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Metropolitan Transportation Business Tax Surcharge Report

Article 33, Section 1505-a

Who Must File

Every corporation doing business in New York State that is
subject to Article 33 of the New York State Tax Law must file
Form CT-33M. This includes all taxpayers that file Form CT-33
and Form CT-33A.

Specific Instructions

Answer “Yes” or “No” to the question preceding Schedule Q.
It is essential that corporations not doing business in the
Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District disclaim liability
for the tax surcharge by answering “No.”

Who Must Pay the Tax Surcharge

If a corporation does insurance business in the Metropolitan
Commuter Transportation District, it must pay a business tax
surcharge. The MCTD includes the counties of New York,
Bronx, Queens, Kings, Richmond, Dutchess, Nassau, Orange,
Putnam, Rockland, Suffolk and Westchester.

Tax Rate

The tax rate is 17% for calendar year 1987 or fiscal year
ending in 1988.

The surcharge rate is applied to the portion of tax, after
deduction of any credits, imposed under Article 33 attributable
to the taxpayer’s business activity carried on within the MCTD.

Time for Filing

File the return within 2%2 months after the end of the taxable
year.

Payment of Tax Surcharge

The entire tax surcharge must be paid on or before the original
due date of the report.

Extension of Time for Filing Tax Surcharge
Report

Use Form CT-5 to request an extension of time to file a tax
surcharge report.

Requirements for a valid extension for all Metropolitan
Transportation Business (MTB) tax surcharge reports are as
follows:

a. A separate application for extension and any estimated tax
surcharge payments that may be due must be filed on or
before the due date of the report for the taxable period for
which this extension is requested.

AND

b. The total tax surcharge payment for the period for which
this extension is requested must equal at least 30% of the
tax surcharge as finally determined.

Schedule Q — Computation of Tax Surcharge

Line 1.  Enter your New York State franchise tax from your
franchise tax report, Form CT-33, Schedule A,
line 12.

Line 2.  Enter your MCTD allocation percentage from
Schedule R, line 21.

Line 5.  Enter retaliatory surcharge tax credit from Schedule
S, line 24.

Line 7a. Enter any payment made with Form CT-5, Application
for Six-Month Extension.

Line 7b. You can apply an overpayment of franchise tax
made on your franchise tax report, Form CT-33.
Enter the form number, period in which the
overpayment occurred (use month and year) and
amount to be applied. On the overpayment line of
your Form CT-33, indicate the amount of money to
be applied to the Metropolitan Transportation
Business tax surcharge.

Line 9. If you do not pay the tax on or before the due date
(without regard to any extension of time), you must
pay interest on the amount of the underpayment
from the due date to the date paid. Determine the
interest rate in accordance with Part 603 of the Tax
Regulations.

Line 10. Additional charges for late filing are computed on
the amount of tax required to be shown on the
return after deduction of any payment made on or
before the due date.

a. If a return is not filed when due or if the
application for extension is invalid, add to the tax
5% per month up to 25% (Section 1085(a)(1)(A)).

b. If a return is not filed within 60 days of the
prescribed due date, the addition to tax cannot
be less than the smaller of $160 or 100% of the
amount required to be shown as tax (Section
1085(a)(1}(B)).

c. In case of failure to pay the tax shown on a
return, add to the tax 2% per month up to 25%
(Section 1085{a)(2)).

d. The total of the additional charges in a and ¢ may
not exceed 5% for any one month except as
provided for in b above (Section 1085(a)).

If you think you are not liable for these additional charges,
attach a statement to your return explaining the delay in filing
and/or payment {Section 1085).
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Schedule R — Computation of MCTD Schedule S — Computation of Surcharge
Allocation Percentage Retaliatory Tax Credit
If you do all of your New York State business within the 12 Insurance corporations organized or domiciled in New York
counties of the MCTD, enter 100% on line 21 of Schedule R State must complete Schedule S to claim a tax credit for 90%
and on line 2 of Schedule Q. of retaliatory taxes paid to other states for the privilage of
doing business in those states, which resulted from the
if you da part of your business outside of the MCTD, impaosition of the MTB tax surcharge for the 1987 tax year.
compute your MCTD allocation by completing this To claim credit for such retaliatory taxes paid in subsequent
schedule. periods based on the 1987 MTB tax surcharge, use Form
CT-33R. Form CT-33R should also be used to claim credit for
Corporations taxable under Article 33 that are filing on a any retaliatory taxes based on each previous year’'s MTB tax
— combined basis must use a combined MCTD allocation surcharge
percentage.
A. Credit may not exceed the tax surcharge payable
To determine the portion of business activities carried on pursuant to Section 1505-a of the Tax Law for the taxable
within the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District: year for which the retaliatory taxes were paid.
Line 15. Divide premiums allocated to the MCTD by premiums B. You can only claim credit for the taxable year for which
allocated to New York State. the retaliatory taxes were paid. Any unused tax credit

cannot be refunded or carried over to other tax periods.
Line 16. Mulitiply the resulting percentage by nine.
C. Submit a detailed statement with the credit claim to
Line 19. Divide wages allocated to the MCTD by wages identify the source and amount(s) of retaliatory taxes paid
allocated to New York State. for the claim year as a result of the imposition of the MTB
tax surcharge.
Line 20. Add the percentages resulting from the calculations
on lines 16 and 19.

Line 21. Divide the sum of the percentages from line 20
by ten.



