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New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return

Instructions for Completing ST-810

New York State
Department of Taxation and Finance

Quarterly Return for Part-Quarterly Filers

THE SALES TAX RETURN

Two copies of the sales tax reporting form are mailed to each
registered vendor. You must file the preaddressed copy. You may
use the second as a copy for your records.

The completed quarterly return, Form ST-810, must show
your actual gross sales, taxable sales and purchases subject
to use tax for the 3 month period covered by the return,
unless you are a distributor of motor fuel. If you are a
distributor, see page 3 for instructions under notice to
registered distributors.

The front of the return is a summary of business activity and tax
due for the quarter. Page Two is used to report the details of
taxable sales and services and purchases subject to use tax and
the total state and local taxes due for each taxing jurisdiction.
Although this return is all that is required for most vendors, certain
vendors are required to file separate schedules in addition to the
return. (See ‘‘Schedules Which May Be Required’’.)

All part-quarterly (monthly) filers must use this form as a report for
the third month of the quarterly period and as a quarterly report,
irrespective of which type (long or short form) part-quarterly return
was filed for the first two months of the quarter.

Monthly Filing
If you have taxable sales, services and/or purchases subject to
use tax which are $300,000 or more in any quarter

-or-

you are a registered distributor of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel
and have taxable sales of fuel which total 100,000 gallons or more
in any quarter, you must file monthly returns beginning the first
month after that quarter.

Change in Filing Period

Quarterly Filing

If you are presently required to file part-quarterly returns and your
taxable sales and services and purchases subject to use tax
amounted to less than $300,000 in every one of the last four
quarters, you may request conversion to quarterly filing

-Or.

you are a registered distributor of motor fuel or diesel motor fuel
and your taxable sales of fuel were less than 100,000 gallons in
every one of the last four quarters, you may request conversion to
quarterly filing.

To convert to quarterly filing, notify the Sales Tax Registration
Unit, State Campus, Building 8, Room 408, Albany, N.Y. 12227
(1+518 + 457-6948) immediately. Failure to file a quarterly return
may result in penalty and interest charges.

SCHEDULES WHICH MAY BE REQUIRED

If you must file any of the following schedules, attach themto
Form ST-810 and include total tax amounts on Line 1 of the
applicable return. See exception under Form ST-100.6 - Schedule

Refer to the instructions accompanying each of the schedules for
additional information.

Form ST-810.1 - Schedule U (Page 2 Supplement)
Use Schedule U (page 2 Supplement) to report the

following sales or purchases subject only to local sales and
use taxes:

- installation, repair, maintenance or service of
machinery and equipment used directly and
predominantly in production,

- installation, repair, maintenance or service of central
office equipment or station apparatus used directly or
predominantly in receiving or initiating and switching
telephone or telegraph communication,

- installation, repair, maintenance or service of parts,
tools and supplies used in connection with the above
machinery, equipment or apparatus,

- machinery parts with a useful life of one year or less,
tools and supplies used directly and predominantly in
production within New York City only,

- parts with a useful life of one year or less, tools and
supplies used in or on central office equipment or
station apparatus used directly and predominatly in
receiving or initiating and switching telephone and
telegraph communication within New York City only.

Form ST-810.2 - Schedule A

Use Schedule A to report the tax on the occupancy of hotel
rooms, food and drink, admissions to places of amusement,
club dues and cabaret charges. Presently, only vendors in
the counties of Chenango, Nassau, and Westchester are
required to file Schedule A.

Form ST-810.3 - Schedule B

Use Schedule B to report sales in any locality listed on the
schedule which imposes a sales and use tax on the
following energy sources and services:

- telephone, telegraph, refrigeration and nonresidential
gas, electricity and steam services,

- residential gas, electricity and steam services, and

- coal or fuel oil used for residential purposes, wood
used for residential heating only, and propane in
containers of 100 Ibs. or more for residential use.

Vendors must also use Schedule B to report the use tax
due to those localities on the above energy sources and
services purchased tax free under direct payment permits
or otherwise.

Form ST-810.5 - Schedule N
Use Schedule N to report sales of the following services within the
City of New York:

- parking, garaging or storing of motor vehicles at facilities
other than garages which are part of premises occupied as
private one-or two-family dwellings.

- credit rating and credit reporting services.

- protective and detective services (except port watchmen).

- beauty, barbering, hair restoring, manicuring, pedicuring,
electrolysis, massage and similar services.

- charges from the sale of services or for the use of weight
control salons, health salons, gymnasiums, turkish baths,
sauna baths and similar establishments.

- charges for occupancy of hotels, motels and similar
establishments.
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Form ST-100.6 - Schedule C

Schedule C must be used by various sellers of automotive fuel to
report certain sales and purchases of fuel. If you buy or sell
automotive fuel (motor fuel, diesel motor fuel or both), refer to
instruction Form ST-100.6-1, for complete fiiing requirements.
Important:

o Do not include any information reported on Form ST-100.6,
Schedule C, in the amounts transferred to Page 1 of your
sales tax return (ST-810).

o Do not attach Form ST-100.6, Schedule C, to your sales tax
return (Form ST-810). It must be mailed to the address
indicated on that form.

Form ST-100.7 - Schedule D

This schedule must be filed by distributors of motor fue!
registered under the Motor Fuel Tax Law to report sales taxes due
on leaded, unleaded and premium motor fuels. Refer to the
specific instructions on this schedule regarding the method of
reporting sales taxes due. Any use tax due on fuel taken from
inventory for use in the distributor’s vehicles must also be
reported on the Schedule D.

Form ST-100.8 - Schedule E

This schedule must be filed by distributors of diesel motor
fuel registered under the Motor Fuel Tax Law to report sales taxes
due on diesel motor fuel. Refer to specific instructions on the
schedule regarding the method of reporting sales taxes due. Any
tax due on fuel taken from inventory for use in the distributor’s
vehicles must also be reported on the Schedule E.

COMPLETING YOUR RETURN

Complete Page 2 of the sales tax return and any required
schedules before completing Page 1.

Instructions for Page 2

The Department of Taxation and Finance is required by New
York State law to collect and distribute the sales taxes
imposed by local jurisdictions. The information on Page 2
of the sales tax return enables the department to make the
correct distribution. Credits that can be identified by
locality should be taken on the appropriate line on Page 2
of the return. Net credits (negative amounts) should be
shown in parenthesis.

Notice to Registered Distributors of Motor Fuel and/or
Diesel Motor Fuel

Distributors of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel
registered under the Motor Fuel Tax Law must report all
sales, self-use and sales taxes on automotive fuel on Form
ST-100.7, Schedule D (motor fuel) and/or Form ST-100.8,
Schedule E (diesel motor fuel) only. The schedule(s) must
be filed with the vendor’s sales and use tax return Form
ST-810.

DO NOT include sales, purchases for self-use or sales tax
on automotive fuel on Page 2 of your Form ST-810 if you
are a registered distributor of motor fuel and/or diesel
motor fuel.

Exception: Diesel motor fuel sold in bulk to purchasers who do not
furnish a properly completed TP-146.4 should be taxed on the actual
selling price and should be reported on Page 2.

Vendors who are not registered as distributors of automotive fuel
are NOT required to report sales of automotive fuel as taxable sales
on their sales and use tax return.

Column (a) - Taxing Jurisdiction
Column (a) lists the name of each locality now imposing a
sales and use tax.

Column (b) - Combined Tax Rate
Column (b) lists the combined state and local tax rates that
apply in each of the localities listed in column (a).

Columns (c), (d) and (e)

Use columns (c), (d) and (e) to report taxable sales and
services, purchases subject to use tax, and sales and use
taxes for the localities listed in column (a). You must report
these amounts for the full period covered by the return
unless a shorter period is specifically indicated.

Column (c) - Taxable Sales and Services

Subtract any applicable exempt sales and adjustments from
gross sales and services to arrive at taxable sales and
services. Make adjustments for situations where the tax
should not be paid, such as returned sales on which the tax
was refunded to the customer and on sales previously
reported which became bad debts.

Include taxable sales and services on the line for the
locality in which delivery is made. Over-the-counter sales
are considered delivered at the vendor’s business location
when the customer takes possession of the merchandise
there rather than at the customer’s residence. )

Exception: When a motor vehicle is delivered within New York State,
the rate of tax to be collected is determined by the purchaser’s home
address.

Do not include sales delivered to points outside New York
State.

Sales made in localities that do not impose local sales and
use taxes are subject only to the 4 percent state tax.
Report receipts from sales and services in these localities
on the NEW YORK STATE Only line.

On the New York City 4 percent line, report the sale of the
following to businesses located within New York City:

1) fuel and utility services used directly and exclusively
in the production of tangible personal property for
sale,

2) machinery, machinery parts with a useful life of more
than one year and equipment used directly and
predominantly in such production,

3) parts with a useful life of more than one year used in
or on telephone central office equipment or station
apparatus or comparable telegraph equipment used
directly and predominantly in receiving at destination
or initiating and switching telephone or telegraph
communication, and



ST-851.1 (5/85)

Page 3

4) the services of installing, repairing, maintaining and
servicing tangible personal property used directly and
predominantly to produce a product for sale by
farming, including servicing tangible personal property
used in erecting, adding to, altering or improving a silo
(but not including the foundation), and the servicing of
posts and wire used to make and maintain a trellis for
grapes.

These transactions should not be reported on the New York
City 8% percent line.

Column (d) - Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Use column (d) to report the value of tangible personal
property or services purchased without payment of sales
tax and used by you in your own operations. Do not include
tangible personal property or services which are resold or
which qualify for a production exemption.

Property or services are also subject to the use tax if
purchased by a New York State resident, business or
branch of a New York State business located outside New
York State and shipped or brought into the State.

Additional Use Tax: If a sales or use tax was paid in one
locality in New York State and the property is then used in
another locality in New York State, an additional use tax will
be due if the local tax rate is higher in the second locality
and:

- the user is a resident of the locality where use occurs,

- the user, in the performance of a contract,
incorporates the property into real property situated in
the second locality, or

- the user is a nonresident but uses the property in the
second locality in the course of his employment, trade,
business or profession.

Attach an explanatory statement and use the blank lines at
the bottom of Page 2. Enter the taxing jurisdiction in
Column (a) and the additional rate of tax in Column (b).

Column (e) - Sales and Use Taxes

Compute the tax by multiplying the amounts in columns (c)
and (d) by the combined state and local tax rate in column
(b).

On the last line enter the total amounts reported on both
sides of Page 2 in column (e). Include this total in the
amount you report on Line 1, Page 1, of the return.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 1

Name, Address and ldentification Number

Correct any errors in the name, address, and identification
number printed on the preaddressed form.

Type of Business

Describe your principal business activity or type of
business (‘‘retail grccery,”‘‘wholesale furniture,”
etc.)

Consolidated Return

If you have more than one place of business, and all
business locations are consolidated in this return, check
the applicable box.

Summary of Business Activity

Notice to Registered Distributors of Motor Fuel and/or
Diesel Motor Fuel

If you are a registered distributor of motor fuel and/or
diesel motcr fuel, you must file Schedule D (motor fuel)
and/or Schedule E (diesel motor fuel) to report your
transactions related to automotive fuel. As a result,

¢ do not report gross sales of automotive fuel in Box A.

e do not report taxable sales of automotive fuel in Box
B.

e do not report purchases of automotive fuel subject to
use tax in Box C, and

¢ do not report credits related to tax on automotive fuel
in Box D.

Refer to the specific instructions which accompany
Schedules D & E to properly report the above transactions.

Box A - Gross sales and services.

Enter the total dollar amount of all sales made by the business
(except automotive fuel sales as stated above), including those
exempt from sales taxes. Do not include the amount of sales
taxes collected. Include all sales made within New York State
(even if for delivery outside New York State) and sales made at
business locations outside New York State for delivery into New
York State. Do not include sales made at business locations
outside New York State which do not involve deliveries into New
York State.

Box B - Taxable sales and services.

Enter the total dollar amount of the sales subject to New York
State and local sales taxes (except automotive fuel sales as stated
above). This figure is the total amount from Column (c) on Page
2 of the return and any schedules filed.

Box C - Purchases subject to use tax.

Enter the total dollar amount of purchases subject to use tax
including personal property purchased at retail on which no tax
was paid at the time of purchase (except automotive fuel sales as
stated above). Include property used in the operation of your
business if it does not become part of a product for resale or is not
eligible for a production exemption. This figure is the total amount
from Column (d) on Page 2 of the return and any schedules filed.

Remember: Do not include tangible personal property purchased
for inventory or, property or services which qualify for a production
exemption.

Box D - Total credits claimed on Page 2

Enter the total dollar amount of credits against the tax claimed on
Page 2 or any schedules filed, except those reported on
Schedules D and E, as noted above. Show net credits on Page 2
or schedules in parentheses. Credits must be substantiated by
attaching a statement and any other supporting documentation
explaining the basis for the credit claimed. Do not include this
amount in any amount entered on Line 2a.
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Summary of Taxes Due

Line 1 - Sales and Use Taxes.

Enter the total amount from Column (e) on Page 2, Line 1 on
Schedule U (Page 2 Supplement) or any amounts from Schedules
A, B, D, E or N.

Line 2a - Credits.

Enter credits that cannot be identified with a specific locality.
(Credits that can be identified by locality should be reported on
the appropriate lines on Page 2 of the return or on any schedules
filed.) Also, if you had an overpayment from the prior quarter and
you did not apply for a refund for this amount by filing Form
AU-11, Application for Refund or Credit of Sales and Use Tax, enter
the amount on this line. Attach documents verifying claims to your
return.

Line 2b - Prepayments.

Enter the amount remitted for the first two months of the quarter
and the total amount of prepayments. Attach Form ST-330,
Record of Advance Payment, issued to you if you paid part of your
tax in advance.

Line 2¢
Add Lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 - Sales and Use Taxes Due.
Subtract Line 2¢ from Line 1.

Line 4 - Late Filing Charge.

If you file your return or make payment after the due date, you
must pay a late filing charge. This charge consists of a penalty of
5 percent of Line 3 for the first month of delay and 1 percent per

month for each additional month (or part of a month) of delay up to
a maximum of 25 percent, as well as interest determined under
Part 803 of the Tax Regulations.

Part-Quarterly and Quarterly returns are each due within 20 days
of the end of the period covered. If you were required to file part-
quarterly returns for the first two months of the quarter but failed
to do so, penalty and interest should be computed as indicated
above, on the amount due each month from the due date until
remitted.

Report on line 4 the total late filing charge on any Part-Quarterly
return together with any late charge due on this return.

Line 5 - Amount Due.
Add Lines 3 and 4.

If this amount is an overpayment, you may either:

(1) claim credit for the overpayment on your next return by
entering this amount on line 2a on page 1 of the return or,

(2) apply for arefund. In order to apply for a refund, you must
file Form AU-11, Application for Refund or Credit of Sales and
Use Tax. Do not attach AU-11 to your return. This claim
must be filed separately.

Signature

The return must be signed by the vendor or an authorized officer
or employee. An accountant, lawyer, or other professional
preparing the return must also sign it. Use the line designated
‘‘Signature of Preparer, if other than Vendor”.)

If you need further assistance, or copies of any schedules mentioned, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau by calling
1-800-342-3536 for information or 1-800-462-8100 for schedules. If you are calling from outside New York State, call 1-518-438-8581 for
information and 1-518-438-1073 for schedules. You should keep all records and other supporting documents used in completing your
return and be able to produce them on request by the State Tax Commission or its agents for at least three years after filing your return.



