New York State Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form IT-214
Claim for Real Property Tax Credit for Homeowners and Renters

IT-214-1

Real Property
Tax Credit

If your household gross income was $18,000
or less, you may be entitied to a credit on your
New York State income tax return for part of
the real property taxes or rent you paid during
1995. If you do not have to file a return, you
can file for a refund of the credit by using
Form IT-214 only.

Who Qualifies

Homeowners — o quality tor the real
property tax credit, you have to meet all of
these conditions for the taxable year 1995:

— your household gross income was $18,000
or less;

— you occupied the same New York
residence for six months or more;

— you or your spouse paid real property taxes
on your residence;

— you were a New York State resident for all
of 1995;

- you could not be claimed as a dependent
on someone else’s federal income tax
return;

-— your residence was not completely
exempted from real property taxes;

— the current market value of all your real
property (house, garage, land, etc.) was
$85,000 or less;

— any rent you received for nonresidential
use of your residence was 20% or less of
the total rent you received.

Renters — To qualify for the real property tax
credit, you have to meet all of these conditions
for the taxable year 1995:

— your household gross income was $18,000
or less;

— you occupied the same New York
residence for six months or more;

— you or your spouse paid rent for your
residence;

— you were a New York State resident for all
of 1995;

-— you could not be claimed as a dependent
on someone else’s federal income tax
return;

— your residence was not completely
exempted from real property taxes;

— the average monthly rent you and other
members of your household paid was $450

or less, not counting charges for heat, gas
electricity, furnicshings or hoard

If you meet all of these conditions as a
homeowner or renter, you are a qualified
taxpayer and may be entitled to the real
property tax credit.

You cannot file a real property tax credit claim
form for a taxpayer who has died.

Definitions

All who share your residence and its
furnishings, facilities and accommodations are
members of your household. whether they
are related to you or not.

Household members also include tenants,
subtenants, roomers or boarders if they are
related to you in any of the following ways:

— & son, daughter or a descendent of either;
— a stepson or stepdaughter;

— a brother, sister, stepbrother or stepsister;
— a father, mother or an ancestor of either;
— a stepfather or stepmother;

- a niece or nephew;

— an aunt or uncle;

— a son-in-law, daughter-in-law, father-in-law,
mother-in-law, brother-in-law or
sister-in-law.

No one can be a member of more than one
household at one time.

Household gross income is the total of the
following incuime iterns that you and all
members of your household received:

— Federal adjusted gross income (even if you
don't have to file a federal return).

— New York State additions to federal
adjusted gross income. For a list of these
additions, see Publication 22, General
Information on New York State's Real
Property Tax Credit for Homeowners and
Renters, or the instructions for Form
IT-201. For Form IT-200 filers, the New York
State additions to federal adjusted gross
income are shown on Form IT-200, line 9,
Public employee 414(h) retirement
contributions and line 10, IRC 125 amounts
from the New York City flexible benefits
program. See instructions for Form 1T-200.

— Any part of the following items of income
not included in either of the above:

— the gross amount of pensions and
annuities, including railroad retirement
benefits, all payments received under
the federal Social Security Act and
veteran’s disability pensions;

— support money, including foster care
support payments,

— income earned abroad exempted by
section 911 of the Internal Revenue
Code;

— supplemental security income (SSl)
payments;

— nontaxable interest received from New
York State, its agencies,
instrumentalities, public corporations or
political subdivisions;

-— WOrKers' compensation,

— the gross amount of loss-of-time
insurance. (For example, an accident or
health insurance policy and disability
benefits received under a “no-fault”
automobile policy, etc.);

—— cash public assistance and relief, other
than medical assistance for the needy.
(For example, cash grants to clients,
emergency aid to adults, value of food
vouchers received by clients, etc.) Do
not include amounts received from the
Home Energy Assistance Program

(HEAP);

— nontaxable strike benefits.

Household gross income does not include food
stamps, medicare, medicaid, scholarships,
grants, surplus food or other relief in kind. It
also does not include payments made to
veterans under the Federal Veterans’ Dioxin
and Radiation Exposure Compensation
Standards Act because of exposure to
herbicides containing dioxin (agent orange), or
pursuant to certain 2gent orange product
liability litigation.

A residence is a dwelling that you own or
rent, and up to one acre of land around it. It
must be located in New York State. If your
residence is on more than one acre of land,
only the amount of real property taxes or rent
paid that applies to the residence and only one
acre around it may be used to figure the
credit. (If you do not know how much rent or
real property tax you paid for the one acre
surrounding your rosidonco, contact your local
assessor.) Each residence within a multiple
dwelling unit may qualify. A condominium, a
cooperative or a rental unit within a single
dwelling is also a residence.

A trailer or mobile home that is used only for
residential purposes is also a residence.

Real property taxes paid are all current, prior
and prepaid real property taxes, special ad
valorem levies and assessments levied and
paid upon a residence owned or previously
owned by a qualified taxpayer (or spouse, if
the spouse occupied the residence for at least
six months) during the taxable year. You may
elect to include real property taxes that are
exempted from tax under section 467 (for
persons 65 and older) of the Real Property
Tax Law (veterans’ tax exemption does not
qualify). If you do not know this amount,
contact your local assessor.

Real property taxes paid also include any real
estate taxes allowed (or which would be
allowabie if the taxpayer had filed return on a
cash basis) as a deduction for
tenant-stockholders in a cooperative housing
corporation under section 216 of the Internal
Revenue Code.

If any part of your residence was owned by
someone who was not a member of your
household, include only the real property taxes
paid that apply to the part you and other
qualified members of your household own.

If your residence was part of a larger unit,
include only the amount of real property taxes
paid that can be reasonably applied to your
residerice.

If you owned and occupied more than one
residence during the taxable year, add
together the prorated part of real property
taxes paid for the period you occupied each
residence.

Rent constituting real property taxes paid is
25% of the adjusted rent paid on a New York
residence during the taxable year. Adjusted
rent is the rent paid after subtracting any
charges for heat, gas, electricity, furnishings or
board. If these charges are not separately
stated, complete lines 22 through 25 of Form
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IT-214 to figure 25% of adjusted rent. Do not
include any subsidized part of your rental
charge in adjusted rent.

If any part of your residence was rented by
someone who was not a member of your
household, include in line 22 of Form iT-214
only the amount of rent you and members of
your household paid.

If you moved from one rented residence to
another rented residence during the taxable
year, add 25% of adjusted rent paid for each
residence.

Which Form to File

To claim the real property tax credit, complete
Form IT-214, Claim for Real Property Tax
Credit, and attach it to Form |T-200 or Form
IT-201. (You cannot claim this credit on Fast
Form IT-100.) if neither you nor your spouse
has to file a New York return but you qualify to
claim the credit, just file Form IT-214 to claim
your credit payment.

If more than one member of your household
qualifies for the credit, each must file a
separate Form IT-214. However, if you are
married and filing a joint tax return, you must
file a joint claim on Form IT-214.

When to File

If you are filing a New York State income tax
return, attach Form IT-214 to it. File your New
York State income tax return as soon as you
can after January 1, 1996, but not later than
April 15, 1996. (If you are required to file your
1995 federal return at the IRS Service Center
in Andover, Massachusetts, the filing deadline
for your 1995 New York return is

April 16, 1996.)

If you don’t have to file a New York State
income tax return, filc Form IT-214 as soon as
you can after January 1, 1996.

If you have previously filed Form IT-200 or
Form IT-201 without claiming the real progerty
tax credit, you may still be able to claim the
credit. To claim the credit, file Form IT-214 as
soon as you can, but no later than

April 15, 1999.

Filing Form IT-214 for
Past Years

If you did not file Form IT-214 for previous
years, you may still be able to receive a real
property tax credit for those years. To see if
there is still time for you to file Form IT-214,
see the table below:

Year Last Date to File
1992 April 15, 1996
1993 April 15, 1997
1994 April 15, 1998

Need Help?

For answers to your New York State tax
questions, call toll free (from New York State
only) 1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829).
From areas outside New York State, call
(518) 438-8581. Telephone assistance is
available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m. Monday
through Friday.

We will answer your tax questions if you call
us, but we cannot fill in your return for you.

You can get help filling in your return from:

— Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA)
and Tax Counseling for the Elderly (TCE).
Volunteers will give free help to lower
income, elderly, handicapped and
non-English-speaking individuals. Watch for
VITA and TCE information in your
community or call the toli-free telephone
number listed above for the location of the
volunteer assistance site nearest you.

— Senior citizens centers; contact center for
dates and times.

— Social service agencies.

Hotline for the Hearing and
Speech Impaired

If you have a hearing or speech impairment
and have access to a Telecommunications
Device for the Deaf (TDD), you can get
answers to your New York State tax questions
by calling 1 800 634-2110 toll free from
anywhere in the U.S. (including Alaska and
Hawaii) and Canada. Hours of operation are
from 8:30 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. Monday through
Friday If you do not own a TDD, check with
independent living centers or community action
programs to find out where machines are
available for public use.

Persons with Disabiiities — In compliance with
the Americans with Disabilities Act, we will
ensure that our lobbies, offices, meeting rooms
and other facilities are accessible to persons
with dicabilities. If you have questions about
special accommodations for disabled persons,
please call the numbers listed under Need
Help? on this page.

Line Instructions —
Form IT-214

Print or type the information requested in the
name and address box at the top of the front.
Enter your name, address, social security
number and county of residence as of
December 31, 1995, Married taxpayers enter
both social security numbers. On the bottom
line of the name and address box, enter the
address of the New York residence that
qualifies you for this credit if it is different from
your mailing address. If not, enter the word
same on this line.

Filling in your claim form

You may notice that Form 1T-214 for 1995 has
been redesigned. The design changes on this
form will let us use the latest scanning and
image-processing equipment. Rectangular
boxes and white entry areas have been printed
on the form to guide you in making your
handwritten entries. This will enable our
scanning equipment to more accurately read
your return and let us process it mare
efficiently. Please spend a moment reviewing
the method below for making your entries:

— Please print (using a blue or black ballpoint
pen; no pencils, please) or type all “X"
marks and money amounts in the boxes or
spaces provided.

— Do not use dollar signs, commas, decimal
points, dashes or any other punctuation
marks or symbols. All necessary
punctuation has been printed on the form.

— Wirite your numerals like this:

NREICNEARELE

— Carefully enter your money amounts so
that the whole dollar amount ends
immediately to the left of the cents decimal
and the cents amount starts immediately
to the right of the cents decimal.

— Make your money amount entries in the
white areas allowing one numeral for each
box.

Example: If your entry for line 10 is $3,525.50,
your money field entry should look like this:

giol | [3[5[2]5][slo]

— Leave blank any spaces and boxes
that do not apply to you.

Line 1

If you were a resident of a nursing
home or if your residence was
completely exempted from property
taxes in 1995, check the Yes box. If
not, check the No box.

Generally, residents of nursing homes
do not qualily fur this credil because
they share common living facilities (see
definition of members of household).
This situation usually disqualifies all
residents of a nursing home gince they
are all considered to be members of
one household which usually exceeds
the household gross income level of
$18,000 and the average monthly rent
level of $450. If you are a resident of a
nursing home and you check the Yes
box, do not file Form IT-214 unless you
attach a statement explaining how your
household does not exceed these two
limitations.

Some public housing projects are
completely exempt from paying real
property taxes. Residents of those
projects do not qualify for this credit.
Find out if your project is completely
exempt from paying real property taxes
by asking the management of your
project. If you live in a public housing
project and check the Yes box on line
1, do not file Form |T-214.

Line 2

Enter the number of members of your
household, including yourself, who are
filing a Form 1T-214 for 1995. Count a
joint claim filed by husband and wife as
one Form IT-214. See the instructions
for line 17 if more than one member of
your household is filing Form 1T-214.

Line 3

If any aqualified member of your
household was 65 or older on
December 31, 1995, check the Yes
box. If not, check the No box. Among
other conditions (see Who Qualifies), a
household member 65 or older must
have paid real property taxes or rent to
qualify for this credit. If you checked the
Yes box on line 3, indicating that you or
a member of your household was 65 or
older on December 31, 1995, enter the
social security number of that person in
the box Qualifying social security
number. Enter same if it is your social
security number.



Line 8

Check the appropriate box. If you owned your
residence for part of the year and rented your
residence for part of the year, check the Own
box.

Complete Schedule A or B
and Schedule C on the back
of Form IT-214 before
continuing with line 9.

Schedule A (Homeowners)

Enter on lines 18 and 19 any county, city,
town, village or school district taxes and
assessments that you and all qualified
members of your household paid during 1995
(do not include penalty and interes! charges).
Persons age 65 or older may enter on line 20
the amount exempted from taxation under
section 467 of the Real Property Tax Law (do
not include the veterans’ tax exemption).
However, if you choose to make an entry on
line 20, your credit, before limitation, will be
only 25% (instead of 50%) of your eligible real
property taxes. You may want to figure your
credit both ways to see which results in the
greater credit. Add lines 18 through 20 and
enter the total on line 21. Transfer this amount
to line 10 on the front of Form 1T-214.

Schedule B (Renters)

Enter on line 22 the total rent you and all
members of your household paid during 1995;
do not include any subsidized part of your
rental charge. Figure the amounts to be
entered on lines 23, 24 and 25. Transfer the
amount on line 25 to line 10, on the front of
Form IT-214.

If the monthly average of your adjusted
rent (line 24) was more than $450, stop; you
do not qualify for this credit.

Schedule C (Homeowners and
Renters)

List the name, social security number and year
of birlth of everyone, including yourself, who
lived in your household in 1995. If you need
more space, list additional names on a
separate sheet and attach it to Form 1T-214.
Enter in the boxes on line 26 the total number
of household members.

Figure your household gross income by
completing lines 27 through 34.

Enter on line 27 the total federal adjusted
gross income of you and all members of your
household. If you or any members of your
household do not have to file a federal return,
include the amount that would be included in
federal adjusted gross income if a federal
return had been required.

Enter on line 28 the total additions to federal
adjusted gross income required by section
612(b) of the Tax Law. For a list of these
additions, see Publication 22, General
Information on New York State's Real Property
Tax Credit for Homeowners and Renters, or
the instructions for Form |T-201. For Form
{T-200 filers, the New York State additions to
federal adjusted gross income are shown on
Form {T-200, line 9, Public employee 414(h)
retirement contributions and line 10, IRC 125
amounts from the New York City flexible
benefits program. See instructions for Form
IT-200. Include the total of these additions that
apply to you and all members of your

household, even if a New York State income
tax return is not required.

Enter on lines 29 through 33 the total of each
type of income you and all members of your
household received during 1995 that was not
included on lines 27 and 28.

If someone was a member of your household
for only part of the taxable year, include on
lines 27 through 33 the income he or she
received while a member of your household.

Add lines 27 through 33 and enter the total on
line 34. Round this amount to the nearest
whole dollar and transfer it to line 11 on the
front of Form 1T-214. If this amount is more
than $18,000, stop; you do not qualify for this
credit.

Line 9

If you qualify for an exemption from taxation
under section 467 of the Real Property Tax
Law and elect to enter this exemption on line
20, check the Yes box. If not, check the No
box.

Line 10

Real Property Taxes Paid or 25% of
Adjusted Rent Paid

If you owned your residence for all of 1995,
enter your real property taxes paid (from line
21) on line 10.

If you rented your residence for all of 1995,
enter 25% of your adjusted rent paid (from line
25) on line 10.

If you owned your residence for part of the
taxable year and rented your residence for
part of the taxable year, add 25% of your
adjusted rent paid (from Schedule B) to the
prorated part of any charges you list on
Schedule A. Enter the total on line 10.

Line 15

If you entered on line 20 any amount of taxes
not paid due to the exemption for persons 65
or older (section 467 of the Real Property Tax
Law), figure 25% of line 14 and enter the
result on line 15. If you did not make an entry
on line 20, figure 50% of line 14 and enter the
result on line 15.

Line 16
Credit Limitation

Using the following table, find your credit
limitation according to the amount of your
household gross income (line 11) and the age
of qualified household members (line 3). Be
careful to select your limitation from the proper
column.

if the And you checked:
amount on Yeg on line 3, No on line 3,

fine 11 is: enter on line 16: enter on line 16:
$* 0to 1,000 $375 $75
1,001 to 2,000 358 73
2,001 to 3,000 341 71
3,001 to 4,000 324 69
4,001 to 5,000 307 67
5,001 to 6,000 290 65
6,001 to 7,000 273 63
7.001 to 8,000 256 61
8,001 1o 9,000 239 59
9,001 to 10,000 222 57
10,001 to 11,000 205 55
11,001 to 12,000 188 53
12,001 to 13,000 171 51
13,001 to 14,000 154 49
14,001 to 15,000 137 47
15,001 to 16,000 120 45
16,001 to 17,000 103 43
17,001 to 18,000 86 41

* This may include a negative amount.
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Line 17
Real Property Tax Credit

The real property tax credit for your household
is the amount on line 15 or line 16 - whichever
is less. Enter the lesser amount on line 17.

If more than one member of your household is
filing Form I17-214, divide the line 17 amount
equally among all filers. You can divide the line
17 amount any way you want if you each
agree to the amount of your share and attach
a copy of the agreement to your Form (T-214.
Enter only your share of the line 17 amount on
your Form IT-214 (and on your return if you
have to file one).

If you are married and filing a joint Form
IT-214, you do not have to divide the credit.
However, if you do not want to apply your
share of a credit to a debt owed by your
spouse, you must also file Form IT-280,
Nonobligated Spouse Allocation (see
Collection of debts from your refund and
Disclaiming of spouse’s debt on the next

page).

If you are filing a 1995 New York State
income tax return, transfer your line 17
amount to Form 1T-200, line 34 or Form IT-201,
line 57.

Your credit will be subtracted from the amount
of tax you owe. Any amount over the tax you
owe will be refunded to you.

Sign Form IT-214 and attach it to the return
you are filing.

If you pay someone to prepare Form IT-214,
the paid preparer must also sign it and fili in
the other blanks in the paid preparer’s area. If
someone prepares Form IT-214 for you and
does not charge you, that person should not
sign it.

Failure of paid preparers to conform to
certain requirements - A penalty of $50 per
return or claim for refund will be assessed a
paid preparer for failure to comply with any of
the following requirements:

- failure to sign the tax return or claim for
refund;

- failure to include the identifying number of
the paid preparer (if an individual paid
preparer is an employee of an employer or a
partner is a partnership that is a paid
preparer, the return or claim for refund must
also include the identifying number of the
employer or partnership);

- failure to furnish a completed copy of the tax
return or claim for a refund to the taxpayer
not later than the time the return is presented
for the taxpayer’s signature;

- failure to keep a completed copy of the
return or claim for refund prepared for each
taxpayer or to keep the name and
identification number of each taxpayer for
whom a return or claim for refund was
prepared on a list and to make the copy or
list available for inspection upon request.

The period for keeping a completed copy of
the return or information on the list is three
years after the due date of the return (without
regard to extensions) or three years after the
date the return was presented to the taxpayer
for signature, whichever is later. The period
for keeping a completed copy of a claim for
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refund is three years from the time the claim
for refund was presented to the taxpayer for
signature.

For each of the requirements listed above, a
paid preparer may be subject to a maximum
penalty of $25,000.

If you are not filing a 1995 New York State
income tax return, sign and date Form IT-214
and mail it to:

STATE PROCESSING CENTER

ONE WATERVLIET AVE EXT

ALBANY NY 12261-0001

Your real property tax credit payment will be
mailed to you.

Collection of debts from your refund — We
will keep all or part of your refund if (1) you
owe a federal, New York State, New York City
or Yonkers tax liability; or (2) we have been
notified by the New York State Department of
Social Services that you owe past-due
support; or (3) you owe a past-due debt
because you have defaulted on (or a judgment
was filed against you because you have not
repaid) a student loan guaranteed by the New
York State Higher Education Services
Corporation or a Federal Perkins/National
Defense/National Direct, health professions or
nursing student loan provided to students at
state-operated units of the State University of
New York or the City University of New York.

We will also keep all or part of your refund if
you owe a past-due legally enforceable debt to
a New York State agency. This includes any
state department, board, bureau, division,
commission, committee, public authority, public
benefit corporation, council, office, or other
entity performing a governmentai or proprietary
function for the state.

Any amount over your debt will be retunded.

Disclaiming of spouse’s debt - If you are
married and you do not want to apply your
parl of the refund o your spouse’s debt
because you are not liable for it, fill in Form
1T-280, Nonobligated Spouse Allocation, and
attach it (not a photocopy) to your signed
return. If you do not have to file 2 return,
aftach it to Form IT-214. We need the
information on it to process your refund as
quickly as possible. Once you have filed your
return, you cannot file an amended return to
disclaim your spouse’s defaulted student loan
or past-due support liability or past-due legally
enforceable debt owed to a state agency.
(However, you will be notified if your refund is
applied against your spouse’s defaulted
student loan or past-due support or past-due

legally enforceable debt owed to a state
agency and you did not attach Form iT-280 to
your return. You will then have ten days from
the date of notification to file Form 1T-280.
However, this will result in a delay in your
refund and extra work for you.) For more
information, see Form IT-280.

If you have any questions about whether you
owe a past-due legally enforceable debt to a
state agency, contact that particular state
agency.

If you have any questions about whether you
owe a federal, New York State, New York City
or Yonkers tax liability, past-due support,
whether you have repaid your HESC
guaranteed or state or city university student
loan, or about the amount owed call or write:

[ For a federal tax liability only —

(518) 431-4556

IRS SPECIAL PROCEDURES FUNCTION
LEO O'BRIEN FEDERAL BUILDING
CLINTON AND NORTH PEARL STREETS
ALBANY NY 12207

(718) 488-9150

INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE
POROX A1 GPO
BROOKLYN NY 11202

1 800 829-1040

INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE

P O BOX 1040 NIAGARA SQUARE STATION
BUFFALO NY 14202

(212) 732-0100

INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE
625 FULTON STREET
BROOKLYN NY 11201

O For a New York State, New York Cily
or Yonkers tax liability only —

1 800 835-3554

(from the continental U.S. only)
From all other areas, call
(518) 482-0778

NYS TAX DEPARTMENT

TAX COMPLIANCE DIVISION
W A HARRIMAN CAMPUS
ALBANY NY 12227

{3 For past-due support only —

(518) 473-8029

NYS DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
OFFICE OF CHILD SUPPORT ENFORCEMENT
FISCAL OPERATIONS UNIT

P O BOX 14 - ONE COMMERCE PLAZA
ALBANY NY 12260

[1 For NYS HESC guaranteed student
loans only —
1 800 666-0991
NYSHESC
99 WASHINGTON AVENUE
ALBANY NY 12255

O For State University student loans only —

(FEDERAL PERKINS/NDSUHPSL/NSL ONLY)
(518) 443-5626

STUDENT LOAN SERVICE CENTER

STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK

SUNY PLAZA

ALBANY NY 12246

[ For City University student loans only —
(212) 397-5620
FEDERAL PERKINS/NDSL/NSL DEPARTMENT
ROOM 1420
CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK
UNIVERSITY ACCOUNTING OFFICE
555 WEST 57TH STREET
NEW YORK NY 10019

Privacy Notification

The right ol the Commissioner of Taxation and
Finance and the Department of Taxation and
Finance to collect and maintain personal
information, including mandatory disclosure of
sacial security numbers in the manner required
by tax regulations, instructions and forms, is
found in Articles 22, 23, 26, 26-A, 26-B, 30, 30-A
and 30-B of the Tax Law, Article 2-E of the
General City Law and 42 USC 405(c)(2)(C)(i).

The Tax Department will use this information
primarily to determine and administer tax
liabilities due the state and city of New York and
the city of Yonkers. We will aiso use this
information for certain tax offset and exchange of
tax information programs authorized by law, and
for any other purpose authorized by law.

Information concerning quarterly wages paid to
employees and identified by unique random
identifying code numbers to preserve the privacy
of the employees’ names and social security
numbers will be provided to certain state
agencies for research purposes to evaluate the
effectiveness of certain employment and training
programs.

Failure to provide the required information may'
result in civil or criminal penalties, or both, under
the Tax Law.

This information will be maintained by the
Director of the Data Management Services
Bureau, NYS Tax Department, Building 8 Room
905, W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227,
telephone (from New York State only) 1 800
CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829); from areas outside
New York State call (518) 438-8581.



