January 1, 2002, through
December 31, 2002, the tax rates are:

• 2.4% on noncommodity gas and electric service (receipts
from transportation, transmission, or distribution of gas or
electricity).

• 1.9% on receipts from the sale of the commodities of gas,
electricity, steam, water, and refrigeration; and from steam,
water, and refrigeration service.

• 1.9% on receipts from interest and dividends.
• 1.9% on profits.

MTA surcharge — For a utility supervised by the Department of
Public Service (where the utility is not a provider of
telecommunication services) the MTA surcharge on

Form CT-186-P/M for the tax year January 1, 2002, through
December 31, 2002, is computed using the 2.4% and 1.9% tax
rates on gross income. The MTA surcharge is no longer computed
as if the tax rate on gross income was 3.5%.

Who must file Form CT-186-P — Every utility doing business in
New York State that is subject to the supervision of the New York
State Department of Public Service or Department of
Transportation, who sells or furnishes gas, electricity, steam, water,
or refrigeration service by means of mains, pipes, or wires for
ultimate consumption or use by the purchaser in this state must file
this form. Utilities include persons, corporations, companies,
associations, joint stock associations, co-partnerships, estates,
assignees of rents, persons acting in a fiduciary capacity, and
persons, their assignees, lessees, trustees, or receivers, appointed
by any court, that are subject to the supervision of the New York
State Department of Public Service. Utilities include, but are not
limited to, street surface, rapid transit, subway, and elevated
railroads; gas, electric, steam, water, bridge, express, transfer, and
freight terminal companies; and nonoperating railroads that lease
their property to others. Motor carriers or brokers are not
required to file this return.

The following taxpayers are required to file Form CT-186-P if they
sell gas or electricity, or gas or electric service:

A. All municipalities, political and civil subdivisions, and public
districts that sell or furnish gas, electricity, or gas or electric
service (including the sale of the transportation, transmission, or
distribution of gas or electricity). Do not include as taxpayers
those described below in paragraph 2 under Exemption from
tax.

B. All municipalities engaged in the retail sale of electricity or the
transportation, transmission, or distribution of electricity. Do not
include as taxpayers those described below in paragraph 3
under Exemption from tax.

Taxpayers described in A and B above compute receipts from the
sale of gas and electric service of whatever nature only on Part I.
They should not complete Parts II, III, and IV.

A utility subject to section 186-a that has gross income of less than
$500 for the tax year ending December 31 is exempt from the
payment of the tax under this section, but must still file a return. For
additional information see line 45 instructions.

Other forms you may have to file
Excise tax on telecommunication services — If you are a
telephone or telegraph company or other provider of
telecommunication services, even if those services are not your
primary business, do not file this form. File Form CT-186-E instead
to report the tax imposed by sections 186-a and 186-e.

Tax on importation of gas services — Article 9, section 189,
imposes a tax upon gas importers who import, or cause to be
imported, gas services into New York State for their own use or
consumption. For additional information, see TSB-M-91(5)C. Use
quarterly Form CT-189, Tax on Importation of Gas Services, to
remit the tax collected from the individual gas importer.

Exemption from tax — The following are exempt from taxation
under section 186-a and do not have to file Form CT-186-P:
1. New York State, municipalities, political and civil subdivisions of

New York State, or municipality and public districts, when selling
or furnishing steam, water, or refrigeration service.

2. Municipalities, political and civil subdivisions, and public districts
that sell or furnish gas, electricity, and gas or electric service,
including the sale of the transportation, transmission, or
distribution of gas or electricity, if they own and operate facilities
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used to generate electricity or distribute electricity or gas, and
then sell or distribute such electricity or gas solely at retail within
their jurisdiction.

3. Municipalities engaged in the retail sale of electricity or the
transportation, transmission, or distribution of electricity, where
all such electricity has been generated solely by and purchased
solely from New York State or a public authority of New York
State (New York State Power Authority).

4. Not-for-profit corporations and associations described in
section 1116(a)(4) of the Tax Law, organized and operated
exclusively for religious, charitable, or educational purposes,
where the organization resells gas or electricity, or gas or
electric service, as landlord to its tenants in buildings owned by
the organization.

5. A corporation leasing from a city in New York State a water
works system to supply water at cost to relieve water pollution in
a river within that city.

6. Limited dividend housing corporations organized under the
Private Housing Finance Law.

When and where to file — You must report gross income on a
calendar-year basis to New York State, even if you maintain your
records and report to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) using a
fiscal accounting period.

This return is due on March 15 following the close of each calendar
year. If March 15 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the
return is due on the next business day. Mail your return to:
NYS Corporation Tax, Processing Unit, PO Box 22038, Albany
NY 12201-2038.
Private delivery services — If you choose, you may use a private
delivery service, instead of the U.S. Postal Service, to file your return
and pay tax. However, if, at a later date, you need to establish the date
you filed your return or paid your tax, you cannot use the date recorded
by a private delivery service unless you used a delivery service that
has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury or the
Commissioner of Taxation and Finance. (Currently designated delivery
services are listed in Publication 55, Designated Private Delivery
Services. See Need help? on page 6 of these instructions for
information on ordering forms and publications.) If you use any private
delivery service, whether it is a designated service or not, address your
return to: State Processing Center, 431C Broadway, Albany NY
12204-4836.

Extension of time for filing tax return — If you cannot meet the
filing deadline, you may request an extension of time by filing
Form CT-5.9, Request for Three-Month Extension to File, on or
before the due date of the return for which you are requesting the
extension, and pay any amount you estimate to be due. An
extension of time granted by the IRS to file a federal tax return
does not extend the due date for filing Form CT-186-P.

Amended return — If you are filing an amended return, please
check the Amended return box on the front page of the return.

Employer identification number, file number, and other
identifying information — For us to process your corporation tax
forms, it is important that we have the necessary identifying
information. You will find your employer identification number and
file number just above your printed corporation name and address.
Keep a record of that information and include it on each
corporation tax form mailed.

If you use a paid preparer or accounting firm, make sure they use
your complete and accurate identifying information when
completing all forms.

Change of address — If your address has changed, please enter
your new address in the appropriate area and check the box below
the address so that we can update your address for this tax type.
Do not check this box for any change of business information other
than for your address.

Changes of business information — You must report any
changes in your business name, ID number, mailing address,
physical address, telephone number, or owner/officer information

on Form DTF-95, Business Tax Account Update. If only your
address has changed, you may use Form DTF-96, Report of
Address Change for Business Tax Accounts. You can get these
forms by fax, phone, or from our Web site. See Need help? (on
page 6) for the phone number and Web address.

Maintenance fee for foreign corporations — If you are a
foreign corporation (a corporation organized outside of New York
State) authorized to do business in New York State under Article 13
or 15-A of the Business Corporation Law, you must pay an annual
maintenance fee of $300. If you do not pay this fee or its equivalent
in New York State corporation taxes and MTA surcharges, your
authorization to do business in New York State may be annulled.
Payments of New York State corporation taxes (including the MTA
surcharge) under Articles 9, 9-A, and 32 are counted as payments
toward the $300 annual maintenance fee. However, the license fee
reported on Form CT-240 is not considered corporation tax and
cannot be considered as a payment toward the maintenance fee.

If the total of corporation taxes and MTA surcharges paid on 2002
tax returns is less than $300, compute the amount necessary to
equal the $300 maintenance fee and add that amount to the tax
due on line 5.

Foreign corporations – license fee — Foreign corporations
must also file Form CT-240, Foreign Corporation License Fee
Return, whether or not they are authorized to do business in
New York State.  Form CT-240 must be filed with the corporation’s
first franchise tax return, or if the capital stock employed in
New York State has increased since the last license fee return was
filed.

NAICS business code number — Enter the six-digit NAICS
business activity code number from your federal return.

Metropolitan transportation business tax (MTA surcharge)
Any corporation taxable under Article 9, section 186-a that does
business in the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District
(MCTD) must file Form CT-186-P/M and pay a metropolitan
transportation business tax surcharge on business done in the
Metropolitan Transportation Authority region (MTA surcharge). The
MCTD includes the counties of New York, Bronx, Queens, Kings,
Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk,
and Westchester.

Corporations not doing business in the MCTD must disclaim
liability for the MTA surcharge by answering No to the question on
page 1 of Form CT-186-P. They are not required to file
Form CT-186-P/M.

Whole dollar amounts — You may elect to show amounts in whole
dollars rather than in dollars and cents. Round any amount from
50 cents through 99 cents to the next higher dollar. Round any
amount less than 50 cents to the next lower dollar.

Negative amounts — Show any negative amounts in parentheses.

Percentages — When computing allocation percentages, convert
decimals into percentages by moving the decimal point two
spaces to the right. Carry percentages to four decimal places. For
example: 5,000/7,500 = 0.6666666 = 66.6667%.

Specific instructions

Line A — Make your payment in United States funds. We will
accept a foreign check or foreign money order only if payable
through a United States bank or if marked Payable in U.S. funds.

Computation of tax
Line 2 — Enter the amount of the long-term care insurance tax
credit that you are claiming. Attach Form CT-249, Claim for
Long-Term Care Insurance Tax Credit, to your return (see
TSB-M-00(5)C).

Note: Complete Form CT-186-P in the following order:
• lines 19 through 51
• lines 1 through 18
• line A
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If you have any questions about whether you owe a past-due,
legally enforceable debt to the IRS or to a state agency, contact the
IRS or that particular state agency.

For New York State tax liabilities only call 1 800 835-3554 (outside
the U.S. and outside Canada call (518) 485-6800) or write to NYS
Tax Department, Tax Compliance Division, W A Harriman Campus,
Albany NY 12227.

Definition of gross income — Gross income includes receipts
from transactions within New York State that are derived from the
utility’s principal business, and profits from transactions within
New York State that are not derived from the utility’s principal
business.

Receipts that are included in gross income include the following:
• Receipts from the sale of gas or electric service of whatever

nature.
• Receipts from transportation, transmission, or distribution of

gas or electricity by means of conduits, mains, pipes, wires,
lines, or the like.

• Receipts from the sale of gas, electricity, steam, water, or
refrigeration when sold through mains, pipes, or wires for
ultimate consumption or use within New York State.

• Receipts from services rendered within New York State that
are performed in the conduct of the utility’s principal
business.

• Receipts from sale of merchandise within New York State that
are part of the utility’s stock in trade.

• Other receipts from sales made or services rendered within
New York State that are derived from the conduct of the
utility’s principal business.

• Receipts from interest, dividends, and royalties from sources
within New York State.

In determining gross income receipts, include cash, credits, and
property of any kind or nature without any deductions for the cost
of property sold, the cost of materials used, labor, services, or
other costs, interest or discount paid, or any other expenses,
except those exclusions and deductions provided for with respect
to lines 21, 24, and 41.

Profits included in gross income include the following:
• Profits from the sale of securities that are held, managed, or

controlled within New York State.
• Profits from the sale of real property within New York State.
• Profits from the sale of personal property within New York

State that are not part of the utility’s stock in trade.
• Profits from any transaction (except sales for resale and

rentals) within New York State.

Do not deduct gross income received from a financial resource
asset, unless you attach to Form CT-186-P a certificate issued by
the New York State Department of Public Service, verifying this
deduction.

Article 2-I of the general city law provides for certain rebates of
charges for energy in revitalization areas of New York City.
However, nothing contained in Article 2-I shall be construed as
reducing the amount of the gross income subject to tax under
section 186-a of the Tax Law.

Special rules for landlords
Sales to landlords — Gross income also includes receipts from
utility services to a landlord for resale to a tenant for consumption
or use by the tenant as incident to the landlord’s renting of
premises to the tenant, even though such sales are not for ultimate
consumption by the landlord. Utility services means the furnishing
of gas, electricity, steam, water, or refrigeration, and services
directly connected to the furnishing of gas, electricity, steam, water,
or refrigeration. Include receipts from the sale of gas or electric
services on line 19. Include receipts from the sale of steam, water,
or refrigeration services on lines 26 through 31.

Line 4 — Enter the amount of the power for jobs tax credit that you
are claiming. A power for jobs tax credit is available to qualified
electric corporations that are local distribution companies during
calendar years 1997 through 2005. To claim the power for jobs tax
credit, a taxpayer must attach to Form CT-186-P a certificate from
the Department of Public Service verifying the correctness of the
calculation of the tax credit shown on this return. The power for
jobs tax credit does not apply to the MTA surcharge
(Form CT-186-P/M).

Line 6b — First Installment for the next period — If you did not
file Form CT-5.9, and the tax amount shown on line 5 is more than
$1,000 but not more than $100,000, you must pay a mandatory first
installment of estimated tax for the next tax period. Enter 25% of
the total tax amount shown on line 5.

If you did not file Form CT-5.9, and the tax amount shown on line 5
is $100,000 or more, you must pay a mandatory first installment of
estimated tax for the next tax period. Enter 30% of the total tax
amount shown on line 5.

Additional Installments of Estimated Tax (Form CT-400) — If
you expect your tax for the next period to exceed $1,000, you must
file Form CT-400 and pay the additional installments of estimated
tax due on June 15, September 15, and December 15.

Line 10 — If you underpaid your estimated tax for 2002, use
Form CT-222, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by a Corporation, to
compute the penalty. Attach Form CT-222, check the box, and enter
the amount of penalty on line 10. If no penalty is due, enter “0” on
line 10.

Line 11 — If you do not pay the tax on or before the original due
date (without regard to any extension of time for filing) you must
pay interest on the amount of the underpayment from the original
due date to the date paid. Exclude from the interest computation
any amount shown on line 6a or 6b, first installment of estimated
tax for the next period. You may call the Business Tax Information
Center for the current interest rate or to have the interest computed
for you. See Need help? on page 6.

Line 12 — Compute additional charges for late filing and late
payment on the amount of tax minus any payment made on or
before the due date (with regard to any extension of time for filing).
Exclude from the penalty computation any amount shown on line
6a or 6b, first installment of estimated tax for the next period.

A. If you do not file a return when due, or if the request for
extension is invalid, add to the tax 5% per month up to 25%
(section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

B. If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the
addition to tax in item A cannot be less than the smaller of
$100 or 100% of the amount required to be shown as tax
(section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

C. If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax
½% per month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

D. The total of the additional charges in item A and C may not
exceed 5% for any one month, except as provided for in item
B above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a
statement to your return explaining the delay in filing, payment, or
both (section 1085).

Line 18 — Collection of debts from your refund — We will keep
all or part of your refund if you owe a past-due, legally enforceable
debt to the IRS or to a New York State agency. This includes any
state department, board, bureau, division, commission, committee,
public authority, public benefit corporation, council, office, or other
entity performing a governmental or proprietary function for the
state or a social services district. We will refund any amount over
your debt.

Note: If you wish, we will compute the interest (line 11) and
penalty (line 12) for you. Call the Business Tax Information Center
at 1 800 972-1233.
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Sales to tenants by landlords — If all utility services purchased
by a landlord for resale included the section 186-a tax, then the
landlord is not required to complete Form CT-186-P.

If any utility services purchased by a landlord for resale to tenants
did not include the section 186-a tax, then you must compute
lines 19 and 26 through 31 as follows:

• Receipts derived by a landlord from the resale of utility
services to a tenant are deemed to be equal to the landlord’s
cost of the same service (including any associated
transportation cost). Include these amounts on lines 19 and
26 through 31; do not include the markup billed to the
tenants.

• If the tax under section 186-a was included on the purchase
of utility services by the landlord, then the landlord may
deduct the cost of the same service (including any
associated transportation cost) on lines 19 and 26 through
31. If the tax under section 186-a was not included on the
purchase by the landlord, then do not deduct this cost.

Computation of gross income
Part I — Computation of receipts from the sale of gas
and electric service of whatever nature
Line 19  — Taxpayers who have receipts from the sales of gas or
electric service of whatever nature within New York State must
complete lines 19 through 25. Gross income on line 19 includes the
following:

A. Receipts from the sale of gas or electric service of whatever
nature.

B. Receipts from transportation, transmission, or distribution of
gas or electricity by means of conduits, mains, pipes, wires,
lines, or the like. These receipts, no matter how denominated,
are equivalent to the noncommodity charges for gas or
electric service of whatever nature.

C. Receipts from the sale of the commodity of gas or electricity
when sold through mains, pipes, or wires for ultimate
consumption or use within New York State.

D. Receipts from gas or electric services rendered within
New York State that are performed in the conduct of the utility’s
principal business. See line 29 for a listing of receipts included in
this line.

E. Receipts from the sale of merchandise from gas or electric
service within New York State that are part of the utility’s
stock in trade. See line 30 for a listing of receipts included in
this line.

F. Other receipts from gas or electric sales made or services
rendered within New York State that are derived from the
conduct of the utility’s principal business. Receipts include
but are not limited to:
— Receipts from the sale of residuals and by-products that

are consumed or used in New York State.
— Receipts from transportation or transmission agreements,

such as contract carriage and lease operating
agreements, where the utility uses its mains, pipes, or
wires within New York State to transport or transmit a
commodity owned by the purchaser that is not a utility.
See Special rules for landlords above.

In determining gross income receipts, include cash, credits, and
property of any kind or nature without deductions for the cost of
property sold, the cost of materials used, labor, services or other
costs, interest, discount paid, or any other expenses. Include as
gross income on line 19 sales for resale of items A, B, D, E, and F
above where a utility has passed on its section 186-a tax to you
and you resell that service. You may deduct from gross income, on
line 21, your cost of services resold by you that were included as
gross income on line 19, items A, B, D, E, and F above.
Do not include on line 19 receipts from the following:

• Cash discounts taken by the customer.

• Uncollectible accounts.

• Taxes imposed by New York State or its municipalities or the
federal government, when the taxpayer is merely a collection
agency for the taxing authority (for example, state and local
sales taxes and federal excise taxes).

Do not include on line 19 receipts from utility services included on
lines 26 through 31. See Special rules for landlords on page 3.

Line 20 — Enter receipts from the sale of the commodity of gas or
electricity when sold through mains, pipes, or wires for ultimate
consumption or use within New York State that were included on
line 19.

Line 21 — Where a utility has passed on its section 186-a tax to
you and you resell that service, you may deduct your cost of the
service resold by you. Enter your cost of services resold by you
that were included as gross income on line 19, items A, B, D, E,
and F above.

Line 23 — Compute receipts from transportation, transmission, or
distribution of gas or electricity by means of conduits, mains, pipes,
wires, lines, or the like by subtracting line 20 from line 19.

Line 24 — Exclusions allowed from the receipts on line 23:

• Sales of transportation, transmission, or distribution of gas or
electricity by means of conduits, mains, pipes, wires, lines, or
the like to a:

— utility (excluding a public authority) supervised by
New York State or another jurisdiction when an element of
such supervision includes rate regulation; or

— municipality that owns and operates facilities that are used
to generate or distribute electricity or distribute gas and
that distributes and sells this electricity or gas solely at
retail, solely within its jurisdiction; or

— public authority of New York State when that public
authority is primarily engaged in the generation and
transmission or distribution of electricity or gas and at
least 95% of the assets are so devoted.

• Sales of transportation, transmission, or distribution of
electricity to a municipality when the electricity being
transported has been purchased by that municipality, and
has been generated solely by and purchased solely from
New York State or a public authority of New York State
(New York State Power Authority), and when the municipality
sells solely at retail, solely within its jurisdiction, the electricity
being transported, transmitted, or distributed.

• Sales of transportation, transmission, or distribution of gas or
electricity to not-for-profit corporations and associations
organized and operated exclusively for religious, charitable,
or educational purposes, described in section 1116(a)(4) of
the Tax Law, when that organization resells the
transportation, transmission, or distribution as part of a
bundled gas or electric service as landlord to its tenants in
buildings owned by that organization.

In addition, for calendar tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2002, 25% of your receipts received from nonresidential customers
representing the noncommodity charges for gas or electric service
(receipts from the transportation, transmission, or distribution of
gas or electricity) must be excluded from gross income.

The term nonresidential customers means those customers whose
use of gas, electricity, or gas or electric service does not qualify for
the reduced rate of sales and compensating use tax on residential
gas, electricity, or gas or electric service, under section 1105-A of
the Tax Law.

Enter all exclusions listed above that are included as receipts on
line 19. Attach a statement listing all deductions. See Special rules
for landlords on page 3.
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Part II — Computation of receipts from steam, water, and
refrigeration utility services
Lines 26 through 31 — Taxpayers who sell steam, water, or
refrigeration that is delivered through mains, pipes, or wires, for
ultimate consumption or use within New York State must complete
lines 26 through 31. Enter, for each type of commodity sold for
ultimate consumption or use within New York State, the receipts
from those sales without any deductions. See Special rules for
landlords on page 3.

Do not include on lines 26 through 31 receipts from the following:

• Receipts from sales for resale (if your utility has passed on its
section 186-a tax to you and you resell the service, you may
deduct your cost of the service resold by you).

• Cash discounts taken by the customer.
• Uncollectible accounts.
• Taxes imposed by New York State or its municipalities or the

federal government, when the taxpayer is merely a collection
agency for the taxing authority (for example, state and local
sales taxes and federal excise taxes).

Line 29 — Enter all receipts (without any deductions) from services
rendered within New York State that are directly connected with the
sale of steam, water, or refrigeration for ultimate consumption or
use within New York State. Receipts include but are not limited to:

• Receipts from installation charges.
• Receipts from service charges (other than installation) that

are performed in the conduct of the utility’s principal
business.

• Receipts from “rentals” within New York State that in fact
constitute service charges (for example, receipts received
from equipment necessary to enable the customer to use the
commodity). See Special rules for landlords on page 3.

Line 30 — Enter receipts (without any deduction) from sales of
merchandise (conditional or otherwise) within New York State that
are directly connected with the sale of steam, water, or
refrigeration, for ultimate consumption or use within New York
State. Sales of merchandise includes materials and supplies that
constitute stock in trade of the utility and are included in
merchandise inventory. Receipts include but are not limited to:

• Receipts from the sale of merchandise to the utility’s
customers.

• Receipts from the sale of merchandise to other utilities.
• Receipts from the sale of merchandise to employees (except

work supplies such as clothing, shoes, and helmets).
Do not include receipts from the sale of merchandise when the
merchandise does not constitute stock in trade and is not included
in merchandise inventory (that is, items of fixed assets such as
fixtures, furniture, or machines).

Line 31 — Enter any other receipts (without any deduction) from
steam, water, or refrigeration sales made or services rendered
within New York State that are derived from the conduct of the
utility’s principal business. Receipts include but are not limited to
receipts from the sale of residuals and by-products that are
consumed or used in New York State.

Part III — Receipts from interest and dividends allocated
to New York State
Line 33 — Enter receipts from interest and dividends from sources
within New York State, without any deduction for any expense
incurred in connection with the receipt. Do not include interest and
dividends received from any of the following:

• A corporation, the majority of whose voting stock is owned by
the taxpaying utility.

• Obligations of the United States; any state, territory, or
possession of the United States; or the District of Columbia.

• Obligations of a foreign country.
• Any obligation from any political subdivision or governmental

instrumentality of any of the above.

Compute receipts from interest and dividends from sources within
New York State that are received from corporate and noncorporate
entities. Enter in column A the name of the entity that paid the
interest or dividend. Enter in column B the type of security (that is,
stock, bond, or interest-bearing cash account). Enter in column C
the amount of interest or dividends received. Enter in column D the
issuer’s allocation percentage of the corporation that issued the
security (always enter the issuer’s allocation percentage from the
year immediately preceding the current tax year). Use the issuer’s
allocation percentage to compute the amount of interest and
dividends allocated to New York State in column E.

Issuer’s allocation percentages for corporate entities can be
obtained from tax services publications, from the Tax Department
Web site (www.tax.state.ny.us), or by written request to: NYS Tax
Department, Taxpayer Assistance Bureau, W A Harriman Campus,
Albany NY 12227.

Up to three issuer’s allocation percentages may be obtained by
calling toll free 1 800 972-1233. From areas outside the U.S. and
outside Canada, call (518) 465-6800.

In the event the entity that issued the security was not a corporate
entity, the amount of interest or dividends allocated to New York
State is determined by the percentage of capital employed in
New York State by the payer of the stock, bond, interest-bearing
cash account, or other security, for the year immediately preceding
the current tax year. Attach a statement showing the computation of
the payer’s capital employed in New York State, as compared to
total capital employed everywhere.

Line 34 — Enter receipts from royalties from sources within
New York State without any deductions incurred in connection with
the receipt. Royalties include all amounts received by the utility for
the use of patents or copyrights, whether or not such patents or
copyrights were issued to or are owned by the utility. A patent or
copyright is used in New York State to the extent that the activities
under the patent or copyright are carried on in New York State.

Part IV — Computation of profits
Line 36 — Enter profits (that is, the gross selling price minus the
basis without any further deductions) from the sale of securities
that are held, managed, or controlled within New York State.

Securities includes shares of stock in any corporation; certificates
of stock or interest in any corporation; securities issued by
governmental bodies; and securities issued by corporations of a
like nature as stock and bonds that are sold in the open market or
on a recognized exchange, designed as a means of investment,
and issued for the purpose of financing corporate enterprises and
providing a distribution of rights in, or obligations of, such
enterprises.

Include profits from the sale of any tax exempt securities such as
those of:

• The United States, any state, territory, or possession of the
United States.

• The District of Columbia.
• Any foreign country.
• Any political subdivision or instrumentality of any of the

above.
Include profits from the sale of securities of an affiliated company
and profits from the sale of reacquired stock (treasury stock).

Except for a block transaction, losses from sales of securities may
not be applied against profits from the sale of securities. A block
transaction is a single sale where sales of the same security are
made in several lots (for example, a utility carries a block of 10,000
shares of the same securities of a corporation in its portfolio and
orders its broker to sell the entire block; the fact that the broker
executes the order by disposing of the block in several lots does
not change the essential nature of the transaction and make it
more than one sale).
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Need help?
Telephone assistance is available from 8 a.m. to

5:55 p.m. (eastern time), Monday through Friday.

For business tax information, call the
New York State Business Tax
Information Center: 1 800 972-1233

For general information: 1 800 225-5829

To order forms and publications: 1 800 462-8100

From areas outside the U.S. and
outside Canada: (518) 485-6800

Fax-on-demand forms: Forms are
available 24 hours a day,
7 days a week. 1 800 748-3676

Internet access: www.tax.state.ny.us

Hotline for the hearing and speech impaired:
1 800 634-2110 from 8 a.m. to 5:55 p.m. (eastern
time), Monday through Friday. If you do not own a
telecommunications device for the deaf (TDD), check with
independent living centers or community action programs
to find out where machines are available for public use.

Persons with disabilities: In compliance with the
Americans with Disabilities Act, we will ensure that our
lobbies, offices, meeting rooms, and other facilities are
accessible to persons with disabilities. If you have
questions about special accommodations for persons
with disabilities, please call 1 800 225-5829.

If you need to write, address your letter to:
NYS TAX DEPARTMENT
TAXPAYER CONTACT CENTER
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

Line 37 — Enter profits (that is, the gross selling price minus the
basis without any further deductions) from the sale of real property
within New York State in which the utility owns or has an ownership
interest.

Line 38 — Enter profits (that is, the gross selling price minus the
basis without any further deductions) from the sale of personal
property within New York State that does not constitute stock in
trade of the utility and is not included in merchandise inventory.
Profits include but are not limited to profits from the sale of fixed
assets such as fixtures, furniture, machinery, and equipment.

Do not include profits from the sale of merchandise (that is,
materials and supplies) that constitute stock in trade of the utility
and are included in merchandise inventory.

Line 39 — Enter profits (that is, the gross selling price minus the
basis without any further deductions, or, in the case of the sale of a
service, the gross selling price of the service minus the cost of the
service provided) from any transactions within New York State that
are not performed in the conduct of the utility’s principal business.
Do not include profits from sales for resale or profits from rentals.
Profits include but are not limited to:

• Profits from the sale of merchandise (that is, materials and
supplies) that do not constitute stock in trade of the utility and
are not included in merchandise inventory.

• Profits from labor not performed in the conduct of the utility’s
principal business.

• Profits from transportation or transmission agreements where
the utility uses its mains, pipes, or wires within New York
State to transport or transmit a commodity owned by another
utility.

Line 41 — Deductions allowed from profits on lines 36 through 39
are:

• Brokerage fees, legal fees, advertising fees, and other selling
expenses incurred due to the sale of securities, real property,
and personal property.

• Cash discounts taken by the customer.
• Uncollectible accounts.
• Taxes imposed by New York State or its municipalities or the

federal government where the taxpayer is merely a collecting
agency for the taxing authority (for example, state and local
sales taxes and federal excise taxes).

Enter all deductions listed above that are included as receipts on
lines 36 through 39. Attach a statement listing all deductions.

Part V — Computation of tax on gross income
Line 43 — The tax rates on gross income for line 43 are:

Tax year Rate
January 1, 2002, through December 31, 2002 2.4% (.024)
January 1, 2003, through December 31, 2003 2.25% (.0225)
January 1, 2004, through December 31, 2004 2.125% (.02125)
January 1, 2005, and thereafter 2.0% (.02)

Line 44 — The tax rates on gross income for line 44 are:

Tax year Rate
January 1, 2002, through December 31, 2002 1.9% (.019)
January 1, 2003, through December 31, 2003 .85% (.0085)
January 1, 2004, through December 31, 2004 .4% (.004)
January 1, 2005, and thereafter 0%

Line 45 — If the receipts on lines 22, 25, 32, 35, and 42 are less
than $500 total, you are exempt from the payment of tax under
section 186-a. However, you are required to complete and file
Form CT-186-P. Enter “0” on lines 1, 43, 44, and 45.

Privacy notification
The Commissioner of Taxation and Finance may collect and
maintain personal information pursuant to the New York State Tax
Law, including but not limited to, sections 171, 171-a, 287, 308,
429, 475, 505, 697, 1096, 1142, and 1415 of that Law; and may
require disclosure of social security numbers pursuant to
42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

This information will be used to determine and administer tax
liabilities and, when authorized by law, for certain tax offset and
exchange of tax information programs as well as for any other
lawful purpose.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to employees is
provided to certain state agencies for purposes of fraud prevention,
support enforcement, evaluation of the effectiveness of certain
employment and training programs and other purposes authorized
by law.

Failure to provide the required information may subject you to civil
or criminal penalties, or both, under the Tax Law.

This information is maintained by the Director of Records
Management and Data Entry, NYS Tax Department, W A Harriman
Campus, Albany NY 12227; telephone 1 800 225-5829. From areas
outside the United States and outside Canada, call
(518) 485-6800.


