ST-150.1 (3/85)

New York State and Local Sales and Use Tax Return

Instructions for ST-100 (Quarterly Return)

New York State
Department of Taxation and Finance
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THE SALES TAX RETURN

Two copies of the sales tax return are mailed to each
registered vendor. You must file the preaddressed copy,
and keep the second for your records.

The front of the return is a summary of business activity
and tax due. Page Two is used to report the details of
taxable sales and services and purchases subject to use
tax and the total state and local taxes due for each taxing
jurisdiction. Although this return is all that is required for
most vendors, certain vendors are required to file
separate schedules in addition to the return. (See
“Schedules Which May Be Required’’.)

CHANGE IN FILING PERIOD ~
Monthly Filing

If in any quarter you have $300,000 or more in taxable
sales, services and/or purchases subject to use tax
-0r-
You are a registered distributor of motor fuel or diese!
motor fuel and have taxable sales of fuel which total
100,000 gallons or more in any quarter of the preceding
four quarters, you must file monthly returns in addition to
the regular quarterly returns.

To convert to monthly filing, notify the Sales Tax
Registration Unit, State Campus, Building 8, Room 408,
Albany, N.Y. 12227 (1 + 518 + 457-6948) immediately.
Failure to file a monthly return may result in penalty and
interest charges.

Annualt Filing

If your total tax due is $250 or less for the 12-month
period ending May 31 and you can reasonably expect to
owe no more than $250 in tax for the next 12 months, you
may be entitied to file annually instead of quarterly.
Contact the Sales Tax Registration Unit (address and
telephone listed above) on or before June 20 for the
annual period June 1 - May 31.

Exception:!f you are the holder of a validated Cerrificate
of Authority for Show Vendors, Form TP-376C or
PR-169.1, you are not permitted to file annually. You
must continue to file quarterly even if you expect to owe
no more than $250 in tax for the next 12 months.

SCHEDULES WHICH MAY BE REQUIRED

If you must file any of the following schedules, attach
them to Form ST-100 and include total tax amounts on
Line 1 of the applicable return. See exception under
Form ST-100.6 - Schedule C.

Refer to the instructions accompanying each of the
schedules for additional information.

Form ST-100.1 - Schedule U (Page 2 Suﬂplement)
Use Schedule U (page 2 Supplement) to report the
following sales or purchases subject only to local sales
and use taxes:

- installation, repair, maintenance or service of
machinery and equipment used directly and
predominantly in production,

- installation, repair, maintenance or service of central
office equipment or station apparatus used directly
or predominantly in receiving or initiating and
switching telephone or telegraph communication,

- installation, repair, maintenance or service of parts,
tools and supplies used in connection with the above

- machinery, equipment or apparatus,

- machinery parts with a useful life of one year or less,
tools and supplies used directly and predominantly
within New York City only,

- parts with a useful life of one year or less, tools and
supplies used in or on central office equipment or
station apparatus used directly and predominatly in
receiving or initiating and switching telephone and
telegraph communication within New York City
only.

Form ST-100.2 - Schedule A

Use Schedule A to report the tax on the occupancy of
hotel rooms, food and drink, admissions to places of
amusement, club dues and cabaret charges. Presently,
only vendors in the counties of Chenango, Nassau, and
Westchester are required to file Schedule A.

Form ST-100.3 - Schedule B

Use Schedule B to report sales in any locality listed on
the schedule which imposes a sales and use tax on the
following energy sources and services:
- telephone, telegraph, refrigeration and
nonresidential gas, electricity and steam services,
- residential gas, electricity and steam services, and

- residential use of coal, fuel oil or propane sold in
containers of 100 Ibs. or more, and wood used for
residential heating. ’

Vendors must also use Schedule B to report the use tax
due to those localities on the above energy sources and
services purchased tax free under direct payment
permits or otherwise.

Form ST-100.5 - Schedule N

Use Schedule N to report sales of the following services
within the City of New York:
- parking, garaging or storing of motor vehicles at
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facilities other than garages which are part of
premises occupied as private one-or two-family

dwellings.
- credit rating and credit reporting services.

- protective and detective services.

- beauty, barbering, hair restoring, manicuring,
pedicuring, electrolysis, massage and similar
services.

- charges from the sale of services or for the use of
weight control salons, health salons, gymnasiums,
turkish baths, sauna baths and similar
establishments.

- charges for occupany of hotels, motels and similar
establishments.

Form ST-100.6 - Schedule C

Schedule C must be used by various sellers of
automotive fuel to report certain sales and purchases of
fuel. If you buy or sell automotive fuel (motor fuel, diesel
motor fuel or both), refer to instructions, Form ST-1 00.6-l
for complete filing requirements.

Important:

e Do notinclude any information reported on Form
ST-100.6, Schedule C, in the amounts transferred to
Page 1 of your sales tax return (ST-100).

e Do not attach Form ST-100.6, Schedule C, to your
sales tax return (Form ST-100). It must be mailed to
the address indicated on that form.

Form ST-100.7 - Schedule D

This schedule must be filed by distributors of motor
fuel registered under the Motor Fuel Tax Law to report
sales taxes due on leaded, unleaded and premium motor
fuels. Refer to the specific instructions on the schedule
regarding the method of reporting sales taxes due. Any
use tax due on fuel taken from inventory for use in the
distributor’s vehicles must also be reported on the
Schedule D.

Form ST-100.8 - Schedule E

This schedule must be filed by distributors of diesel
motor fuel registered under the Motor Fuel Tax Law to
report sales taxes due on diesel motor fuel. Refer to the
specific instructions on the schedule regarding the
method of reporting sales taxes due. Any tax due on fuel
taken from inventory for use in the distributors’s vehicles
must also be reported on the Schedule E.

COMPLETING YOUR RETURN

Compiéte Page 2 of the sales tax return and any'required
schedules before completing Page 1.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 2

The Department of Taxation and Finance is required by
New York State law to collect and distribute the sales '(]\
taxes imposed by local jurisdictions. The informationon -
Page 2 of the sales tax return enables the department to
make the correct distribution. Credits that can be

identified by locality should be taken on the appropriate
line on Page 2 of the return. Net credits (negative
amounts) should be shown in parenthesis.

Notice to Registered Distributors of Motor Fuel and/or
Diesel Motor Fuel

" Distributors of motor fuel and/or diesel motor fuel

registered under the Motor Fuel Tax Law must report all
sales, self-use and sales taxes on automotive fuel on
Form ST-100.7, Schedule D (motor fuel) and/or Form
ST-100.8, Schedule E (diesel motor fuel) only. The
schedule(s) must be filed with the vendor’s sales and use
tax return Form ST-100.

DO NOT include sales, purchases for self-use or sales
tax on automotive fuel on Page 2 of your Form ST-100 if
you are a registered distributor of motor fuel and/or diesel
motor fuel.

Exception: Diesel motor fuel sold in bulk to purchasers
who do not furnish a properly completed TP-146.4 should
be taxed on the actual selling price and should be be
reported on Page 2.

Vendors who are not registered as distributors of O
automotive fuel are NOT required to report sales of
automotive fuel as taxable sales on their sales and use tax
returns.

Column (a) - Taxing Jurisdiction
Column (a) lists the name of each locality now imposing a
sales and use tax.

Column (b) - Combined Tax Rate
Column (b) lists the combined state and local tax rates

that apply in each of the localities listed in column (a).

Columns (c), (d) and (e)

Columns (c), (d) and (e) are used to report taxable sales
and services, purchases subject to use tax, and sales
and use taxes for the localities listed in column (a). You
must report these amounts for the full period covered by
the return unless a shorter period is specifically
indicated.

Column (c) - Taxable Sales and Services

Subtract any applicable exempt sales and adjustments
from gross sales and services to arrive at taxable sales
and services. Make adjustments for transactions where
the tax should not be paid, such as returned sales on
which the tax was refunded to the customer, or on sales
previously reported which became bad debts. K,

Taxable sales and services should be reported on the line
for the locality where delivery occurs. Delivery occurs at
the vendors’s place of business on over-the-counter
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sales. Otherwise, delivery occurs where the customer
takes possession. (Exception: Delivery of a motor vehicle
- is determined by the purchaser’s home address).
Deliveries to points outside New York State are not to be

reported.

Sales made in localities that do not impose local sales
and use taxes are subject only to the 4 percent state
tax. Report receipts from sales and services in these
localities on the NEW YORK STATE ONLY line.

The exemption from the New York State and upstate
local sales tax allowed for the items and services listed
below does not apply to New York City. On the New
York City 4 percent line, report the sale of the following to
businesses located within New York City:

1) fuel and utility services used directly and exclusively
in the production of tangible personal property for
sale,

2) machinery, machinery parts with a useful lite of
more than one year and equipment used directly
and predominantly in such production,

3) parts with a useful life of more than one year used
in or on telephone central office equipment or station
apparatus or comparable telegraph equipment used
directly and predominantly in receiving at
destination or initiating and switching telephone or
telegraph communication, and

4) the services of installing, repairing, maintaining and

- servicing tangible personal property used directly
and predominantly to produce a product for sale by
farming, including servicing tangible personal
property used in erecting, adding to, altering or
improving a silo (but not including the foundation),
and the servicing of posts and wire used to make
and maintain a trellis for grapes.

These transactions should not be reported on the New

York City 8% percent line, or on Schedule U.

Column (d) - Purchases Subject to Use Tax

Use column (d) to report the value of tangible personal

property or services purchased without payment of sales
tax and used in your own operations. Do not include
tangible personal property or services which are resold or
which qualify for a production exemption.

Property or services are also subject to the use tax if
purchased by a New York State resident, business or
branch of a New York State business located outside
New York State and shipped or brought into the State.

Additional Use Tax: If a sales or use tax was paid in one
locality in New York State and the property is then used in
another locality in New York State, an additional use tax
. will be due if the local tax rate is higher in the second
locality and: o
- the'user is a resident of the locality where use
occurs,
- the user, in the performance of a contract,

*

s

incorporates the property into real property situated
in the second locality, or
. the user is a nonresident but uses the property in the

second locality in the course of his employment,
trade, business or profession.

Attach an explanatory statement and use the blank lines

at the bottom of Page 2. Enter the taxing jurisdiction in

Column (a) and the additional rate of tax in Column (b).

Column (e) - Sales and Use Taxes

Compute the tax by multiplying the amounts in columns
(c) and (d) by the combined state and local tax rate in
column (b).

On the last line enter the total amounts reported on both
sides of Page 2 in column (e). Include this total in the
amount you report on Line 1. Page 1. of the return

_INSTRUCTIONS FOR PAGE 1

Name, Address and Identification Number

Correct any errors in the name. address. and
identification number printed on the preaddressed form.
Please check the appropriate box to indicate whether the
change is for the actual business address or for mailing
purposes only.

Type of Business

Describe your principal business activity or type of
business (‘“‘retail grocery,”*‘wholesale furniture,”etc.).

Consolidated Return _

if you have more than one place of business, and all
business locations are consolidated in this return, check
the applicable box.

SUMMARY OF BUSINESS ACTIVITY ___
Notice to Registered Distributors of Motor Fuel and/or
Diesel Motor Fuel ~ b

If you are a registered distributor of motor fuel and/or
diesel motor fuel, you must file Schedule D (motor fuel)
and/or Schedule E (diesel motor fuel) to report your
transactions related to automotive fuel. As a result,

e do not report gross sales of automotive fuel in Box
Av

e do not report taxable sales of automotive fuel in Box
B,

e do not report purchases of automotive fuel subject
to use tax in Box C, and

e do not report credits related to tax on automotive
fuel in Box D.

Refer to the specific instructions which accompany
Schedules D & E to properly report the above
transactions.
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Box A - Gross sales and services.

Enter the total amount of all sales made by the business
(except automotive fuel sales, as stated in Notice to
Registered Distributors on Page 3), including those
exempt from sales taxes. Do not include the amount

of sales taxes collected. Include all sales made
within New York State (even if for delivery outside

New York State) and sales made at business locations
outside New York State for delivery into New York State.
Do not include sales made at business locations outside
New York State which do not involve deliveries into New
York State.

Box B - Taxable sales and services.

Enter the total dollar amount of the sales subject to New
York State and local sales taxes (except automotive fuel
sales, as stated in Notice to Registered Distributors on
Page 3). This figure is the total amount from Column (c)
on Page 2 of the return and any schedules filed.

Box C - Purchases subject to use tax.

Enter the total dollar amount of purchases subject to use
tax including personal property purchased at retail on
which no tax was paid at the time of purchase (except
automotive fuel sales, as stated in Notice to Registered
Distributors on Page 3). Include property used in the
operation of your business if it does not become part

of a product for resale or is not eligible for a production
exemption. This figure is the total amount from Column
(d) on Page 2 of the return and any schedules filed.

Remember: Do not include tangible personal property
purchased for inventory or, property or services which
qualify for a production exemption.

If the amounts in Boxes B and C total $300,000 or more,
see “Change in Filing Period, Monthly Filing.”

Box D - Total credits claimed on Page 2.

- Enter the total amount of credit against the tax claimed
on Page 2 or any schedules filed. Show in parentheses
net credits on Page 2 or schedules. Credits must be
substantiated by attaching a statement and any other
supporting documentation explaining the basis for the
credit claimed. Do not include this amount in any amount
entered on line 2a.

SUMMARY OF TAXES DUE

Line 1 - Sales and Use Taxes.

Enter the total amount from Column (€) on Page 2, Line 1
on Schedule U (Page 2 Supplement) or any amounts
from Schedules A, B, D, E and N.

3
It you need further assistance, or copies of any schedules m

Line 2a - Credits. :

Enter credits that cannot be identified with a specific P
locality. (Credits that can be identified by locality should ¢ *
be reported on the appropriate lines on Page 2ofthe

return or on any schedules filed.) Also, if you had an
overpayment from the prior quarter and you did not apply
for a refund for this amount by filifg Form AU-11,
Application for Refund or Credit of Sales and Use

Tax, enter the amount on this line. Attach documents
verifying claims to your return.

Line 2b - Prepayments.

Enter the total amount of the prepayments. Attach Form
ST-330, Record of Advance Payment, issued to you if
you paid part of your tax in advance.

Line 2¢
Add Lines 2a and 2b.

Line 3 - Sales and Use Taxes Due.
Subtract Line 2c from Line 1.

Line 4 - Late Filing Charge.

If you file your return or make payment after the due date,
you must pay a late filing charge. This charge consists of

a penalty of 5 percent of Line 3 for the first month of delay
and 1 percent per month for each additional month (or

part of a month) of delay up to a maximum of 25 percent;@
as well as interest determined under Part 603 of the Tax
Regulations.

Line 5 - Amount Due.
Add Lines 3 and 4.
If this amount is an overpayment you may either:

(1) claim credit for the overpayment on your next return
by entering this amount on line 2a on page 1 of the
return or,

(2) apply for a refurid. In order to apply for a refund, you
must file Form AU-11, Application for Refund or
Credit of Sales and Use Tax. Do not attach AU-11to
your return. This claim must be filed separately.

Signature

The return must be signed by the vendor or an
authorized officer or employee. An accountant,
lawyer, or other professional preparing the return
must also sign it on the line designated “‘Signature
of Preparer (if other than Vendor).”

entioned, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Bureau by calling L

1-800-342-3536 for information or 1-800-462-8100 for schedules. If you are calling from outside New York State, call
1-518-438-1073 for schedules and 1-518-438-8581 for information. You should keep your records and other supporting .
documents used in completing your return and be able to produce them on request by the State Tax Commission orits -

agents for at least three years after filing your return.

*



