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Instructions for Form CT-186

Tax Law - Article 9, Section 186

Who Must Flle

Anyone who is taxable under Article 9, Section 186 must file Form
CT-186. This includes corporations, joint-stock companies, associations or
publicly traded partnerships formed for or principally engaged in the
business of supplying electricity, water, steam, or gas when delivered
through mains or pipes. The tax is computed on gross earnings received
from January 1 to December 31, 1989, and on dividends paid during the
same period. You must report income for the calendar year even if you
maintain your records and report to the IRS using a fiscal accounting
period.

When and Where to File

Mail completed returns to: NYS Corporation Tax, Processing Unit, P.O.
Box 1909, Albany, NY, 12201-1909 on or before March 15, 1990.

If you cannot meet the filing deadline, ask for a three-month extension of
time by filing Form CT-59 and paying any tax due on or before March 15,
1990. An extension of time granted by the IRS to file a federal tax return
does not extend the due date for filing Form CT-186.

Change of Business Information — If there have been any changes in
your business name, 1D number, mailing address, business address,
telephone number or owner/officer information, complete the enclosed
Form DTF-95, Change of Business Information. If your address has
changed, check the box next to the name and address on the form. If
you need a form, call 1 800 462-8100 (from out of state (518) 438-1073) to
request one. Also, if your mailing address has changed, check the box
to the right of the name and address section of your return.

Declaration and Payment of Estimated Tax (Sec. 197-a, 197-b)

If your 1989 tax is more than $1,000, you must pay a mandatory first
installment equal to 25% of that tax.

If your 1990 tax liability can reasonably be expected to exceed $1,000,
you must also make a declaration of estimated tax for the current year.
File your declaration of estimated tax (Form CT-400) on or before June 15
each year.

The estimated tax less mandatory first installment paid with this return is
payable in three equal installments due June 15, September 15 and
December 15.

Real Property Gains Tax (Article 31-B, Section 1449-a)

A corporation with an interest in real property located in New York must
keep a record of the transfer of its stock and report annually every
transfer of a controlling interest in its stock and any other information
necessary for the enforcement of Article 31-B.

Controlling interest of a corporation is either 50 percent or more of the
total combined voting power of all classes of stock or 50 percent or more
of the capital, profits or beneficial interest in that voting stock.

If you answered “Yes” to both questions on page one, attach a separate
sheet with the following information:

* Name, address and identification number of the new controlling
stockholder, (use social security number for individuals and federal
employer identification number for corporations).

e Date transfer was made.
¢ Location of real property.

Foreign Corporations — Maintenance Fee and License Fee

A corporation organized outside New York State that is authorized to do
business in New York must pay an annual maintenance fee of $300. This
fee may be claimed as a credit against the taxes due under Article 9,
except the license fee imposed by Section 181. If the total taxes
(excluding the installment for 1990) on Form CT-186, CT-186-A or CT-186-P
for December 31, 1989 are more than $300, you have satisfied the
requirement to pay a maintenance fee. if the total taxes payable
(excluding the installment for 1990) are less than $300, add the
difference to line 9 of Form CT-186 to produce a total tax and fee of $300
pius the installment for 1990.

Foreign corporations must also file a report of license fee (see Form
CT-240, Report of License Fee).

Metropolitan Transportation Business Tax Surcharge

Any corporation taxable under Article 9 that does business in the
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District must file Form CT-186-M
and pay a tax surcharge. The MCTD includes the counties of New York,
Bronx, Kings, Queens, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange, Putnam,
Rockland, Suffolk and Wostchester.

Line A — After completing your return, enter the amount of your
payment. Your payment should be the full amount shown on line 15.
Line 6 — You may take a credit against your franchise tax for any
special additional mortgage recording tax you paid. This credit may not
reduce your tax below the minimum tax, or if you are an authorized
foreign corporation, it may not reduce the tax below the $300
maintenance fee. You may carry any unused credit forward. Attach Form
CT-43, Claim for Special Additional Mortgage Recording Tax Credit.

Line 8b — If the amount on line 7 is more than $1,000, you must pay a
mandatory first instaliment of your 1990 tax. Enter 25% of the tax shown
on line 7.

Line 9 — Add lines 7 and 8a or 8b. Foreign Authorized Corporations —
If your total taxes due with Forms CT-186, CT-186-A and/or CT-186-P for
December 31, 1989 are less than $300, add the difference to the tax due
on this form and enter the total on line 9. Attach computation.

Tax due Example:

Form CT-186 $125.00

Form CT-186-P 50.00

Total 1989 tax $175.00

Maintenance fee 300.00
Balance of maintenance fee due $125.00
Tax due on Form CT-186 125.00
Enter on line 9 $250.00

Line 10 — Enter the total of all 1989 estimated tax payments and any

overpayment carryover from preceding periods.

Line 12 — If you do not pay the tax on or before the due date (without

regard to any extension of time), you must pay interest on the amount of

the underpayment from the due date to the date paid. You may call the

Taxpayer Assistance Bureau for the current rate or to have the interest

computed for you. Call toll free (from New York State only)

1 800 CALL TAX (1 800 225-5829). From areas outside New York State

call (518) 438-8581.

Line 13 — Additional charges for late filing are computed on the amount

of tax less any payment made on or before the due date. )

a. If you do not file a return when due or if the application for extension
is invalid, add to the tax 5% per month up to 25% (section
1085(a)(1)(A)). »

b. If you do not file a return within 60 days of the due date, the addition
to tax cannot be less than the smaller of $100 or 100% of the amount
required to be shown as tax (section 1085(a)(1)(B)).

c. If you do not pay the tax shown on a return, add to the tax 2% per
month up to 25% (section 1085(a)(2)).

d. The total of the additional charges in a and ¢ may not e_axceed 5% for
any one month, except as provided for in b above (section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges, attach a

statement to your return explaining the delay in filing and/or payment

(section 1085).

Schedule A - Computation of Gross Earnings Tax and Allocation
Percentage/Issuer’'s Allocation Percentage

On lines 21 through 24, enter gross earnings attributable to New York

State in Column A and total gross earnings everywhere in Column B.

Gross earnings are all receipts from the employment of capital without

any deductions.

Your issuer’s allocation percentage is used by corporate shareholders

to compute their corporate franchise tax. It represents the amount of

New York State gross earnings compared to gross earnings from

everywhere.

Recent amendments to the Tax Law require most corporations doing

business in New York State to provide the information needed to

compute their issuer’s allocation percentage. A penalty of $500 will be

imposed for faiture to provide this information.

A taxpayer paying the minimum tax must also complete this schedule

and compute their issuer’s allocation percentage.

Schedule B - Computation of Allocated Dividend Tax

Line 29 — The actual amount of paid-in capital is that part of the equity
that was invested in the business enterprise by shareholders.

Line 30 — If dividends are paid once a year, include the value of the
capital on the declaration date. If dividends are declared and paid more
than once a year, the value of capital on which these dividends were
paid must be averaged by computing the value of capital on each
declaration date, and dividing by the number of dividend dates.

See TSB-M-82(8)C for additional information on the computation of the
tax on dividends.

Line 35 — Muitiply line 34 by 045. Enter this amount on line 2.



