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New York State

s 4 Department of
Taxation

and Finance

Instructions for ST-809

(Part-Quarterly Sales Tax Return)

These instructions will help you complete your part-quarterly sales tax return, Form ST-809. If you need further assislance to complete this return, use
the telgphone numbers provided on Fa ge 4 of these instructions. You shéuld keep all records and other supporting documents used in completing your -

return for at least three years after fi

Who must file
You must file Form ST809 if, in any one of the previous four guarters:

— you have had total taxable receipis (including purchases subject to
use tax), rents and amusement charges of $300,000 or more

—Of—

— you are a distribufor ag defined under Article 12-A, selling moior
fuel andfor diesel motor fuel, and you have scld a total of 100,000
gallqns or more of this fuel (taxable or nontaxable).

Note: Importers and others registered under Article 12-A as distributors

of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel must not include on this return, Form

ST-809, or on the quartetly return for monthly filers, Form ST-810, any

- amounts reported on Form FT-845, Aeport of Sales Tax Prepayrent on

ﬁngoror Ilzuej, or Form FT-1045, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Diesel
otor Fuel. :

Detailed explanations of the Tax Law which affect persons selling
automotiva fuel can be found in Publication 881, Sales Tax Information
For Retail Seliers of Mofor Fuel, Publication 882, Sales Tax Information

- For Motor Fuel Distribufors, Jobbers and Wholesalers, Publication 884,
Information on Diesel Motor Fuel Legisiation, and Fublication 100, Notice
of New Legisiation Pertaining to Diesel Motor Fuel (including Heating

- Oil). (Publication 100 reflects the latest treatment of diesel motor fuel and
supersedes any conflicting information found in previous publications.)

'When to file

You must fite Form ST-809 for each of the first two months of every
quarterly reporting period and a quarterly return, Form ST-810, for the
‘third month. Returns are due 20 days after the month covered.

Two copies of Form ST-809 ars mailed to each person registered as a
monthly sales tax filer with the New York State Department of Taxation
_and Finance. Be sure to file the copy with the preaddressed label.

If the return you are submitting does not have a preaddressed label,
please complete the name and address portion inciuding your salss tax
identification number.

Enier the exact legal name of the business. For a corporation, use the
name as it appears on the Certificate of Incorporation; for an
unincorporated business, use the name in which the business owns
property or acquires debt; for a partnership, use the parinership name. A
sole proprietor must use the name of the individual owner.

Enter the trade name, doing-business-as name, or assumed name if
different from the legal name. For a corporation, it is the name that
appears on the trade name certificate filed with the New York State
-Depariment of State. In the case of a business which is not incorporated,
it is the name filed with the county clerk’s office pursuant to Section 130
of the General Business Law.

Enter the address of your actual business location, not the mailing
address. Include your business telephone number and the number at
which you can be reached during the day, if diffsrent.

If you, do not receive your returns by the first week of the month in which
they are due, request a dupticate by calling the appropriate telephone

.~ number listed on page 4 of these instructions or on the back of any
sales tax return. Late charges will not be reduced because a

- preaddressed form was not received.

How to file : .

Two mettiods are available for monthly filing: fong and short, If you have
filed returns for each of the four quarters immediately preceding the
month to be coversd you may elect to use the short method. Otherwise,
you must use the iong method.

Long method — You must report and pay actual state and local sales
and use taxes due for the month. Long method instructions begin on
page 2. :

ng and be able to produce them on request by the Commissioner of Taxation and Finance or his agenis.

Short mathod- — You must report and pay an amount equal to one-third. -
of the total state and local sales and use taxes which were due for the
comparable quarter of the prior year, adjusted to reflect any new,
increased or decreased local sales and use tax. Local taxes are reported
as pari of the total rather than separataly. Short method instructions

begin on page 3.

S$7-809.4 - Schedule NJ

if you are registerad under the New Jersey/New York Reciprocal Tax
Agreement you must attach this schedule to your return. Use Schedule
NJ to report the tax dus, if any, on deliveries of tangible personal
properly into New Jersey or services rendered in New Jersey. See the
Schedule NJ for instructions relating to that form.

8T-809.11 - Schedule CT

It you are registered under the Connecticut/New York Reciprocal Tax
Agreement you must attach this schedule to your refurn. Use Schedule -
CT to report the tax due, Iif any, on deliveries of tangible personal
property inlo Connecticut or services rendered in Connecticut. See the
Scheduie CT for instructions relating to that form.

Information to be completed by all filers

Change of husiness information — If there have been any changes-in
your business’ name, ID number, mailing address or business address,
telephone number or ownerlofficer/responsible person information, please :
complete Form DTF-95.1, Change of Business Information for o
Employers/Vendors, localed at the bottom of pages 3 and 4. Send ihe i
complsted form to: NYS Tax Department, Registration Section, -
Building 8, Room 408, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY
12227-0155. If there are no changes to the above information, keep this -
form in your files. If a change occurs, complete the form and send it
the address listed as soon as pessible. :

Type of business — Describe your principal business activity or type of .
business in the space provided {retail grocery, wholesale furniture, ete.).

Consolidated return — If you have more than one place of business,
and receipts from all business locations are consolidated in this return, -
chack the appropriate box. -

Signature — The return must be signed by the vendor or an authorized
officer or employse. An accountant, lawyer, or other professional

preparing the return must also 31gn it on the line designated “Slgnature
of preparsr, (if other than vendor).” .

Long Method

You are required to report and pay the total state and local sales and
use taxes due for the month. You must alse maintain complete records
sa that you are able to prepare and file a quarterly return’ (Form ST-810)
summarizing the three months’ business activities by locality. The

distribution to each locality must be shown on the quarterly return (Form -

ST-810) and Schedules A, B, FR, N and U, as necessary. Schedule NJ.
and Schedule CT must also be complaled if applicable.

Do not report the tax on lubricating oil (10¢ a quart} or the special
additional 5% taxes (hotel occupancies and passenger car rentals) on
the monthly ST-809 return. You must maintain records of and report and
pay these taxes with your quarterly return ST-810.

Summary of business activities
Notice to retall sellars of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel

Although you must report and remit the sales tax due on taxable sales
and self-use of motor fuel and diesel motor fuel on line 1 of Form
ST-808, you do not report these sales in Box A (gross sales and
serwces), Box B (taxable sales and services) or Box C (purchases
subject to use tax).
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Box A — Gross sales and services

Enter the total dollar value of sales made by the business, including
those exempt from sales tax {except motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel
sales as stated above). Do not include in this figure the amount of sales
{ax collected. Include sales made within New York State for delivery
inside or outside New York State, and sales made outside New. York
Gtate for defivery inside New York State. Exclude any sales made at
business locations outside New York State for delivery outside New York
State.

Box B — Texable sales and services .

Enter the total dollar value of sales subject to New York State and local
sales taxes (except motor fuel andfor diesel motor fuel saies as stated
above). Do not include New Jersey or Connecticut taxable sales as
reported on Part-Quarterly Schedule NJ, Form ST-809.4 and Monthly
Schedule CT, Form ST-809.11.

Box € — Purchases subject to use tax

Enier the total dollar value of purchases subjsct to use tax (except motor
fuel and/or diesel motor fuel use as stated above). The use tax includes,
among other taxable incidents, a tax on the use of tangiblg personal
property purchased at retail on which ne tax or insufficient tax was pald
at the time of purchase, including property used by the business in its
own operations when this property does not become part of a- product
for resale or does not qualify for a production exemption. Do not ihclude
New Jersey or Connecticut taxable sales as reported on Parf-Quarterly
Schedule NJ, Form ST-809.4 and Monthly Schedule CT, Form ST-809.11.

Line-by-line instructions

Line 1a — Sales and use taxes

Do not include on this line any amounts reported on Form F1-945,
Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel or Form FT-1045, Report
of Sales Tax Prepayment on Diesel Molor Fuel.

Do not take any credit on line 1a for prepaid sales iax on motor fuel or
diesel motor fuel that was sold or used during the month. (See line 1b
instructions.)

Enter the total of the state and local sales taxes due on taxable sales
and services and purchases of items and services subject to Lse tax,
less credits that can be identified with a specific locality (other than
economic development zone credit).

Substantiate credits that can be identified with a specific lotality by
altaching a statement expiaining the basis for the credit claimed and any
other supporting documentation (for example, credit for.tax péid by a
contractor on the purchase of materials which the contractor then used
in performing repairs on which he collected the tax}. Your substantiation
must include the taxing jurisdiction, rate of tax paid, and calculations
used to determine the amount of credit claimed,

Line 1b — Credit for prepaid sales tax .

— Registered distributors of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel —
Enter the amount of sales tax you prapaid either to your suppliers
or with your FT-845, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel,
or FT-1045, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Diesel Molor Fuet
on motor fuel or diesel motor fuel respectively which was sold at
retail (whether taxahle or nontaxable®) or used by you during the
month covered by this return.

* Exception: Credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel
motor fuel which was sold in bulk (i.e., seld through a marketing
lacation other than a retail service station) to an exempt purchaser
or delivered out of state to your customer should be claimed on
Form FT-945 ar Form FT-1045, respectively.

— All other selters, retailers and wholesalers of motor fuel and/or
diese! motor fuel — Enter the amount of sales tax prepeid to your
suppliers on motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sold or used during
the month covered by this return.

Line 1¢ — Net tax due
Subtract line 1b from line 1a and enter the difference.

Line 2a — Credits not identified ’

Enter the total amount of credits claimed against the tax other than the
cradits faken on lines 1a and 1b above.

Report economic development zone credits on this line and file Form
AU, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local Sales or Use
Tax separately from your return. Mall Form AU-11 and all substantiating
documentation to the address shown on the form. Be sure to indicate on
Form ALJ-11 the period of the return on which you ars taking the credit.

Enter the total of the economic development zone credits and any credits
that can be substantiated but cannot be identified with a specific locality.
You must substantiate all credits taken on this line. '

Line 2b — Advance payments

Enter the total amount of advance payments. Attach Form ST-330,
Record of Advance Payment, which was issued to you if you paid part of
your tax in advance. Do not include the prepayment of sales tax on
motor fuel or diesel motor fuel. These must be reported on Form FT-945,
for motor fusl and Form FT-1045 for diese! motor fuel.

Line 2¢c — Total
Add lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 — Sales and use taxes due
Enter.the amount on line 1c less any amount reporied ot ling 2¢.

Line 4 — Late filing charge

If you file your return or make payment after the due date, you must pay
a late filing charge which consists of pgnally and interest.

Penalty

For failure lo file a return on time, even if no tax is due, the penalty is
$5000. For failure to file a return on time with tax due, the penalty
depends on fow late the form is filed:

— 1-60 days lale: The penally is 10% of the tax due for the
first month plus 1% of the tax due for sach month thereafter, but in
no instance less than $50.00. )

— &1 or more days late: The penalty is the greatest of the following
three amounts:

1. 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the tax
due for each month thereafter not to exceed 30%, or

2. the lesser of $100.00 or 1009 of the tax due, or
3. $50.00.

Ihterest

Interest is computed at the rate as determined pursuant to Section 1142
of the Tax Law and Is compounded daily. Call the Taxpayer Assistance
ifumber listéd on page 4 to get the current rate.

Line 5 — Amount.due
Enter the amount on line 3 plus any amount on fine 4.

Notiée to Schedule NJ and Schedule CT filers — If you report tax due
on eithei Schedule NJ (51-809.4) or Schedule CT {ST-809.11) send only
one check payable te New York State for the amount due New York and
New Jersey or New York and Connecticut. If you rsport tax due on both
the schedules, include the total due all three states (New York, New
Jersey and Connecticut) in one check payable to New York State. Do not
under any circumstances offset an averpayment from ohe state against
the tax due the other.

Short Method

Line 1a — Comparable quarter — Prior year

Enter the total state and local sales and use taxes which were due
(befare deducting credits or advance paymenis) for the comparable
guarterly reporting pericd of the preceding year, adjusted to reflect any
new, increased or decreased local sales and use taxes.

Notice to vendors who file Schedule- FR — When entering the “total
state and focal taxes which were dug for the comparable quarter of the
previous year,’ you must include the amount reported on Line A, cal. {g)
of the Schedule FR filed for the comparable quarter. The” amount entered
ori Line A is the amount of taxes reported on motor fusl andfor diesel
fuel before deducting the credit for prepaid sales tax on sither of these
fuels.

Return for Use comparable
month ending: quarterly period:
March 31

March 1 - May 31
April 30
June 30

June 1 - August 31
July 31
Septerﬁber 30

September 1 - November 30
October 31

December 31
H December 1 - February 28 (29)
January 31




Adjustments

If this return includes taxable sales or purchases subject to use tax for
&qpy locality which either enacled a local sales and use tax or increased

! decreased its rate after the close of the comparable quarter, prior
,ear. the amount entered on line 1a must include an adjustment to reflect
the new local rateés. See Short Method Adjustment on page 4.

Line th — Tax due (¥ of the amount on line 1a)

Divide amount entered on line 1a by 3 and enter the result.

Line 1c — Credit for prepaid sales tax

— Registered distributors of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel —
Enter the amount of sales tax you prepaid either to your suppliers
or with your FT-845, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Motor Fuel,
or FT-1045, Report of Sales Tax Prepayment on Diesel Motor Fuel
on mator fuel or diesel motor fuel respectively which was sold at

“retail {(whether taxable or nontaxable*) or used by you during the
monih covered by this return.

* Exception: Credit for prepaid sales tax on motor fuel or diesel
mofar fuel which was sold in bulk {i.e., sold through a marketing
location other than a retail service s!atton) to an exempt
purchaser or delivered out of state to your customer should he
claimad on Form FT-945 or Form FT-1045, respectively.

— Al other sellers, retailers and wholesalers of moter fuel and/or

- diesel motor fuel — Enter the amount of sales tax prepaid to your
suppiiers on molor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel sold or used during
the month -covered by this return.

Line 1d — Net tax due
Subtract line’ 1c from line 1b and enter the difference.

Ling 2a — Credits

_Enter the total amount of cradits claimed against the tax other than the
credit claimed on line 1¢ above.

R

Heport Economic’ Development Zone credits on this line and file Form
AU-11, Application for Credit or Refund of State and Local Salas or Use
Tax separately from your return. Mail Form AU-11 and ali substantiating
documentation to the address shown on the form. Be sure to indicate on
Form AU-11 the period of the return on which you are taking the credit.

Other credits reported on line 2a must be substantiated by attaching a
statement explaining the basis for the credit claimed and any other
supporting documentation (for example, a claim for credit by a contractor
for tax paid by him on the purchase of materiais which he then used in
performing repairs on which he collected the tax}. Your substantiation
must include the taxing jurisdiction, rate of tax paid and calculations
used to determine the amount of credit claimed.
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Line 2b — Advance payments

Enter the total amount of advancé payments. Altach Form ST-330,
Record of Advance Payment, which was issued to you if you paid part of
your tax in advance. Do not include the prepayment of sales tax on
motor fust or diesel motor fuel. These must be reported on Form FT-945
for motor fuel and Form FT-1045 for diesel motor fuel.

Line 2¢ — Total
Add lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 — Sales and use taxes due
Enter the amount on line 1d less any amount reported on line 2¢.

Line 4 — Late filing charge

if you must file your return or make payment after the due date, you
must pay a tate filing charge which consists of penaity and interest.

Penalty

For failure to file a return on time, even if no 1ax is due, the penalty is
$50.00. For failure to file a return on time with tax due, the penalty
depends on how late the form is filed:

— 1-80 days late: The penaity is 10% of the tax due for the first
month plus 196 of the tax due for each month thereafter, but in no
instance less than $50.00.

— 61 or more days late: The penalty is the greatest of the following
three amounts:

1. 10% of the tax due for the first month plus 1% of the tax due
for each month thereafter not to exceed 30%, or

2. the lesser of $10000 or 100% of the tax due, or
3. $50.00. '

Interest

Interest is computed at the rate as determined pursuant to Section 1142
" of the Tax Law and is compounded daily. Call the Taxpayer Assnstance
“number listed on page- 4 to gét the current rate.

Line 5 — Amount due
Enter the amount on line 3 plus any amount reported on ling 4.

Notice to Schedule NJ and Schedule CT filers — If you report tax due
on either Schedule NJ (ST-808.4) or Schedule CT (ST-809.11) send only
one check payable to New York State for the amount due New York and
New Jersey or New York and Cennecticut. If you report tax due on both
the schedules, include the total due all three states (New York, New
Jersey and Connecticut) in one check payable to New York State. Do not
under any circumstances offset an overpayment from one state agamst
the tax due the other.

...................... T - 1| 0 1= N
' Change of Business Information for Employers/Vendors

_ [f there have been any changes in your business' name, identification number, mailing or business address, tslephone number or
ownaerlofficer/responsible person information, please complete this form. Mail to: NYS Tax Department, Registration Section, Building 8, Room

408, W, A. Harriman Campus, Albany, NY 12227-0155.

Old information:

10 number:
Name:

New Information: Effective date:
ID number:

Phone number:

Leagal name:

Trade name (DBA, etc.):

Business address:

Mailing address: ’

Reason for change:

Business tax records which should be changed: [ Corporation Tax [] Highway Use Tax L[] Motor/Diesel Fuel Tax

[0 sales and Use Tax [ Withholding Tax [ Other:

DTF-05.1 (2/80)

Tax type Account number
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Short Method Adjustment

When a local rate has been mcreasad or decreased, muluply the total taxable sales and purchases subject to use tax reported for th*

" focality in the comparable quarter by the difference between the new and old rates. If a new local tax was enacted since the end of .
prior comparable quarter, use current records to estimate taxable sales and purchases subject to use tax in that locality for three

" -months and multiply this amount by the new local tax rate. Tetal the adjustments for all such localities and add this amount o or

subtract it from the taxes due for the comparable quarter last year, Enter this adjusted total on line 1a. List the names of the Iocalities

and the amount of the adjustment for each on the front of the return in the lower left corner.

Examples:

The City “Y” increased its local tax and the County “D” decreased Its local tax. If a vendor reported taxable sales for City "Y' in the priar
year’s comparable quarter and sales were also made in County “D” during that quarter, the adjustments would be computed as follows

Combined Rate

o Current Increase Taxable o )
Locality* Combined Rate - Comparable Guarter {Decrease) % Sales"" = _Adj_us_imgm"
City “¥” . ' 7% 6% 1% $250,000 $2,600
Gounty “D” 5% 7% {2%0). 3,000 ’ __ (BO!

i -f:l'otai adjustménts to be added to comparable prior year's quarter ..........

$2440

S * Enter information in these two columns on the front of the return in the lower Isft corner.

** Includes purchases subject to use tax.

Notlce Our authority to require this parsonaj information, mcluding
identifying numbers fsocial security numbers, ele.) i found in sections
1134, 1136, 1137-A, 1142, 1251 and 1253 and Articles 28 and 29 of the Tax
Law in general and regulatlons for sales and use taxes in- subchaptar J,
-Tille 20 NYCRR. .

We will use this information. primarily to datermme New York State gnd
Jocal sales and use tax liabilities under Articles 26 and 29 of the Tax Law.
We will also use it for tax administration purposes and ag necessary under
;!‘ax Law seclions 1146 and 1250, and for any other purpose authorized by
aw.

Your failure to provide the required infermation may result in clyil and!qr
eriminal penalties under sections 1134, 1145, 1250 and 1817 of the Tax

‘Law and Parts 533 and 536 of the ragulatlons for sales and use {axes.

Our authority fo maintain this information is foungd in saqtlons 1136(d)
1146(e) and 1250 of the Tax Law. This information will bg maintalned by
the weclor Data Management Services Bureau, MYS Tax Deparment
Building B, Room 905, W. A. Harriman Campus, Albﬂnvs NY 12227;
telephone (from New York State ordy) 1 80O CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829),
from OUtSIde New York State, call (518) 438-8581.

If you need help .. ..

Phone

. Telephone assistance is available from 8 a.m. to 5 p. m.
Monday through Friday.

For forms or publications

Call toil free from New York State only
From areas outside New York State, cail
For information

Call toll free from New York State only

1 800 462-8100
518 438-1073

1 800 CALL TAX
{1 800 225-5829)

. From areas outside New York State, call 518 438-8581

Write

If you need to write, address your letter to:
MYS8 Tax Department
Taxpayer Assistance Bureau
W.A. Harriman Campus
Albany, NY 12227

C‘ut Here

Enter the new ownerloﬁlcerlresponsmle person Information below if there have been any changes.

Ownerlofficeriresponsible person % Qwnership | Title

Effective date| Social security number

Home address (number and strest) “City, village, post office

Yy CELAIAL e |

State ~ZIP code Telephone numbar

{ )

Qwnerfofficer/responsible person % Ownership | Title

Effective date | Social security number

Home address {number and slfeet) City, village, post oifice

State ZIP code Telephone number

{ )

Owneriofficer/responsible person % Qwnerehip] Title

Effective date | Social security number

Home address (number and'stree'l) " City, village, post office

State ZIP code Telsphone number
()
Ownerfofficar/responsiblte person | % Ownearship| Title Effective date|.Soclal securlty number
Home address (number and street) City, village, post office ~ State ZIP code Telephone number

( ) S o

DTF-95.1 (2/90) (back)




