Skip universal navigation
Skip to main content

Department of Taxation and Finance

Department of Taxation and Finance

Do you receive a STAR exemption?

If you currently receive the Basic STAR exemption and your income is between $250,000 and $500,000, the program is changing for you. If eligible, you'll now receive a check for the STAR credit instead of the reduction on your school tax bill.

If you receive a letter asking you to update your STAR registration (Form RP-425-RDM), see Register for STAR.

Learn about the changes

What's New

Opioid excise tax

There is an excise tax imposed on the first sale of an opioid unit in New York State.

Learn more

Tax Tips for Individuals

We've created a brand new subscription topic, just for you: Tax Tips for Individuals. Review our resources and sign up to receive emails today!

Sign up

Westchester County sales and use tax rate change

Beginning August 1, 2019, Westchester County is increasing its local sales and use tax rate.

View rates

Featured in July

NYS-45 due date in July

Use Withholding Tax Web File to file your quarterly return. Benefits include direct payment from your bank account, instant filing confirmation, and automatic calculation of amounts due!

Missed a due date?

If you haven't filed and paid your tax, use our penalty and interest calculator to calculate your late filing and late payment penalties and interest. Note: Only use this calculator if you're sending your late return and late payment together.

Learn about the Charitable Gifts Trust Fund

The FY 2019 Budget created a new Charitable Gifts Trust Fund in the joint custody of the New York State Commissioner of Taxation and Finance and the State Comptroller to accept donations for the purposes of improving health care and public education in New York State. If you're interested in making a contribution, review our guidance to learn more.