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New York Department of Taxation and Finance

Instructions for Form MT-903
Highway Use Tax Return

Please keep
for your
records.

Who Must File a Return

If you have been issued a highway use permit or you operate a
motor vehicle (as defined in Article 21 of the Highway Use Tax Law)
in New York State, you must file Form MT-903, Highway Use Tax
Return, even if no tax is due.

Form MT-903 is filed monthly, quarterly or annually, based on the
amount of the previous full year’s tax liability:
Monthly - more than $4,000
Annually - $250 or less (with Tax Department approval)
Quarterly - all others, including carriers not subject to tax in the
preceding calendar year.

We will send you Form MT-903. If you do not receive Form MT-803,
contact NYS Tax Department, Taxpayer Services Division,
W A Harriman Campus, Albany NY 12227.

If you need help, call toll free (from New York State only)
1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York
State, call (518) 438-8581.

Telephone assistance is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:25 p.m,,
Monday through Friday.

When and Where to File

File your return by the last day of the month following the end of the
reporting period. The date of the US postmark will be considered to
be the date of delivery for returns and payments.

Mail your return and payment (payable to the Commissioner of
Taxation and Finance) to PO. Box 1913, Albany, NY 12201-1913, in
the envelope provided. Your payment should be the full amount on
Section III, line 4.

General Instructions

Form MT-903 has three sections: Section I (Mileage Tax), Section II
(Fuel Use Tax) and Section I1I (Total Amount Due). Refer to the
three boxes to the right of the name and address space. Complete
the sections checked with an “X.”

If any of the preprinted information on the front of Form MT-903 is
incorrect, complete Form DTF-95, Change of Business Information,
and attach it to your return. If you do not have this form, call toll free
(from New York State only) 1 800 462-8100; from areas outside New
York State, call (518) 438-1073. Do not change any preprinted data
or use another form.

Section I — Truck Mileage Taxes

Complete items 1, 2a, 2b, 2¢, 2d and 2e on the front of the
return and Schedule A and Schedule B on the back of the
return.

Item 1 - Check the appropriate box to indicate which method you
are using to compute the mileage tax—the gross weight method or
the unloaded weight method. Choose the method that best suits
your operations; one may be more economical or convenient for you.
The two methods are described in the instructions for Schedules A
and B that begin on page 2. If this is the first return filed for the
calendar year, you may use either method; otherwise, you must use
the same method that you used on the first return filed for the
calendar year. If you use the gross weight method, you may use
either the straight line option or the heaviest weight option for any
return filed during the calendar year. You must use the same
method for all motor vehicles. Piease note that the gross weight of a
tOViII truck does not include the weight of any disabled vehicle it
pulis.

Use the tables on the back of Form MT-903 to compute the tax. Use
Tables 1, 2 and 3 if you chose the gross weight method and Tables
4 and 5 if you chose the unloaded weight method. The tax rates per
mile and the basis for computing the mileage tax for the two
methods differ. The highest rate per mile to be used with both
Schedule A and Schedule B under the unloaded weight method is
.033, whereas under the gross weight method the rate is graduated
without limitation.

Item 2a - Complete Schedule A on the back of Form MT-803 and
enter the total tax from Column (4). See the instructions for
Schedule A that begin on page 2.

Item 2b - Complete Schedule B on the back of Form MT-903 and
enter the total tax from column (7). See the instructions for Schedule
B that begin on page 2.

ltem 2¢ - Add items 2a and 2b and enter the result in item 2c.

Item 2d - You may take credit for prior mileage tax (TMT)
overpayment. Do not enter more than the amount of tax reported in
item 2c. You may apply any unused portion of the prior overpayment
against the fuel use tax due this quarter on line 11, or if no tax is
due, against any mileage tax, fuel use tax or penalty and interest
that may be due within two years from the date of the overpayment.
For a refund of TMT overpayments, file Form DTF-406, Claim for
Refund, separately.

Item 2e - Subtract the amount in item 2d from the tax reported in
item 2c and enter the difference.

Section II - Fuel Use Tax
On the front of Form MT-903, check one box (a, b, ¢ or d).

Check box a if you are an intrastate carrier and if all motor vehicles
operated on the public highways of New York State used only fuel
upon which New York State fuel and sales taxes have been paid.
Enter none on line 12. If a motor vehicle is operated outside New
York State, you may compute a credit by checking box (d) and
completing lines 1-12.

Check box b if you did not operate a motor vehicle on New York
State public highways during the reporting period. Enter none on
lines 2 and 12.

Check box c if you leased motor vehicles and the fuel use tax will
be paid by someone else. If you only have New York State highway
use permits for automotive fuel carrier trailers and will not be
reporting the fuel use tax incurred by power units because those
permits are issued in another name, check box (¢) and enter no
power units on line 2, and none on line 12.

Check box d if you operated a motor vehicle on New York State
public highways or otherwise incurred taxable mileage. Complete
lines 1 through 12.

Line 1 - Enter the total miles traveled both inside and outside New
York State by motor vehicles, including buses that entered the state
during the reporting period. Include miles traveled by tractors with
no trailers. Use whole miles.

Line 2 - Enter the total miles traveled in New York State during the
reporting period. Include miles traveled on the New York State
Thruway and miles traveled by tractors with no trailers. Use whole
miles. Enter none if you checked box b. Enter no power units if you
checked box c.

Line 3 - Divide line 2 by line 1 and enter the decimal ratio. Carry to
the nearest four decimal places (.0001).

Line 4 - Enter the total gallons of fuel used in operations both inside
and outside New York State by motor vehicles that entered the state
during the reporting period. Include fuel used on the New York State
Thruway. Use whole gallons.

Line 5 - Multiply the number of gallons on line 4 by the decimal
ratio on line 3 and enter the result. This is the number of gallons of
fuel used in operations within New York State. Use whole gallons.

Line 6 - Enter the total number of gallons of fuel purchased tax paid
(fuel upon which New York State fuel and sales taxes have been
paid) in New York State during the reporting period for use in
operations both in and outside this state. Tax-paid fuel does not
include fuel sold to another entity, fuel put into a vehicle that is
being reported by another (e.g., a leased vehicle), or fuel that has
not been transferred to the fuel tanks of motor vehicles. Use whole
gallons.

Line 6a - If line 5 is more than line 6, subtract line 6 from line 5. If
line 6 is equal to or more than line 5, enter “0” on this line.

Line 6b - If line 6 is more than line 5, subtract line 5 from line 6. If
line 5 is equal to or more than line 6, enter “0” on this line.

Lines 7a and 7b - Multiply line 6a, column (a) by the aggregate tax
rate shown on the return and enter the result on line 7a.

Muitiply line 6a, column (b) by the aggregate tax rate shown on the
return and enter the result on line 7b.
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If you maintain substantiating records, you may compute the sales
tax components for diesel and other motor fuel based on the
average price per gallon of these fuels used during the reporting
period instead of using the prevailing price sales tax component
included in the aggregate tax rate shown on the return. To compute
the sales tax components separately for diesel fuels and for other
motor fuels:

1. Determine the total cost of fuel used during the reporting period,
including federal, state and local taxes, but not including any
state or local sales taxes.

2. Divide this amount by the total number of gallons of fuel you
purchased for use in your operations (either inside or outside
New York State) to arrive at the average price per gallon.

3. Compute the sales tax component by multiplying the average
price per galion by 7% (rounding to the nearest tenth of a cent;
eg., 08753 = .088).

4. Subtract the sales tax component included in the aggregate tax
rate imprinted on the return and add the resulting sales tax
component.

If the rates you calcuiated are different from the preprinted rates on
the return, indicate your rates in the boxes on lines 7a and 7b, and
use them in computing the fuel use tax liability.

Line 7c - Add lines 7a and 7b.

Line 8a - Multiply line 6b, column (a) by the tax rate shown on the
return. Credit for sales taxes paid on fuel purchased in New York
State but not used in New York State is not allowable.

Line 8b - Multiply line 6b, column (b) by the tax rate showr: on the
return. No credit is allowed for sales taxes paid on fuel purchased in
New York State but not used in New York State.

Line 8c - Add lines 8a and 8b.

Line 9 - If line 8¢ is more than line 7c, subtract line 7c from line 8c.
The balance is a credit accrued this reporting period and may be
carried forward and applied against any fuel use tax liability accrued
within the following 24-month period. If a tax similar to the fuel tax
component is paid to another state, you may apply for refund. File
Form MT-906, Claim for Fuel Use Tax Refund, within 24 months from
the end of the reporting period which created the refund. The refund
will reduce your fuel use tax credit on a gallon per gallon basis at
the fuel tax component rate.

Line 10 - If line 7c is more than line 8c, subtract line 8c from line
7c. This is the tax due this period.

Line 11 - If you have a prior fuel use tax or mileage tax credit, enter
the amount needed to satisfy any fuel use tax liability shown on line
10. Only unused fuel use tax credits and unused mileage tax credits
may be applied to the tax due. Fuel use tax credits expire 24
months after the end of the return period from which the credit was
derived, and the mileage tax credits expire 2 years after the
payment was made. Note, however, that fuel use tax credits from tax
returns (line 9) covering a period ending before January 1, 1991,
could only be used in the 4 succeeding calendar quarters.

Line 12 - Subtract line 11 from line 10. This is the amount of fuel
use tax due for the reporting period. If there is no fuel use tax due,
enter “0” on this line. Enter none if you checked box a, b or c.

Section III - Total Tax Due

Line 1 - Add the amount in Section I, box 2e, and the amount on
Section 11, line 12. This is the combined total tax due.

Line 2 - If you are not filing this return on time, enter the amount of
penalty.

Penalty is imposed at the rate of 10% of the tax due for the
first month or fraction of a month and 1% for each
following month or fraction of a month in which the tax
remains unpaid, up to a maximum penalty of 30%.

If your return is more than 60 days late, the penalty is the
lesser of the tax due or $100, but not less than the penality
computed in the preceding paragraph. .

Line 3 - Interest is computed at the rate set by the Commissioner of
Taxation and Finance and is compounded daily. It is |
computed from the day the tax was due until the day the
tax is paid. If you need help figuring interest, call toll free
(from New York State only) 1 800 CALL TAX
(1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York State, call
(518) 438-8581.

Line 4 - Add lines 1, 2 and 3. This is the amount due.

Attach a check or money order for this amount payable to
the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance.

Certification

Sign and date the return and enter your title. Only the taxpayer or
an authorized agent may sign the return.

Schedules A and B

Use Schedules A and B to report New York State travel for which
you are responsible. The tax rate used for Schedule B is the same
as that used for Schedule A. Enter the tax from Schedules A and B
in Section I, items 2a and 2b respectively.

Reportable miles on Schedule A include all truck and tractor travel
in New York State.

Reportable miles on Schedule B include all travel included in
Schedule A except travel on the Thruway subject to a toll, and travel
during any month by trucks and tractors used almost exclusively in
the month to transport boltwood, logs, pulpwood, wood chips or bulk
raw milk if you operate three or fewer such vehicles. If you need
more than 20 lines, use Form TMT-3.13, Continuation Sheet for Truck
Mileage Tax Returns or a facsimile of Form TMT-3.13.

Almost exclusively means that 90% or more of a motor vehicle’s
monthly New York iaden miles, whether operated alone or in
combination, result from transporting logs, boltwood, pulpwood,
woodchips or raw unprocessed milk in bulk. If you use a motor
vehicle for more than 10% of the motor vehicle’s New York laden
miles during any month for any other purpose, all mileage traveled
on New York State highways by the motor vehicle during the month
is taxable and must be reported on Schedule B.

Logs are unshaped timber over six feet long, ready for sawing and
commonly used for making lumber. Boltwood is short log sections,

six-feet long or less, to be sawed or cut, and commonly used for
specialized items, as in the case of the wood-turnery industry.

Pulpwood is wood for pulp commonly used in making paper.
Woodchips are small, usually thin, flat pieces of wood cut, struck or
flaked that are commonly used in making composition board and
pulp.

Do not report bus mileage on Schedules A and B.

Follow the instructions for Schedules A and B for the method you
will be using. Include only the trucks and tractors on which you are
paying tax. Instructions for the gross weight method begin below;
instructions for the unloaded weight method are on page 4.

Gross Weight Method

If you use the gross weight method, you must use it for every truck
and tractor with a gross weight of more than 18,000 pounds
operating on New York State public highways during the reporting
period.

You may use either the straight line option or the heaviest weight
option for any tax period of a calendar year in which you use the
gross weight method. You must use the same option for all trucks
and tractors required to be included in the return. The election to
use the heaviest weight option is irrevocable for any tax period in
which it has been used.

Instructions for the heaviest weight option begin on page 3.



Gross Weight Method, Straight Line Option

Instruotions for Schedule A

Column (1) - List the current permit number of each truck and each
tractor you operated on New York State public highways during the
reporting period for which you will pay the mileage tax.

First list all tractors with a gross weight of more than 18,000 pounds.
Enter the permit number of a tractor twice if it operates in New York
State both with and without a trailer, dolly, cart, compressor or other
attached device.

Next list all trucks with a gross weight either alone or in
combination, of more than 18,000 pounds. Enter the permit number
of a truck twice if it operates in New York State both with and
without a trailer, dolly, cart, compressor or other attached device and
its gross weight, both alone and in combination, is more than 18,000
pounds.

Finally list tractors and trucks with a gross weight of more than
18,000 pounds for which permits were issued to another carrier and
you are paying the tax. Head this group Motor Vehicles Operated
on Permits of Others.

Do not list motor vehicles that incurred no tax. Accourit for them by
entering Other Permitted Motor Vehicles Incurred No Tax.

Also do not list motor vehicles for which the mileage tax will be paid
by others. Account for them by entering Other Permitted Motor
Vehicles Will Be Reported by Others.

Column 2a - Enter the gross weight shown on the highway use tax
permit for each vehicle in column 1 except:
- a tractor that operated alone (enter “0”’)

- a truck that operated alone but which occasionally operated with
a trailer (for its listing with a trailer, enter the gross weight of the
combination as shown on the permit; for its listing alone, enter
the gross weight of the truck only)

Column 2b - Enter the total laden miles traveled on New York State
public highways by each vehicle in column 1. Laden miles are those
traveled by a vehicle with a load or any part of a load.

Column 2c - Determine the tax rate for each vehicle based on its
gross weight in column 2a using Tax Table 1, Laden Miles - Tractors
and Trucks.

Column 2d - Multiply laden miles in column 2b by the tax rate in
column 2c.

Column 3a - Enter the unloaded weight shown on the highway use
tax permit for each vehicle listed in column 1, except a truck-trailer
combination if both were unloaded (enter the unloaded weight of the
truck plus the unloaded weight of the heaviest trailer drawn by the
truck).

Column 3b - Enter the total unladen miles traveled on New York
State public highways by each vehicle listed on the return.

Column 3c - Determine the tax rate for each vehicle based on its
unloaded weight shown in Column 3a using Tax Table 2, Unladen
Miles - Tractors, and Tax Table 3, Unladen Miles - Trucks. (Use Tax
Table 3 for tractors operating alone.) Do not enter a tax rate or
compute tax on any tractor with an unloaded weight of 7,000 pounds
or less or on any truck with an unioaded weight of 18,000 pounds or
less.

Column 3d - Multiply uniaden miles in column 3b by the tax rate in
column 3c.

Column 4 - For each vehicle, add the amounts in column 2d and
column 3d.

Total each column (2b, 2d, 3b, 3d, 4) and the amounts from Form
TMT-3.13, if any. Enter the column 4 total in Section I, item 2a.

Instructions for Schedule B
Column 5b - For each vehicle enter the reportable laden miles
included in item 2b of Schedule A.

Column 5c - Enter the same rate you entered in column 2c.

Column 5d - Multiply the miles in column 5b by the tax rate in
column 5c¢.

Column 6b - For each vehicle enter the reportable unladen miles
traveled on New York State public highways.
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Column 6¢ - Enter the same rate you entered in column 3c.

Column 6d - Multiply the miles in column 6b by the tax rate in
column 6c.

Column 7 - For each vehicle add the amounts in column 5d and
column 6d.

Total each column (5b, 5d, 6b, 6d, 7) and the amounts from Form
TMT-3.13, if any. Enter the column 7 total in Section 1, item 2b.

Gross Weight Method, Heaviest Weight Option
Instructions for Schedule A

Column 1 - List the current permit numbers of motor vehicles with
the heaviest gross weight and the motor vehicles with the heaviest
unloaded weight that were operated on New York State public
highways during the reporting period. In determining the heaviest
gross weight or the heaviest unloaded weight, take into account only
the trucks, tractors, trailers and other attached devices owned by,
interchanged with or leased to you that were operated on New York
State public highways during the reporting period on which you are
reporting and paying the taxes.

List permit numbers in the following order:

1. The truck with the heaviest gross weight.

. The tractor with the heaviest gross weight.

The truck with the heaviest untoaded weight it different from (1).
The tractor with the heaviest unloaded weight if different from (2).

The tractor with the heaviest unloaded weight that operated
without trailers.

6. The truck-trailer combination with the heaviest gross weight
(unloaded weight of the truck plus the unloaded weight of the
heaviest trailer or combination of trailers drawn by the truck plus
the heaviest load carried or drawn by the truck-trailer
combination).

o NN

7. The truck-trailer combination with the heaviest unloaded weight
(unloaded weight of the truck plus the unloaded weight of the
heaviest trailer drawn by the truck) if different from (6).

Column 2a - Enter the gross weights of the truck with the heaviest
gross weight, the tractor with the heaviest gross weight and the
truck-trailer combination with the heaviest gross weight listed in
column 1.

Column 2b - Enter the total laden miles traveled on New York State
public highways by all vehicles in each category for which you made
an entry in column 2a.

Column 2¢ - Determine the tax rate for each vehicle based on its
gross weight shown in Column 2a using Tax Table 1, Laden Miles -
Tractors and Trucks.

Column 2d - Multiply the laden miles in column 2b by the tax rate
in column 2c.

Column 3a - Enter for the vehicles listed in column 1 the unloaded
weights of the truck with the heaviest unloaded weight, the tractor
with the heaviest unloaded weight, the tractor with the heaviest
unloaded weight that operated alone, and the truck-trailer
combination with the heaviest unloaded weight.

Column 3b - Enter the total unladen miles traveled on New York
State public highways by all vehicles in each category for which you
made an entry in column 3a. Enter only the miles for tractors that
operated alone with an unloaded weight in excess of 18,000 pounds
next to the appropriate permit number listed in column 1. Do not
enter miles for trucks with an unloaded weight of 18,000 pounds or
less or for other tractors with an unloaded weight of 7,000 pounds or
less.

Column 3¢ - Determine the tax rate for each category of vehicles
based on the unloaded weight of the vehicle entered in column 3a.
For tractors which operated with empty trailers, use Tax Table 2,
Unladen Miles - Tractors.

For trucks and truck-trailer combinations use, Tax Table 3, Unladen
Miles - Trucks.
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For tractors that operated without trailers, use Tax Table 3, Unladen
Miles - Trucks.

Column 3d - Multiply the uniaden miles in column 3b by the tax
rate in column 3c.

Column 4 - For each vehicle, add the amounts in column 2d and
column 3d.

Total each column (2b, 2d, 3b, 3d, 4). Enter the column 4 total in
Section I, item 2a.

Instructions for Schedule B

Column 5b - For each vehicle, enter the reportabie laden miles
included in column 2b of Schedule A.

Column Sc - Enter the same rate you entered in column 2c.

Column 5d - Multiply the miles in column 5b by the tax rate in
column 5c¢.

Column 6b - For each vehicle, enter the reportabie unladen miles
included in column 3b of Schedule A.

Column 6c¢ - Enter the same rate you entered in column 3c.

Column 6d - Multiply the miles in column 6b by the tax rate in
column 6c¢.

Column 7 - For each vehicle, add the amounts in column 5d and
column 6d.

Total each column (5b, 5d, 6b, 6d, 7). Enter the column 7 total in
Section I, item 2b.

Unloaded Weight Method

If you elect the unloaded weight method, you must use it for every
truck having an unloaded weight of over 8,000 pounds and every
tractor having an unloaded weight of over 4,000 pounds operating on
New York State public highways during the reporting period.

Instructions for Schedule A

Column 1 - List the current permit numbers of the trucks and
tractors that operated on New York State public highways during the
reporting period in the following order:

1. Trucks for which you hold permits.

2. Tractors for which you hold permits.

3. Trucks or tractors for which permits were issued to another carrier
and you are paying the tax. Head this group Motor Vehiclgs
Operated on Permits of Others.

*

Do not list motor vehicles that incurred no tax. Account for them
by entering Other Permitted Motor Vehicles Incurred No .Tax.

Also do not list motor vehicles for which the mileage tax will be paid
by others. Account for them by entering Other Permitted Motor
Vehicles Will Be Reported by Others.

Columns 2a through 2d - Leave blank.

Column 3a - Enter the unloaded weight for each vehicle listed in
column 1.

Column 3b - Enter the total miles traveled on New York State public
highways by each vehicle. Include all mileage, whether the vehicle
traveled with a load or not.

Column 3¢ - Based on the unloaded weight in column 3a,
determine the tax rate for each truck using Table 4, Table of Tax
Rates for Unloaded Weight Basis Trucks and the tax rate for each
tractor using Table 5, Table of Tax Rates for Unloadec Weight Basis
Tractors.

Column 4 - Multiply the taxable miles in column 3b by the tax rate
in column 3c).

Total columns 3b and 4 and the amounts from Form TMT3.13, if any.
Enter the column 4 total in Section I, item 2a.

Instructions for Schedule B
Columns 5b through 5d - Leave blank.

Column 6b - For each vehicle, enter the reportable miles included in
column 3b of Schedule A.

Column 6¢ - Enter the same rate you entered in column 3c.

Column 7 - Multiply the taxable miles in column 6b by the tax rate
in column 6c¢.

Total columns 6b and 7 and the amounts from Form TMT-3.13, if any.
Enter the column 7 total in Section I, item 2b.



